We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Ranked #158 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value in very good location”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I chose this hotel partly for its proximity to the U Bahn (metro). A very short walk to Westbahnhof and you have excellent train connections to all the main tourist sites in Vienna. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice, included some cooked (eggs, sausage/bacon). The Reception staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. I'm not a big computer person when I'm away on holiday, so the free access to emails and printing in the foyer was fine for me, though admittedly all 3 terminals were sometimes all in use, but I had no problem late evening or early morning getting on. The room was quite small but well designed to fit in all the necessary things, plus safe and small fridge. Bathroom had sliding door, which meant privacy slightly compromised. Room was kept well serviced and very clean. Sound-proofing not perfect but we had good neighbours so always had peaceful night's sleep. The 3 lifts are a little on the small side, but now we're getting down to minor things for what was overall a hotel which provided great value for money for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Paul C,
Kindly, thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and at the Leonardo hotel. Our goal is to impress our valued guests with our services to make the stay a comfortable one.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    488
    236
    69
    46
See reviews for
202
490
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and I was generally satisfied with the service. Location is good, rooms are clean and relatively spacious. However, when I checked in I was asked to leave 50 euros deposit in case I make some damage in the room. I payed the bill with my credit card and deposit was also reserved from my card. However, although I was promised that my card would be unblocked as soon as I check out, it never happened. When I arrived home, I called the hotel and asked them to please unblock my card. They promised to do so, but nothing happened. Because of this highly unprofessional behaviour, I would never recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ivana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear ivana d,
Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We regret, the problems with your credit card. Kindly, we would like to inform you that the release of an amount from a credit card takes about 3 to 4 working days because of involved partners; the bank and the supplier of the services.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you in general enjoyed your time in Vienna.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good location within easy access of the Vienna train station and Mariehilfestrasse, hotel was in quiet area . The room was modern and reasonably well equipped, kind off small but ok .The breakfast was quite good to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear MarinaM,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time at the Leonardo hotel and in Vienna.

With kind regards

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

i liked so much the service, rooms, staff are freindly manely the south american girl who talks spanish,
in the center of vienna, near westbahnhof, and the most important commercial street in vienna : mariahilfestrasse,
the only thing i didn't like so much is the room of 3 persons, is littel bit littel for parents and a child of 6 years.
the rest ist perfect.
i like it, and i will come back there whenever i will visit vienna

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear delisi65,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that we could satisfy with our services and that you enjoyed your time in Vienna.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spend 2 nights there, Nice cozy hotel, good value for the money,
Cool Stuff, recommended for a short stay in Vienna.
No Free WiFi, and 18 euro for garage parking.
Overall it's nice hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramez37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ramez37,
Thank you for your friendly feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that we could satisfy with our services and that you enjoyed your time in Vienna.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks newly refurbished and good but only after you have lived in it then you realise it's just a facade.

Pros: location. Close to train station. Close to bus stops.
Nice decor.

Cons:
1. No free wifi. You have to pay €9 per device for the basic plan, which takes 2 min to load a basic page. €15 for the business plan, which is basically forced upon you as you really have no alternative.
2. Small bathroom that is only enclosed by a glass door. Unhygienic and not very private
3. Short of staff or really experienced staff. 2 people man the front desk, one of them is completely clueless and can't even answer the most basic question like 'can I drink the water that is available in the jug at the front counter'. The other lady is just short on patience therefore rude as she has to tends to guests herself as well as the guests of the other lady.
4. OMG can this hotel be more badly soundproofed. We can hear everything from the corridor. We can hear the people even in the room opposite of us. The floorboards are thin so you have to be careful when you walk as not to disturb the people in the rooms and below you. Also, the hotel decided to do maintenance / drilling starting from 8:30am until noon on one of the days we were there. What are they thinking.
5. Can I make that last OMG any larger? So noisy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlestick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Fiddlestick,
Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We regret that the Leonardo Hotel Vienna did not met your expectations.
We do hope that you still had a good time in Austria with lots of good impressions to remember and
remain from Vienna
With best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff were very inpolite,only 2 guys in lobby do all of things and when you want ask anything or want anything you have to wait 15 min:((((refrigator in room was undone and 2 nights we couldn't use it .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katayoun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Katayoun R, Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We regret, for the long waiting time you had during the check out time. Our hotel does not offering minibar service, The fridge in the room is for our guest,s who bring own food, drinks and to cool medicine. Beverages and snacks we are going to sell at our Grab'N GO station near the lobby.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna.and

remain with kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#164 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
#139 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Property: Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan's Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. Free unlimited Wi-Fi access in superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing