We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy as hell! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Ranked #156 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy as hell! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks newly refurbished and good but only after you have lived in it then you realise it's just a facade.

Pros: location. Close to train station. Close to bus stops.
Nice decor.

Cons:
1. No free wifi. You have to pay €9 per device for the basic plan, which takes 2 min to load a basic page. €15 for the business plan, which is basically forced upon you as you really have no alternative.
2. Small bathroom that is only enclosed by a glass door. Unhygienic and not very private
3. Short of staff or really experienced staff. 2 people man the front desk, one of them is completely clueless and can't even answer the most basic question like 'can I drink the water that is available in the jug at the front counter'. The other lady is just short on patience therefore rude as she has to tends to guests herself as well as the guests of the other lady.
4. OMG can this hotel be more badly soundproofed. We can hear everything from the corridor. We can hear the people even in the room opposite of us. The floorboards are thin so you have to be careful when you walk as not to disturb the people in the rooms and below you. Also, the hotel decided to do maintenance / drilling starting from 8:30am until noon on one of the days we were there. What are they thinking.
5. Can I make that last OMG any larger? So noisy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlestick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Fiddlestick,
Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We regret that the Leonardo Hotel Vienna did not met your expectations.
We do hope that you still had a good time in Austria with lots of good impressions to remember and
remain from Vienna
With best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    475
    228
    68
    44
See reviews for
196
477
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff were very inpolite,only 2 guys in lobby do all of things and when you want ask anything or want anything you have to wait 15 min:((((refrigator in room was undone and 2 nights we couldn't use it .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katayoun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Katayoun R, Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We regret, for the long waiting time you had during the check out time. Our hotel does not offering minibar service, The fridge in the room is for our guest,s who bring own food, drinks and to cool medicine. Beverages and snacks we are going to sell at our Grab'N GO station near the lobby.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna.and

remain with kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

the hotel is near westbahnhof station, 7 min walk Easy to get from the airport to the hotel, the bus number 1187, travel time 40 minutes to westbahnhof station. Bus every 30 minutes to two directions and costs EUR 8.its near to tram,bus and u3 ,u6 station.Room with a teapot (an extensive selection of teas) and refrigerator. Breakfast is rich and varied. Polite hotel staff helps you. Hotel is near the main street with shops and restaurants. Rooms are small but enough place for 2 people.bed is good, Good shower with strong water current, not good-paid web/wifi.the hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malake1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Malake1980,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that we could satisfy with our services and that you enjoyed your time in Vienna.

With best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is in a very comfortable location, less then a minute walk to the subway, 20 minutes walk to the ring. The room was very small, but comfortable. The most of the receptionists were very nice and helpful (special thanks to Marwan), the breakfast was nice, overall experience was good. The only thing that was really embarrassing is that there is no free Wi Fi in the hotel! I think the hotel management could definitely improve the clients experience by at least giving the free Wi Fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Chen B,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna. The 3 business corners at the lobby are free of charge and offers free WIFI.

With best regards from Vienna
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is close to the tube network which is very handy. I had a good nights sleep and the bed was comfortable. My only gripe would be the bathroom door, which slid shut and left a considerable gap when closed. Unless you're on VERY good terms with the person you're sharing the room with, I would avoid using the toilet whilst in the room together!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Dan R,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna.

Best regards from Vienna
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Its awful... the room is small and the batroom door made crom glass and doesnt close to the end, no privacy at all! No free wi-fi even in the loby, need to pay for it. The location is great, 30 min by foot to all the main atractions, the palaces and stuff, close to the u-bahn station, supermarkefs near by and other shop and restaurants. But the batroom thing..... very disturbing

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sarit M,
Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor.

We hope of welcoming you again in Vienna

and remain

with best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to spend Christmas time in Vienna. Hotel Leonardo looked its price, location and range of services as excellent choice. Hotel does not offer too much luxury, but it corresponds to the price. The magic of Christmas unfortunately spoiled weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XI_XAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear XI_XAO,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna. We are looking forward of welcoming you in one of our other Leonardo hotels.

Best regards from Vienna
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#162 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
#142 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Property: Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan's Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. Free unlimited Wi-Fi access in superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing