We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most stylish and creative Breakfasts ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Having chance to stop by for Breakfast only, but it was a great experience, as the place is truly Kempinski style and the Breakfast room called die Kuche ( the Kitchen) was exactly what the name promises regarding the style and the creativity. The architecture gets you, the way how they prepare the breakfast buffet is unique and something you would remember including choice of fresh juices even made from cucumber, pear or...Wide choice of coffee, lovely equipment, slicing machine for the ham etc. The service was rather poor but doesn`t count much at Breakfast buffet, where you serve yourself alone. We weren`t offered the kid`s chair, neither asked if we wish more coffee or something else, however it didn`t spoil our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJArcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

Your comments have been motivating and rewarding but show us where we need to concentrate on in order to eliminate unnecessary service deficiencies.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to the service issues that you unfortunately encountered during the breakfast and would like to apologize as it is our aim to always exceed our guests' expectations. We will address those deficiencies and take corrective actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Even though centrally located I have to say there are hotels with an even better location. I know it is complaining on a high level, however in hotels such as the Sacher, Imperial or Bristol you have almost everything right next to you. However this place impresses with its staff, its splendor and the ability to make your stay a memorable one. It is one of the few places that makes it acceptable to walk to sights or other places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasBaldiniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Took my wife as a surprise birthday gift and was let down by the fact that the hotel car that I had booked to collect us from the airport failed to arrive.

To the credit of the management they stepped on this immediately and ensured that we were greeted and upgraded from our suite as well as providing dinner. This most most gracious and greatly appreciated.

The hotel is lovely. Really beautiful decor and the best breakfast in town for sure.

Thank you to Dieter BIschoff for your kind attention and to Tobias who took care of us at Edvard.

Room Tip: Suites at front a little noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments after your stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With great pleasure we could recognize that you enjoyed your time here and that we complied with your expectations. It makes us very happy that almost everything was to your fullest satisfaction during your stay at the hotel. We will definitely forward your feedback to our colleague Dieter Bischoff. He indeed does a great job and is a valuable member of our team.

I have been informed about your unpleasant experience with the transfer during your recent stay for which I would like to apologize. Please rest assured that the necessary actions will be made that such service deficiencies will not occur in future.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna and assure you of our utmost attentive care and service during your stay with us.

Best regards,
Markus Lueck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and the hotel was lovely. The service was very friendly and generally efficient, although checkin was delayed and maintenance checks weren't carried out as they should have been. This however didn't dampen our enthusiasm for the hotel. The rooms were lovely and the bathrooms gorgeous. The technology was great but didn't always work as it should have - touch panels for the shower were a bit fickle and the iPad that controls everything worked very slowly. The hotel is a little out of the way but there are two tram stops and a metro station within very easy walking distance. Lovely hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda56yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

Your comments have been motivating and rewarding, but show us where we need to concentrate on in order to eliminate unnecessary service deficiencies. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay in regards to maintenance checks.

As the manager of the hotel, I have indeed taken note of your comments with regards to touch panels of the shower and the speed of the Ipad. Please rest assured that the necessary actions will be made that such service deficiencies will not occur in future.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

Best regards,
Markus Lueck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

i have stayed 3 nights in october. hotel rooms are great, big enough. very modern and well equipped. the breakfast is 8 out of 10, a little bit small restaurant. very close to city center about 10 to 15 min walk or 5 euros by taxi. do not insist for a good view room because there is no good view only street view. its a little bit expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekobarlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and we loved the hi-tec aspects. The lobby has great ambience and the service was second to none.

The hotel is only a short walk from the main attractions. The doorman & taxi drivers were very helpful, finding us a great Italian restaurant & returning our camera that we left in the cab (before we even realised we'd lost it).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We atayed 2 nights in VIenna at Palais Hansen Kempinski and it was wonderful, the hotel is new, beautiful and the staff is great, we had an uppgrade to the Ring Suite. The lobby is beautiful, we had dinner there and it was very good also. Ill definetely come back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,554 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,789 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,384 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 358 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski

Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £237 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing