We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location for touring and shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Ranked #153 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
cochrane, alberta
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“perfect location for touring and shopping!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

we found a little hard to drive to - we could see it from the roads we were on, but getting to the actual building in our rental was a bit of a maze.
also found that the staff were not very fluent in English so had a hard time describing where the attractions were that we were looking for. but as soon as you walk out the building and start exploring a little yourself, you realize that it is in a perfect location, close to the rail which is very easy to navigate, close to shopping and all the tourist attractions.
rooms were clean, food wasn't anything special so I'd recommend going out for your meals.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalikea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear kalikea83,
Thank you for valued feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor. Your comment we take very seriously and it will help us to improve our services.
Due to the rich range of restaurants along the Mariahilferstrasse we do not offer a large variety of different menus in our restaurant/bar.We are glad to read also that you in general was satisfied with the service we provided.
We remain from Vienna
with best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    511
    248
    70
    50
See reviews for
216
521
44
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hello! This a GREAT LOCATION directly across from the Vienna main rail station!
No taxi or bus required! There are lots of restaurants nearby!
The rooms are modern, clean & comfortable, while being small.
You can upgrade to a suite, for a much larger room with a separate seating area.
No WiFi at all in the entire hotel! No complimentary breakfast, although there is a restaurant & lounge on-site.
The evening front desk staff was excellent! (Thank you Bibiana for all your help)!
The service of the morning reception staff left a little to be desired though.
Overall, this is an excellent value & a good hotel choice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite & you will get a corner room with a separate living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubytuezday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Rubytuezday,
Thank you for your friendly feedback and that you are going to share this with other planners on Tripadvisor. 
We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay that much. We are offering WIFI at the complete hotel and at the lobby (3 fixed stations) this service is for our guests free of charge.
Thank you for staying at the Leonardo Hotel and we are looking forward of welcoming you again at the LEONARDO HOTEL.
This time we remain from Vienna
With kind regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From a spacious and clean room for a reasonable price to a friendly and accommodating staff - this well traveled vactioner was thoroughly impressed! Nice location to the Metro as well. If I return to Vienna - this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: There is a nice older cathedral that is probably the best view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concretecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Concretecowboy,
Thank you for staying at the Leonardo Hotel and that you are going to share your positive feedback with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay in Vienna.
We remain
With kind regards

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location, 5 minutes walk from the Westbahnhof and the airport bus, and at the top of the Mariahilferstrasse shopping street is unbeatable. Rooms are comfortable, the double is good for a solo traveller but too tight for two people especially with the strange swinging , sliding bathroom door but thoughtful touches like the kettle in the room, magnifying bathroom mirror and a functional lobby with fruit, daily newspaper in several languages and 3 computers are much appreciated.
The buffet breakfast is more sumptuous than in some more expensive hotels, choice of fruit, yogurt, breads, baba ganoush (absolutely delicious!) eggs, sausages - enough variety for a 4 or 5 day stay. Staff is efficient and courteous, but no more than that, showing little interest in their guests or their concerns (no map, friendly tips or chat) so it's fine for the business traveller who knows his way around. Security is good with cards needed to operate the lifts (3 of them so you never need to wait long). All in all, great value for money and I'd happily stay here again (even with the cheap soap in jumbo bottles hard to squeeze out! I had to get some L'Occitane products from the shops, good thing they're within walking distance).

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room and they will oblige. My corner unit on the 5th floor overlooking the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assitant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Bluesphynx,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and impressions with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna and that our service was to your satisfaction.
Thank you for staying with us.

We remain,

with best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend the Leonardo Vienna. It is in a fantastic central location near to transport links which made exploring Vienna really easy.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the breakfast buffet provided a great variety of tasty food.

The staff were also incredibly professional and helpful and soon solved any issues I had.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear James S,
Thank you for staying at the Leonardo Hotel and that you are going to share your positive feedback with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay in Vienna.
We remain
With kind regards

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotelus welllocated and comfortable (in a business kind of a way - no character)

At check in the staff did not stop talking to her colleague. We were a disturbance. She did not offer a city map - a basic step! When I asked her for one she did not even bother to point out where the hotel was located on it. I told her to show me.
On a separate occasion i asked the staff where we could reserve a train ticket from vienna to salzburg. She told us to walk to the nearby train station - wesbahnhof - and do it there. You cannot. This MUST be a basic request! If you don't know then surely look it up on the Internet and help the guest - just like any other customer service hotel staff would do! Just slack!

Walk up to the desk and say "hi. How are you doing". Response? Nada. Zip. Bupkes! I say "I'm fine too - Thanks for asking" In my view the staff could do with a lot of customer-service training. Their attitude is clearly "this is a job. Get me outta here ASAP".

Yes - I would stay here again because of the location and value. But the service is sub par.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear MichaelZZZ,
Thank you for valued feedback and that you are going to share your experience with other planners on Tripadvisor.
Please see also our direct e-mail.

Thank you for staying with us.

We remain from Vienna

with best regards
Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is clean, budget friendly, modern and very comfortable but the best part of this story is that it represents excellent value for money.
The room was more than adequate for what we wanted in that it was clean, had very comfortable beds and the en suite had a good shower.
There was a nice bar downstairs, very good internet access throughout including free of charge in the reception area (let's be honest, we don't go away to surf the internet - unless you're a bit sad) and the staff are very helpful.
It's a 2 minute walk from the Westbahnhof station which means it has excellent public transport links (5 mins to the old town) and there is an Aldi supermarket round the corner selling very cheap staples (beer for me) that can be stored in the empty mini bar fridge in the room.
Great hotel, great price and does the job. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseweeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, Assistant to GM at Leonardo Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Scouseweeman,
Thank you for staying at the Leonardo Hotel Vienna and that you are going to share your positive feedback with other planners on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service was to your satisfaction.
We remain from Vienna
With kind regards

Elisabeth Binder
Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
#116 of 360 in Vienna
239 reviews
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#166 of 360 in Vienna
592 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#152 of 360 in Vienna
772 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 360 in Vienna
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Vienna

Property: Leonardo Hotel Vienna
Address: Matrosengasse 6-8, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Vienna is the first Austrian hotel of the Leonardo Hotels chain. It welcomes you in the city centre of Vienna: directly at the Europaplatz, close to the biggest shopping street and the train station "Westbahnhof". Furthermore, the historic town centre and the St. Stephan's Cathedral as well as other interesting sights are easy to reach within 5 minutes by underground. Free unlimited Wi-Fi access in superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing