We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stylish Hotel in City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stylish Hotel in City Centre”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at this lovely hotel in Vienna. Right from the moment that we walked in, the Front office staff (led by the lovely Florian) greeted us always by our names and were very warm and engaging. The hotel has a fabulous lobby and our hotel room was gorgeous with all the amenties and inclusions of a very high standard. Breakfast each morning was sensational…and faultless…the breakfast café has a stunning vertical garden and the variety of food on offer and food presentation exceptional..including a chef wondering around to each table offering freshly cooked croissants. Vienna is very easy to navigate and the hotel is very close to public transport (train and Underground). The hotel is highly recommended and we would love to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    144
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
221
545
36
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

In all the reviews I have done, I could always knock 1 or 2 points off for some minor trivial thing. But this hotel, for me was unadulterated perfection. From the professional and efficient staff, the quality of, well everything, to the sheer lux of the room through to the spectacularly brilliant breakfast, it was a wonderful experience. I could rattle on about the comprehensive breakfast, where, if you wanted freshly squeezed orange juice, it would be squeezed there and then. Choice of every conceivable need. The room with the push button bath, shower, even push button "do not disturb". We had an upgrade to a large suite, which was so good, I was reluctant to leave it and go explore Vienna. The reception, with a little drink offered. THIS HOTEL MUST BE PEERLESS.

Room Tip: I imagine they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeirdFish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A truly delightful hotel. I had booked a junior suite and got upgraded to suite on arrival. Staff were friendly and polite. Everything clean and modern yet classy. A lovely hotel that I shall definitely return to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abarcpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First class and very well situated. Outstanding concierges and very good restaurant.
Will return. Walking distance from many atractions and and great bar and snack area. The facilities for handicapped people were very good.
We stayed only for 2 nights when we arrived to Europe and it was by far the best hotel on this trip. Take advantage of the free bike rental if the weather is nice.
Clenliness was impecable and recomendation superb.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with our room. Service is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of November 2013. Kempinski should be one of the best hotels in Vienna as their price per room would suggest (€296). On the website we asked for a quiet room and if possible an “upgrade” to a higher floor. Despite what you see on the building outside there are only 3 floors available and we got upgraded to the 2nd floor for €15 extra per night. There is super slow WiFi for free but if you want to use if for business (or any kind of download/e-mail and such) the charge is €15 per. 24H.

We got picked up at the airport in the hotel limousine. The driver certainly did not make it easy for us to spot him in the airport as he was “hiding” in the back of the airport. Not a smile or any other courtesy, so unless you hate taxis I think you will experience the same service (or lack thereof) in a normal cab. So drop the idea and the extra charge for the hotel limo.

The receptionist was friendly, smiling and efficient and we got a handicap room (274) on the second floor. Not that I really mind a handicap room but I think they could have told us at the reception. The room is very nice, not too big but a tall ceiling and nicely appointed. It was very quiet with a firm bed. I think the temperature was a bit on the high side but we could open the window so it turned out okay. Never found the A/C but we could have asked for guidance of course.

The shower was handicap friendly but regulating the temperature was tricky as they had installed electronic buttons for the regulations and they really did not make it easier.
The room cleaning was done during the late afternoon so when we returned from the city to our room the next day we had to wait in the lobby while the cleaning was finished (at 4PM). Not very practical and somewhat unusual.

The breakfast was more or less a complete disaster. We turned up in the restaurant at 10AM to find that there were no free tables! We were told to eat in the lobby and were promised some service there which never came. They also said that we would be told when a free table would be available which never happened either. There were no thee/coffee cups, no spoons, and the service around ordering your eggs turned out to be a one of a kind experience.

“Can I please have 3 eggs over easy on two plates?” Yes, the chef responded but really he had no clue. He started out on an egg massacre which was a variation I had never had before. The serving ended up on 3 plates with one egg on each plate. The egg was a mix between an omelet, a normal fried egg and scrambled egg – voila eggs massacre. I asked if I could have the two eggs on one plate but had to point before the penny dropped. Had it not been for the breakfast price of €40 it would have been a funny experience.

Turned out that you have to make a reservation for breakfast – an information I think they should make less of a secret in the reception. We made the reservation for 10AM the next morning to find a table still not cleaned, no cups, and no coffee or tea service. I think the look on my face must have woken the manager because things changed to the better – service wise – including an apology for the inconvenience. The manager also offered us a free lunch as compensation. A nice gesture we had to turn down because we had business in the city. An offer not to pay for the breakfast would probably have been a better idea.

I asked for a late checkout and were granted a check out at 2PM which is fine. Also upon leaving the hotel we forgot our passports in the room safe. The service to get the passports and send them to our home address by FedEx worked out fine. Thanks!

All in all a mixed experience. Nice room, fine bar with great drinks, fine fitness facilities, horrible breakfast restaurant, and an upgrade to a handicap room on the second floor. The service and professionalism certainly does not match the price tag so I think we will find an alternative to the Palais Hansen Kempinski next time we are in Vienna.

Room Tip: If you really want to have breakfast in this hotel be sure to make a reservation and be prepared for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AwayCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

we are terribly sorry to read that your experience at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna was not satisfying. Our sincere apologies for that as it is our aim to continuously exceed our guests` expectations. The reviews about our hotel, I think, underline this striving for excellence.

Without going into details about what went wrong during your stay, I would kindly ask you to give us a second chance, so that we can overwhelm you about our product and service.

As the manager of this beautiful hotel and fantastic team, I kindly ask you to accept our apology. If you do not mind, I would like to contact you personally. In order to do so, would you kindly send me an email with your contact details to markus.lueck@kempinski.com. I will then call you accordingly.

Best regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived on Saturday 16/11/13 for a 2 night stay before going to the Imperial Hotel for 2 nights. We arrived at about 12.00 noon and were taken to the lounge area to check in and were given a nice pot of tea. The hotel is very modern, the rooms were nice and modern. The bathroom was very modern. The lounge, bar area and breakfast area were all well presented. The breakfast area had a good choice and was a hot and cold buffet. The concierge was very helpful with directions and suggestions. We enjoyed our stay here
On the 18/11/13 we moved to the Imperial Hotel, this hotel was completely different from the Kempinski but very nice and had a lot more history to it . Please see review for this hotel on the Imperial site

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is simply stunning, with a gorgeous lobby, excellent check-in process, and lovely rooms. We stayed a week at this hotel & couldn't be happier with our experience. The hotel breakfast was fantastic, with everything you could think of available. We stayed in a deluxe double room which was very large, with a nice entryway complete with a table & lamp, ample closet space, large comfortable bed, two seating areas (one sofa with table & another area with a small table, chair & lamp) plus a desk area. Of course there was a wide-screen TV and a very large bathroom with separate tub & shower areas.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,446 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,689 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 361 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Property: Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing