We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Ranked #155 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here because we got a great deal for our room. Otherwise, I'm not sure we would pay asking price. There are many hotels nearby of same quality that are cheaper.

Hotel is nicely decorated, staff is extremely friendly.

Bed is one of the best I ever slept in (beside my own :))
Bathroom on the other hand is extremely small, and I just don't like that...
I like it when my husband and I can brush teeth side by side, not a bathroom so small that I can barely turn in circle when I'm alone in it without bumping my elbows on corners.

Granted, we were in a corner room, so maybe size of bathroom isn't an issue in other rooms.

Hotel has private garage which is reasonably priced (I think 15€/day, I'm not sure...)

Location is very good, 5 min to U-bahn station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puregreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear puregreen,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna.

We are looking forward of welcoming you in one of our other Leonardo hotels.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    495
    240
    69
    46
See reviews for
206
499
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a special little treat to ourselves as we were staying over the Christmas period. The hotel was exactly that. Being able to relax and enjoy ourselves as much as we did at this hotel was great. The hotel staff were always, promptly available and greatly helpful. The bar was a great little place to relax. They offered both free internet and then paid Internet which I think is great - giving the customers the choice whether to have Internet access in their rooms or having Internet access downstairs with others. No real complaints at all.
Most definitely would recommend the hotel - extremely clean, well maintained and fantastic location. 20 second walk from mariahilfer (central shopping district) and then a minute walk from the U and S bahn trains.
Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear lucachizz,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with us and all other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that we could satisfy with our services and that you had a great time over the Christmas period here in Vienna and at the hotel Leonardo.

We are looking of welcoming you again and remain

with best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This used to be the Mercure: a dreadfully tatty old place, that has now been completely refurbished. Leonardo might have done better to have knocked the place down and started again instead, rather than cheapen their name by being associated with this place.

The rooms are bright, modern and quite attractive, but you can't get away from the fact it's a 60s hotel that's had a makeover. Shoving a couple of "trendy" chandeliers and some high backed red leather chairs in the lobby won't change the fact that the hallways are claustrophobic, the lifts tiny, and the rooms are small.

Beds are comfy. The bathrooms are part of the room, and have glass doors. It's definitely aiming at a younger crowd. I like it, but it won't be some people's taste.

It's in no way a 4 star hotel. 2 or 3 would be more like it. The small bar doesn't open until 5pm, my room wasn't ready until 3pm, and people were lying round in the lobby waiting for the inefficient house keeping staff to do their job. The young, inexperienced check in staff were friendly but didn't look like they could organise a piss up in a brewery. That's quite typically Viennese, but you don't expect it from this chain.

If you want a designer style, basic hotel that's not in a central location, it's fine, but don't expect too much from the place. It is nowhere NEAR the standard of other Leonardo hotels, such as the outstanding, purpose built Munich one with its beautiful lobby, restaurant and huge luxurious rooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear PeterEde7,
Thank you for your valued feedback on Tripadvisor.
We regret, that you during your stay in Vienna did not feel comfortable at our hotel.

We are looking forward of welcoming you maybe in another hotel of the Leonardo Hotel group.

We remain this time from Vienna

With best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

the location of the hotel is great, even not in the center it's very close to metro station. if you like to walk, you can arrive even walking.
We had to ask to change the room to have a more silent one, and the staff has been very nice and they did it right away.
The rooms are pretty nice and very clean.

What we liked best is the location, the least is the big (80x80) pillows that we're not used to sleeping on!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and ask for an inside looking room (the rooms facing the street are noisy) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gamzeo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Gamze O,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna.
The good location near the famous Mariahilferstrasse as well as the near entrance to the
public transportation (U-Bahn, train,) makes the hotel a perfect place to explore the city.

Best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I back from my vacation one week ago,we were on 7/12-10/12
I won't to say that the hotel was very good.....
The service,the room was stunning!!!!!!
The food was simply superb and the reception I most to thank: Christine Krapf and all the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Mazal S,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that we could satisfy with our services and that you had a great time here in Vienna and at the Leonardo hotel.

With best regards

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was also very nice, it was a breakfast buffet. The hotel is situated extremely close to Westbahnhof (train/bus and subway station) and its connections to the city center are very good. The lounge at the hotel is also very nice.

One night I wanted a pizza and another guy at the front desk (glasses, very nice guy), called and ordered a pizza for me, so that was awesome!

One of the men working at the front desk didn't know much about certain stuff (I asked where certain places were and he didn't know what to do about the airconditioning in my room that wasn't working). But that's not a huge disaster. The soap dispensers in my room weren't working so I informed the same guy at the front desk about this and he gave me some soap. I don't know if this was a problem in only MY room or in all the rooms but this was the only small thing "wrong".

Housekeeping was at my door at 9am, that's pretty early for when you're on vacation, hahaha. But it was fine otherwise. The next day I just told them to come later in the morning.

Oh and their Wifi is €9 a day and if you have an iPhone the wireless acts up.

I had bought 5 vouchers for my entire stay and the last night I realized that I miscalculated so I wanted the money back from that 1 extra voucher. They said it was possible, for me to come in the morning. I did this as I was checking out and then I was told I had to wait 20 minutes. If I had known this earlier I would have done it the night before, but they didn't tell me this earlier and I couldn't afford to be late for my flight (as I was heading toward the airport), so I had to leave and I was out €9!

It's a shame that you can't have dinner at the hotel, I had to go and eat out every day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear CFarhat,
Thank you for your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that we could satisfy with our services and that you had an enjoyable stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna.

With best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is located 2 min walk from Mariahilferstrasse and from the metro station Westbahnhof (line M3, 3 stations to the very center of Vienna), clean rooms but very small with small bathrooms as well, poor breakfast (2 types of salami, 2 types of ham and 2 of cheese plus eggs and butter). Wireless in the room costs 9 euros/day and it works ok. The best of the hotel is the location and accesibility to all points of interest.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilianasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear IiIianasto,
thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor .
Regarding our hot and cold buffet breakfast, we regret that our offer did not met all of your expectations.
We are pleased to read that part of our services were to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward of welcoming you again at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna.

and remain,
with kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#163 of 360 in Vienna
588 reviews
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
#129 of 360 in Vienna
224 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
820 reviews
Mariahilf
The Hotel 1060 Vienna
The Hotel 1060 Vienna
#189 of 360 in Vienna
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Property: Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan's Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. Free unlimited Wi-Fi access in superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing