We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Ranked #155 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We found this hotel from a tour site recommended as very good and they were right.Very comfortable with double queen bed, welcome message on the screen of tv when we went in, with complimentaries plus coffee and tea, cups, and boiler if you want to have your own coffee in the room. Small refrigerator and safe box is supplied. Satelite tv with many channels in two languages german and english. Very modern decoration and colours gives you a cosy and warm feeling in the heart of the winter (when we visited Austria). Very clean and comfortable bathroom with washing shampoo and shower gel if you do not have yours.Hair dryer is supplied as well. The cleaning of the room was daily and even daily change of towels if you wish it. The negative is that the cleaners knock the door at 8.00 or 8.30 in the morning so if you forget to hung the "DO NO DISTURB" sign out of the door, you wake up very early in the morning. One more negative we found in this hotel was that there wasn't free internet and the charge was very expensive. This is unacceptable in 2014 for a country that is the first worldwide in the speed and provision of internet !!!!. Except of that everything else was excellent and in the best position near Westbanhof metro station near commercial centers and great cafes and markets. Only 10 minutes away from the airport and 4' from city train that takes you straight to the airport. Very central and close to Stephan Platz and close to Museum Quartier you can go by walking or by metro.Very good price and good quality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Dorina C,
Kindly, thank you for sharing your detailed experiences with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you in February enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna. Thank you for your friendly words. You are right, the color and equipment in our rooms is very warm. It is our goal, to provide our valued guests a feeling good atmosphere all over the hotel. We also noted your feedback regarding our WIFI charges. This we take seriously.

With best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Hotel Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and me picked up this hotel as a part of deal and eventually weren’t disappointed.
In general, Leonardo Hotels network has pretty high standard and it didn’t disappoint us again.
The hotel is pretty new, so the equipment is pretty good, the rooms aren’t big, but this was
enough for a couple. This hotel has pretty good location, just a few minutes from UBahn.
Just below the hotel is one of the hottest shopping streets in Vienna – we found some nice shops and restaurants there.
In general, the price is matching the hotel standard and I would recommend this hotel to everyone who’s budget allows to book it.
Cons – Internet. Very slow at lobby and no free Wi-Fi. I used to surf at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabricanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Fabricanto,
Kindly, thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and at the Leonardo hotel. The good location near the famous Maria Hilferstrasse our guest’s mention it very often. Our goal is to impress our valued guests with our services and make the stay a comfortable one. We regret for the WIFI connection during your stay with us.

We remain

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location, cleanliness, good room, internet and printing facility, polite and helpful staff. However we were shocked to hear that the hotel has central air-conditioning and only the GM gives permission to switch it on if he thinks the weather is hot !!! We were asked to open windows at night which we couldn't as our room faced other buildings at close proximity. The booking confirmation says 'Room with AC' but doesn't mention 'AC availability depends on GM's mood'. I have respiratory allergies and need temp control / ventilation in hotel rooms, so I had a tough time sleeping here at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor/front of the building if you are asked by hotel staff to open windows...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit-Bhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I chose this hotel partly for its proximity to the U Bahn (metro). A very short walk to Westbahnhof and you have excellent train connections to all the main tourist sites in Vienna. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice, included some cooked (eggs, sausage/bacon). The Reception staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. I'm not a big computer person when I'm away on holiday, so the free access to emails and printing in the foyer was fine for me, though admittedly all 3 terminals were sometimes all in use, but I had no problem late evening or early morning getting on. The room was quite small but well designed to fit in all the necessary things, plus safe and small fridge. Bathroom had sliding door, which meant privacy slightly compromised. Room was kept well serviced and very clean. Sound-proofing not perfect but we had good neighbours so always had peaceful night's sleep. The 3 lifts are a little on the small side, but now we're getting down to minor things for what was overall a hotel which provided great value for money for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Paul C,
Kindly, thank you for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and at the Leonardo hotel. Our goal is to impress our valued guests with our services to make the stay a comfortable one.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and I was generally satisfied with the service. Location is good, rooms are clean and relatively spacious. However, when I checked in I was asked to leave 50 euros deposit in case I make some damage in the room. I payed the bill with my credit card and deposit was also reserved from my card. However, although I was promised that my card would be unblocked as soon as I check out, it never happened. When I arrived home, I called the hotel and asked them to please unblock my card. They promised to do so, but nothing happened. Because of this highly unprofessional behaviour, I would never recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ivana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear ivana d,
Thank you for your valued feedback and for sharing your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We regret, the problems with your credit card. Kindly, we would like to inform you that the release of an amount from a credit card takes about 3 to 4 working days because of involved partners; the bank and the supplier of the services.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you in general enjoyed your time in Vienna.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good location within easy access of the Vienna train station and Mariehilfestrasse, hotel was in quiet area . The room was modern and reasonably well equipped, kind off small but ok .The breakfast was quite good to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear MarinaM,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time at the Leonardo hotel and in Vienna.

With kind regards

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

i liked so much the service, rooms, staff are freindly manely the south american girl who talks spanish,
in the center of vienna, near westbahnhof, and the most important commercial street in vienna : mariahilfestrasse,
the only thing i didn't like so much is the room of 3 persons, is littel bit littel for parents and a child of 6 years.
the rest ist perfect.
i like it, and i will come back there whenever i will visit vienna

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear delisi65,
Thank you for your positive feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read, that we could satisfy with our services and that you enjoyed your time in Vienna.

With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
#101 of 361 in Vienna
269 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#162 of 361 in Vienna
605 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#160 of 361 in Vienna
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan's Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. Free unlimited Wi-Fi access in superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing