We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel with a good staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Ranked #156 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Really good hotel with a good staff.”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed at the Leonardo Hotel in Vienna for 4 nights. Location is great (one block from Mariahilfer Strasse), metro station nearby - with the big Westbahnhof (from where I took my train to Budapest) just across the street. If you like to walk just in twenty minutes you will be at the Museums Quartier. My room was very clean, good amenities and the breakfast fantastic (the only problem - they didn't have a toaster... I was really surprised with that... but it ok); the staff was very helpful, specially the young lady working there around 7pm on Friday 01/18 and the young gentleman who followed her schedule (sorry I forgot all their names). They were extremely helpful during all my stay at Leonardo. It is a very convenient hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    488
    235
    69
    46
See reviews for
201
489
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We checked into the Leonardo Hotel only to find that our rooms had sloping roofs and claustrophobic small bathrooms. Since we did not fancy bumping into the ceiling whilst getting out of bed, we checked out immediately.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arunkk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed at the Leonardo hotel Vienna for 3 nights.
Found the staff relatively unhelpful in comparison to the other places I have stayed, though I think this is more a function the Viennese having no concept of customer service personally.
Breakfast was fantastic and one of the cheapest buffets that I have experienced in Europe.
Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were nice. I realise that this has been recently renovated but there were a few parts in the bathroom and the room that made me think that quality wasn't their highest priority in getting the hotel finished.
Location fantastic. Very easy to navigate anywhere.
I got a great deal on a website in off peak season and paid very little. When I read the gazetted rates in their hotel book I had to laugh. They really think that people are going to pay €300 per night and still pay for breakfast and wifi. Yeah right.
Moral to the story if you get a good deal. Book it's a nice enough hotel. But if your are considering paying the gazetted rate my advice is give it a miss. It's simply not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Location is top, next to Mariahilferstr. and Westbahnhof. I had an early arrival and a member of staff (I think he said he was rooms division manager) checked us in without asking for anything extra. Room prices are low, there seems to be fierce competition going on in that area. Since I only stayed there for business I made use of the business lounge on the top floor, which seems to be the hidden gem in this hotel. Quiet, nice view, I did not expect that they did even have a business lounge. Breakfast was good as well. Restaurant seems to be rather quiet for dinner time.... If you want a no nonsense, top location than this is a goog bet.

Room Tip: would opt for a room at the back, the hotel is located on a main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViennaHolidaychecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

As we were travelling by train, this place suited us fine, being only 5 mins walk from Wesbahnoff station. We were in a 'Comfort' room..the cheapest...and also the smallest! However, the modern and new amenities made up for it.

The TV has a few English channels..yes!!....mainly news channels but that's better than all other languages but English. The was no free wifi in the room but there is a PC station with 4 PC's and a printer for gratis in the lobby, so that was ok for making onward bookings, email, etc.

The staff were fine and the Front Office people were particularly very helpful with advice and bookings for tours and taxis. Housekeeping made up our room and did a good job.

There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but the staff will provide a tray for this service if required.

Overall, we stayed 3 nights and all went well. Nothing to complain about at all. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you can afford to, go the bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceGuanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Hotel is ok, but nothing special. For Vienna price is reasonable comparing to other 4-star hotels, and that's the main reason why we choose it, besides good location. However, I'm not thrilled. Hotel is new, but I didn't have a feeling that it is cleaned well, when I opened the toilet doors, it was a bit smelly, and there were some stains on the sink. Also, windows were very dirty. I know that it is winter and it was probably raining and snowing a lot, but I think that one 4-star hotel can't afford to have so dirty windows. Also, minus is that internet in the room is chargeable. With all those flat rates today, it is ridiculous that they're charging use of internet (I don't remember exactly what is the price, but I remember that is was ridiculously high).

Otherwise everything is ok. Room is a bit small, so as toilet, but it didn't bother me much, because I don't need a big size room for few nights sleepover. After all, I'm not in Vienna to spend time in hotel. Girl working at the front desk is very kind and helpful, she made a restaurant reservation for us, and answered all of our questions promptly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2strawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiryat Gat, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I'm very pleased of this hotel, if I go again to Vienna I would definatly stay there again.
The Hotel is new, opened in July 2012. it has a good location, about 3 minutes walk from the orange underground line U3 and the purple line U6. There is also a train station Westbahnhof about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. U3 line from the hotel is only 5 stations away from city center Stephansplatz.
The hotel is also close to MariaHilfer Street, one of the best shopping street's in Vienna with shops like Zara, H&M, Forever 21, C&A, Delka, United colors of benetton, Humanic, Salamander and etc.
The rooms were clean, in the room I had teapot with tea and coffee what were filled everyday, TV with many free channels. and a hairdryer. in the lobbey there is 3 computers with free internet.
Mostly, I'm pleased of the hotel team and specially the girls in the reception - they were always very kind and helpfull about any quastion I had, they always tried to help the best they can.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#165 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
#142 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Property: Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan's Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. Free unlimited Wi-Fi access in superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing