We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Job of tying together modern comforts with the feel of a palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Job of tying together modern comforts with the feel of a palace”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The best thing about the Palais Hansen Kempinski is that it is a beautiful building that makes you feel like 19th century royalty while having all the amenities and comforts of the 21st century. It is the best attempt, albeit not perfect, that I have seen at seamlessly integrating technology at a beautiful, high-end hotel (better than Wynn or Encore in Las Vegas for instance). I didn't expect this from the hotel, and it made my stay more exciting.
The doors, accesses and elevators all have sensor technology that work with a nearby pass or swipe of the key. The television in the room is large, something that most 5 star hotels tend to skimp on in my experience, and they manage to use the "smart tv" functions of the tv to include all of their pay per view. The rooms come with touch sensor technology that allow you to turn off all the lights, turn on the "do not disturb" icon or ask for maid service. They also come with an Ipad. The Ipad also allows you to order room service directly from it! The phone was a small cordless that had the directory programmed into it, and there were no shortcomings on anything else that I expected a good hotel to provide.
The spa is very nice and what you would expect from a 5 star hotel as well as the other common areas.
The service is very friendly and well-executed. Their concierge team has a can-do attitude and their staff, in general, is very helpful.
It is a 5 star hotel, with GREAT LOCATION on the Ring street, and I fully recommend it. I would like to stay there again after I try the Hotel Imperial Wien. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    140
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
206
521
36
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

. . . . with the property and the staff and the amenities. All were amazing.

It was our first trip to Vienna (we usually do Paris or London). And my wife and I fell in love with this amazing city.

But the hotel? Absolutely perfect. We got a junior or executive suite of some kind. At midnight. After a long day of travel. And I told my wife it was among the nicest hotel rooms that I have ever seen.

The hotel itself is not in the center of town - it's on the ring strasse - which is actually more convenient. You can walk to the tram or the subway in about 2 minutes. Which puts you closer to the major attractions.

Details: Fantastic food. Super clean rooms and public areas. And my favorite: a totally computerized touch button shower. I haven't seen that in Las Vegas or anywhere else. The very neat green walls of plants in the main restaurant. I could go on and on . . . .

Because it was a perfect stay in a perfect hotel. It's new and just opened this year but they already have done everything right.

N.B. - If I were planning a business retreat or meeting in Europe (which I don't do but have done in the USA for my American company) this place would be on a very short list. I think it will become a hybrid luxury hotel with tourists but also a lot of meetings and groups using it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and used virtually every service. Everything was over the top good. From the second our door was opened with a "Gross Gott" to the second we left was superior. The breakfast was the best anywhere. Not cheap, but worth it. Dinner was good too. We had standard room that was huge. The bathroom was plush and modern. It took us two days to master. The concierge was very helpful and the whole staff was always attentive. Our spa services were great too. They have an iPad to control the tv and hotel services. Nothing is not thought of.

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The vibe was great. The people were better. We want to go back. I should point out its an adult hotel we didn't see too many kids, and we liked that. Awesome!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

As expected, another great experience in KEMPINSKI. Beautifull rooms, small, but comfortable spa, professionall staff, very good located in the centre. We spent a nice time on 1st may and we really enjoyed. Hope will come back. Thank you for great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Location is convenient
Staff are friendly and cooperative
Concierge is outstanding
Rooms are comfortable and spacious
Housekeeping could be better (room garbage bin was not emptied after previous guest when I arrived)
Breakfast was good but was the same for 6 nights stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miafaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights. Location can be any better. A walking distance to and from everything. Buffet was really great.
I would do this every time I can!!!
Everything is digital. You just push a bottom and that's it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is a comfortable place to spend your time. There is a excellent breakfast that is served in a pleasant place. The fitness area is nice. The pool is beautiful and relaxing. The staff is pretty attention. It was to do check in and the check out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Property: Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing