We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Simm's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simm's Hotel
Ranked #143 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and our son of 7 spent the last days of 2013 in Vienna. We enjoyed 'das Silvesterpfad' and the vibrant city life in Vienna. Four months earlier I stumbled upon the Simm's Hotel, a modern, clean and recent building at the Simmeringer Hauptstrasse. I made my booking early September (Zimmer mit Frühstück) and got a very nice price (at least compared to the overpriced hotels in the centre of Vienna. We got room 810, a top-level 3 bed room overlooking the Simmeringer area and the Gasometers. The views on the fireworks at New Year's Eve were wonderful. The room itself was very clean, with a rather stylish look (e.g. concrete ceiling). The bathroom was perfect: you can take a shower looking at the roofs of the neighboring buildings and viewing the skyline of Vienna. Breakfast was perfect. Large choice of bread and sweets, fruit, cereals, eggs, bacon, .... I especially liked the fact that a can of coffee was already standing on the table. When you arrived you could immediately enjoy a hot cup of coffee (if you didn't take your first cup of Nespresso in your room). During the evening, the reception was staffed by a very nice lady (I think her name was Jana) who helped us booking a table in a very good restaurant (Stern Gasthaus, Braunhubergasse 5). The hotel is next to the metro entrance (U3) and tram 71 stops right at the door. No matter where you want to go in Vienna, you can either take U3 or line 71. We switched between both options depending on our destination. The trip to the centre takes approximately 20 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Hotelgast,
es freut uns sehr, wenn Sie zufrieden waren und ein großes Dankeschön für Ihre Bewertung. Wir erwarten Sie gerne wieder bei uns. Alles Gute und liebe Grüße aus Wien.
die Hotelleitung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    126
    21
    3
    8
See reviews for
49
137
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Well we did not get the chance to give a detailed opinion on the hotel as we were told on arrival for a 3 night stay that the hotel was overbooked and that they had arranged for us to be moved to a new hotel. They did offer us a free taxi to the alternative hotel. In hindsight they did us a favour as the alternative, the Zeitgeist Hotel was better located and seemed to be a higher standard and we even got a free breakfast every day! On the plus side the recpetionist at the Simms Hotel was polite but no amount of pleasantness gets over the fact that they had overbooked but were still checking people in whilst we wer ebeing redirected which begs the question as to how they chose who had to be moved and who still had rooms.

Room Tip: Think twice before booking here or at least double check the day before travel that you have a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapps123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear hotelguest,
we understand your anger and we regret the situation that your stay with us happened to us. There was a booking error and was important to us that we had a good solution and alternive for you.
All the best and greetings
Your General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
254 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nice new design hotel, situated next to the subway direct to downtown. Good hearty breakfast, but too crowded : people had to eat in the hall as well at peak times ... Between airport and city, so will not take much time with taxi ! Nice experience. Even with a view on the "gasometer buildings" from our room !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philhellich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear hotelguest,
thank you for your review and that you found the time to play your impressions. Come back soon.
Your General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

it's a very gd business hotel. It's less than one min to the underground station. there is wifi in the lobby and the rm so it's convenient. The receptionist is nice but she seemed did not heard of anything abt free upgrade of rm. Although it's normal to refuse a free upgrade in rm type, she responded in a way too define and make us feel embarrassed and bad. and actually it's quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsmile3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
dear guest
many thanks that you have taken time to write your impressions.
We wish you all the best and remain
with best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I booked this hotel a month in advance. In the morning before my arrival I sent an e-mail, letting them know I was coming, and I got a response right away about how glad they were and how welcome I was.
But by the time I got to the hotel, they gave my room to someone else.
OK, yes, they suggested another hotel in the same category a few miles out, but I have specifically booked this hotel because it was within walking distance to the venue that was the sole purpose of me coming to Vienna, and their offer was just unacceptable.
It was by pure chance that on the google maps printout the clerk was showing me I noticed a small place called Pension Peck just down the street. They had rooms and we canceled the whole thing with Simm's hotel.
They will smile and be nice and then push you aside to make room for a busload of tourist. Good business logic.
They will never see me again.

Room Tip: Perhaps if you upgrade to one of the fancy top floor rooms they might actually keep it for you?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorazd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Geschäftsführer at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
We regret the incident very much and understand your anger. We propose to make a Alterntivhotel just around the corner but you did not want. Maybe you give us again the possibility that we can convince them of our hote
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

New and modern hotel with spacious rooms. Very clean, rich breakfast ( extra cost ). Hotel is located out of centre but next door to the metro station U3, therefore is easy to reach every interesting place in Viena. Price is reasonable in comparison with hotels in the center. Only one minute to the Billa market.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, Geschäftsführer at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that they come back soon.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel is easily accessible by car and underground. Rooms are spacious, well furnished and breakfast very good. The only think I would warn you is parking garage. Ask reception for clear instructions to get to Hotel parking garage. There are two next to each other and one is only for long term parking (who would thought that 13 hours is a short term parking). if you park in it anyway, the fine is 50 EUR. Yes, 50€.
I was lucky and the person on the other side of the ring bell, just let me out, when I complained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian G, General Manager at Simm's Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
dear guest,

thank you very much for your vote and that they reflect their impressions here. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

your General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#65 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Hotel Hahn
#257 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Roomz Vienna
#179 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Actilingua Apartment Hotel Pension
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simm's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simm's Hotel

Property: Simm's Hotel
Address: Simmeringer Hauptstrasse 55-57, Vienna 1110, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simm's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simm's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing