We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location OK, but not the rest !!!! Keep out!”
Review of Pension Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Mozart
Ranked #335 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I spent "10 nights" and it would have been OK if one of the owners had not been so rude and desrespectful to me by shouting and putting the telephone down and cutting the conversation.... the reason was that they made a mistake and my paid in advanced room (with Booking.com), was occupied by another guest, therefore I had to spend the first night in a different room and when I complaint of course, then this patronizing blond woman was not happy at all with my explanation...they thought that I should be paying € 100 more for staying in a room that I didn't want. I do not look for a good deco or a beautiful view or any luxuries, I want a place where I can sleep and have a shower, then I simply want to spend the rest of the day away and travelling and sightseen...this place is cheap and is in a central location, buffet is OK and you have a friendly welcome by the waitress who is very helpful. They will not change your bedding in 10 nights(a policy that I did not see in writing anywhere), The temperatures in Vienna were above 30 and the bed clothes were smelly after 10 nights. They did clean a bit and changed the towels every day. This is OK for the price but you can do a lot better by booking somewhere else, who needs the hustle and the rudeness and the noise. The hotel is OK but not the way you get treated. If you are a solo traveller and you are planning to stay for a few nights, it could be a nasty experience. Vienna is so beautiful, a shame that it has to be ruined in this way to us tourists and visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yolandagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

This "colorful" pension has quite a bit going for it...friendly staff, kooky decorations, great location and reasonable rates. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, if not spotlessly clean, and being that it is a stone's throw from the Mariahilferstrasse (main shopping street) and the Museumsquarter, it's price cannot be beat.
This said, Pension Mozart is probably best suited to adventurous bargain travelers under the age of 40...a spirit of adaptability is necessary as this does NOT feel like a hotel, or even a B&B, but more like y ou are crashing at your eccentric grandparent's house for the weekend...the house has a quite strong smell to it as well.
All in all, a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monicalups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Location is the best thing about this hotel - remember it has only one star! Five munites walk from all famous places in Vienna, plenty of places to eat around.

Rooms are reasonably spacious ( we had a regular double), furniture is 50 years old, TV at least 15 years old, TV remote fixed with a Scotch film, bed is so-so, pillows are awful. Clean enough, bed made every day, towels changed every day. Noisy, especialy if your window is overlooking the street (garbage collection cars start at 7-00 European time! with horrible clink-clank noise. Earplugs solve everything).
Breakfast reasonable - you do not need a variety of 10 meats and 10 cheeses in a 1-star hotel. Three kinds of meat and sausage, two kinds of cheese, sevection of packaged joghurt, two kinds of bread (rolls and rye bread), fried eggs, hot beans and sausages - on a self-service table. Maid brings a sweet home-made crepe with whipped cream, chocolate and nut to each client. Coffee from a coffee-machine, drinkable.
Staff extremely helpful and polite.

Important! Hotel is on the second floor of a regular building BUT - elevator is on renovation till June 2011. Note if you have heavy luggage. We asked the reception man to help us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This hotel is in a great location - walking distance from Museum's Quartier, in the Mariahilferstrasse shopping district, pubs and restaurants are close by.

The hotel itself is in a pretty run down building with a dark lobby entrance. My room, which was the budget double, was unbearably cold even with the radiator all the way up. The owners provided extra blankets to help and I rearranged the curtains in the room to try to ensure as much heat as possible from the radiator reached the room instead of the window well. Still, leaving the covers was nearly unbearable and, while the proprietors said they worked to improve the temperature, I think the slight warm up in the room could only be attributed to a warm up outside.

I am recommending with reservations simply because the location was great. I would say try other places nearby and, if you can't find one in your budget, go with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank US_Soccer_Qualifies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I stayed here several months ago and I still remember that check in at this hotel was till 19 p.m. Our flight has been delayed and I sent e-mail asking to wait for us if it possible. I was promised that they would wait for us. In fact our plane has landed in time, even a bit earlier. So we arrived at the pension appr. at 18 p.m. And the first thing I've known upon arrival that room I booked is not available. It was pretty weird considering the fact I contacted the hotel in advance. Moreover I was suggested to have an available triple room - and pay exactly for triple room, although I booked the cheapest twin room with shared facilities. It is not fair and it's not OK at all.
I understand mistakes happen, but all around the world it goes without saying that customer can't be responsible for the hotel's mistakes.
Finally the owner made a discount for a few euros but I don't think that hotel is an appropriate place for arguing about price.
As for the pension itself, the best thing is location which is extremely convenient. As for the room, I didn't like a few things - very old cheap furniture, strange smell and the curtain instead of the door to the bathroom.
Next time I'll definitely try another place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bronniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Please do not stay here! The hotel works with online booking companies to create fraudulent bookings. I did not even have a reservation with the Pension Mozart and ended up paying for a no-show. $515 on the credit card and then a complete nightmare to try to get it back (I have still not succeeded). Visa and Mastercard are in tough because the hotel steals or works with booking agents that have your credit information, so its often up to the hotel to forgive the charge. The management is about as rude as could be imagined. Please do not book here as they evidently will do anything to screw over guests and potential guests, and people who do not even have a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
8  Thank Studenttravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Excellent location, but the room was uncomfortable and dirty, the entrance in the building was a little scary.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrinaVoicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Arthotel ANA Adlon
Arthotel ANA Adlon
#210 of 358 in Vienna
295 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Arpi
Hotel Arpi
#304 of 358 in Vienna
85 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Praterstern
Hotel Praterstern
#242 of 358 in Vienna
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#209 of 358 in Vienna
256 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#106 of 358 in Vienna
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mozart

Address: Theobaldgasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £40 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Mozart 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Pension Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Mozart Hotel Vienna
Mozart Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing