We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baroque on steroids”
Review of St. Peter's Church

St. Peter's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.38*
and up
Vienna Classical Concert at St Peters Church
More Info
US$46.24*
and up
Christmas and New Year's Concerts at St Peters Church Vienna
More Info
US$51.87*
and up
Private Tour: Vienna City Highlights Tour
Ranked #14 of 585 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Baroque on steroids”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful little church, with exceptional decoration. Truly takes your breath away. Highly recommend a brief stop over.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,816
    872
    159
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful church near St Stephen's Cathedral, just off the main drag. Go early before the place is packed with tourists. There are free organ and choir recitals at various times and, this being Vienna, the quality is top class.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnchaCorcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After 2 weeks of visiting the massive Gothic Cathedrals of Germany and AUstria I thought I was done until I went into St Peters. It has a different feel and I found it warmer than many of the others.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“another majestic church to visit”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I love to go into churches on my visits.. the architecture is so wonderful to see. One of my favorite churches to see is the Peters church in the center of town. it is not far from St Stephens church so one can visit both and marvel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“beautiful...”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The structure is very impressive. We went first thing in the morning so we had the place to ourselves essentially - and the gentleman cleaning the church struck up a conversation and suggested we return for the 3p free organ concert! Glad he did - and based on his suggestion we did make it back to hear the beauty of the organ. Getting to hear the place come alive like that was amazing. In the city of music - it is great to find things like this to enjoy. (FREE - although we did make donations - especially after the concert).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BTMNSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Peter's Church also viewed

 

Been to St. Peter's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing