We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for Bisiness trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Ranked #1 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very comforted bed. It's new and very good furniture.
Very Cousy restaurant and delicious breakfast!!!!!!
Very helpful concierge. Good location.
But small reception and there are no lobby.
I think that the live in an hotel is in the lobby!!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lyubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Glad we decided to stay here. Location ideal for easy access to the great transport systems in Vienna.

Hotel was very good, not perfect of course but pretty close when taking account of the price. We have stayed in other hotels where the quality and service is not so good but at a much higher price. The facilities both in room and in the hotel were of a high standard but of course the building is pretty new which helps.

Stand out feature was the quality of the staff - everyone we came across was a great credit to the hotel; warm, genuine service and a desire to please which is sadly lacking in many comparable priced hotels.

The big let down as has been remarked by others was the lack of wardrobe space. We had a junior suite for six nights and whilst we travelled fairly light ( only 20kg each) the wardrobe was inadequate. Hanging space far too narrow and two of the four shelves so low you needed to kneel down to access them. There is no excuse for such a poor facility; the wardrobe takes up one half of one side of the entrance hall to the suite and the other half is empty space. It would not be difficult nor expensive for a good joiner to construct a stylish unit to use all the wall space thus doubling what is available.

If you are travelling light, happy to use your suitcase for storage space or are not bothered about clothes being squashed together, hard to access etc. or only staying a few days then okay but otherwise prepare to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel was truly a great surprise. Very clean (it's a new hotel) and well appointed rooms and public areas. Quiet, despite being next to a busy street with trams. Well located with good public transport access. A boutique hotel that is very well managed by helpful and charming staff without a hint of smugness or superiority. The restaurant and bar staff were especially good. We attended one party in the bar which was excellent and had breakfast a couple of times. Breakfast was fresh, generous and very varied with something for everyone
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank HTK058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Junior Suite at Hotel Sans Souci during a recent 7 day Christmas break. Overall, we liked the hotel but weren't overwhelmed. While they do many things well, there are a few important areas deserving some attention by management. Would we stay there again on a future visit? We wouldn't rule it out, but we would also consider some other alternatives.

Things we liked:
* Assistance from the front desk in making restaurant reservations in advance of our arrival.
* The hotel's location was wonderful: close to the Ring Road, 1 block from the Volkstheatre Underground station, and near the Kunsthistorisches Museum and Hofburg Palace attractions. We were able walk to most tourist attractions very easily and access the rest easily via Vienna's extensive public transportation system.
* Since the hotel is in a newly renovated building, the decor, bathrooms and all furnishings and facilities are new, clean, and modern.
* The bathroom floors were heated (wonderful).
* The Toto washlet toilet was a pleasant surprise.
* The coat hooks near the door were very handy.
* There was an in-room safe for valuables.
* There is a nicely equipped small health club and pool downstairs. We noticed that a lot of families with small children seemed to appreciate having the pool, which is a rarity in many city hotels.

Things we didn't like:
* Lack of storage for clothing! The ONLY place to store clothing was a mid-sized standing wardrobe piece in the entry hall. Half of the wardrobe had a rod for hanging clothes. The other half had shelves, one of which contained the safe. Once my husband unpacked his bag, the wardrobe was almost completely filled. I had to end up living out of my suitcase for the entire week, unpacking and repacking with every change of clothes. Grrrr. This is unacceptable in a Junior Suite.
* As several other reviewers have noted, breakfast is a train wreck and is the major reason we will consider staying elsewhere in the future. There appear to be many staff working, but nothing happens very quickly. First you must search for someone to seat you. Then it takes forever to get a pot of coffee. The coffee finally arrives, it is in a ceramic pot that quickly cools, and there is only enough for two cups. By then you have already started on the cold offerings on the buffet, which are adequate but not as terrific as some other reviewers would lead you to believe. The menu's offering of hot entrees is fairly basic: eggs (fried, scrambled, omelettes, etc.), oatmeal, pancakes, and breakfast meats. Frankly, I think this hotel would do better to ditch menu service altogether and make breakfast more of a self-service meal. Station the hostess at the front door, seating people. Put out a big urn of good coffee that guests can access quickly and refill often, offer a more appealing variety of cold items (I don't need 15 different unidentifiable yogurt-looking dishes), and provide a hot buffet that is frequently refreshed/replenished. Honestly, this restaurant's poor design (both floor plan and operation), needs to be totally re-thought. Several mornings we considered just walking out and going to a nearby cafe, even though breakfast was included in our room rate.
* The light in the toilet room comes on automatically whenever the door is opened; there is no override. Anytime anyone goes to the toilet during the night, the bedroom is flooded with light. This is very annoying.
* A room key is required to operate the elevator but we (as well as many other guests that we observed) found the mechanism in the elevator to be cantankerous. It often took several tries for the elevator to recognize our room key and commence operation.
* The bar is terribly smoky. That's not uncommon in Vienna, but still unpleasant.

As an aside....Although we were there over Christmas, you'd never know it by looking at the hotel. Aside from a sprig of greenery added to centerpieces on tables in the restaurant, decorations were not readily apparent. That's management's prerogative, but I'd have preferred to see more at my Christmas home away from home. The hotel proudly proclaims its modern, trendy, hip "decoration by yoo" and "original works of art." While I am a fan of sleek, modern design, IMHO, they missed the boat with this one. The grey and lavender color scheme with splashes of mirrored surfaces looks like a modern bordello. And the walls of our Junior Suite were sadly empty, containing only only small piece of art. I'm for quality over quantity, but our room needed something more on the walls.

Room Tip: 106 is quiet Junior Suite on back interior of building. No view, but extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrvlAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SansSouciWien, Manager at Hotel Sans Souci Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear TrvlAnywhere,

First of all: thank you very muich for taking the time to write a review in such detail - it not only helps future travellers but also our service and staff.
We're glad you did, overall, enjoy your stay with us. As for the breakfast: we do apologize for the shortcomings of the service and the wait for food during some days of the festive season. Those occured due to staff shortages. Still, we hope you consider staying with us again!
All the best from Vienna,
Your Sans Souci Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Wow, if It could rate this hotel with 6 stars, I would. Everything about the Hotel Sans Souci was amasing. This is probably the nicest hotel we have stayed in. Luxury and stylish in every possible way.

Everything about the hotel was full of luxury and perfection. The check-in process was great and the front desk nicely explained the property and area. We were given fresh drinks at check in and shown to our room.

The room and bathroom was done in a very high standard and had so many extras, it clearly earned a 6* rating. It felt so new inside and spotlessly clean. It is also in a great location, with the Metro and all transportation right outside the door. Breakfast was the absolute best we every had. All items on the buffet was highest quality and the service was perfect.

We also used the spa downstairs all 3 days and another big wow. The hotel as an amasing spa and swimming pool. Here too, it has so many extras in it compared to other spas I have used. It made us feel very special guests.

The people and service made it also very special. Interesting story, in the city, we were looking at a map and a nice young lady asked us if we needed help. She told us she was going that way too and come with her and she will show us. She was really helpful and a being a fine representative of the city. After we got going, she asked us while on the Metro where we were staying and we said the Sans Souci. Well, her eyes lighted up and said she worked there! We asked her name and she said Denise, and it turned out she was the exact person I booked my stay with! This story just tells you of the quality of the people working there. She was giving us all this help and suggestions about the city BEFORE she knew where we were staying.

I highly recommend the Sans Souci. We were so pleased in every possbile way and can't wait to return. Again, this is the highest standard to compare another hotel to, it is at the top!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I spent two night here as part of a group, yet was treated like an individual in the friendliest way possible. Fantastic service from start to finish, really comfortable room (with beds and showers fit for a king), and brilliant breakfast. Spent a relaxing, uninterrupted couple of hours in the pool and sauna and would not hesitate to return to this hotel or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Wow. What a great hotel. The location couldn't be better. The people were really friendly and helpful, the rooms are stunning and very comfortable and the bar and restaurant are great too.

Breakfast was a nice, fresh buffet and you can order eggs.
We had a terrific lunch one day.
They have two elegant bars.

The decor is somewhere between boutique chic and surreal, Austrian 'hip'. I don't get the photo series of and by a narcissist-about-town but, hey, art is subjective. There was an off-putting three-foot purple berry thing on the way to the lifts. I just hurried past.

Our room had a great (signed) Lichtenstein print, so that redeemed a lot.

The bed was as comfortable as any bed I've ever slept in.
The shower and tub were great (not all rooms have a tub -- or a signed Lichtenstein, I imagine).
There was one of those Toto Washlet toilets that I've read about in Monocle but never experienced. We made fun of it (and Tyler Brulé) mercilessly but I missed it when I got home.

If I went back to Vienna, I'd stay here. If there was no room, I'd change my dates.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main street overlook a noisy tram route -- but the windows are triple-glazed so I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougalKessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,893 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,229 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,531 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#6 of 358 in Vienna
2,508 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sans Souci Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sans Souci Wien

Address: Burggasse 2, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Spittelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £227 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sans Souci Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated between the traditional 1st and trendy 7th districts, the Hotel Sans Souci Wien is nestled in a prime location. The hotel's interior is completely designed by yoo, and filled with original works of art, make a stay at this hotel a unique experience. The individually designed rooms combine the intimate enchantment of a Boutique Hotel with noble design. The "Veranda" restaurant, the hotel bar and the small yet refined "Le Salon" event room offer an outstanding experience of splendid yet subtle luxury. This Vienna luxury hotel also boasts a holistic wellness oasis on 450 sqm - the Sans Souci Spa. Guests feel indulged and cared for in three saunas including a steam bath, a sun meadow, relaxing areas and two treatment rooms where sublime treatments with Vinoble natural cosmetics nurture body and spirit. One of the biggest highlights of the Sans Souci Wien is its fitness centre, including a 20 meter long sports pool and a modern, well-equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sans Souci Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing