We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A lovely Christmas break”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked this trip as we didn't want all the usual Christmas issues with family, it was an excellent relaxing stay arriving on 24 & departing on 27 Dec (3 nights).

Our room was very well appointed, situated in the centre of the building, very high ceilings & touch controls for the bath & wonderful shower. We also had breakfast included in the deal which was tip top standards. The bed was huge & very comfortable.

We enjoyed a special Christmas Eve dinner with wines which we very much enjoyed as well in the Edvard restaurant.

The staff were efficient and friendly, but we would like to say a special thank you to the following people who made our stay very special. Mareike at reception in the evenings of 24 & 25 who made us feel most welcome and was very efficient, thank you. To Jennifer in the mornings at reception who was very helpful & friendly assisting us with our queries and finally to Martin on the Concierge desk who recommended and booked 2 very good restaurants in the centre of the city for 25 late afternoon & 26 Dec evening and arranged a Mozart & Strauss concert on 26 Dec which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Yes, we would certainly go back and visit the Kempinski in Vienna again, thank you.

Room Tip: You can either be situated on the outer section or inner part, the rooms are very well soundproofed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    140
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
206
521
36
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Years for leisure.

The pros of the hotel:

1. Great concierge: Daniel, in particular, was exceptional. He got us tremendous seats to the Opera, and was a fountain of information about things we'd want to do about town.

2. Helpful Front Desk staff: Very friendly, but, more importantly, very honest about what we could expect from our stay. For instance, by suggesting we enroll in the Loyalty Program (free of charge), we got free WiFi during our stay...a savings of over $50.

3. Lovely decor: the lobby is beautiful, with one of the most interesting light columns in its center. Everything is top quality and tasteful.

That said, there were some things about the hotel we didn't like:

1. The location: You're on the Schottenring, but not near any of the things that you'd want to do on a leisure trip. Everything was a 15 minute tram ride or a 45 minute walk, it seemed. We've historically stayed near the Opera House, which is a far better location, in my opinion.

2. Tiny rooms: We had a Superior Room, which admittedly is their lower-end option. (I wasn't aware of that when I booked the room). The room was puny in size. You can barely walk around the bed, and there is very little seating space apart from the bed itself. The bathroom is also quite tiny. No chance for two people to be in the bathroom at the same time. And forget about having enough space to unpack your suitcase; you'll be living out of that while you're here.

3. Questionable plumbing: When you're in the bathroom, you can clearly hear the plumbing. In particular, you can hear the waste of those in rooms above you coming sloshing through your walls. Pretty gross, and not something you'd expect from a fully renovated hotel.

4. Over-engineered lighting system: The lighting system is button controlled, but not the most intuitive. You can easily turn on all the room lights instead of your bedside table in the middle of the night, which doesn't go over well with your better half. Can't I just turn on a lamp with a button on the lamp itself?

5. Strange beeping noise. Every 15 minutes, there was a beep-beep-beep sound that came from the phone...including in the middle of the night. I think the phone needed charging, which it was in the dock to do. But incredibly annoying.

6. A wait for breakfast: They don't have enough seats in the breakfast lounge (Kuche). We had to wait for 15 minutes twice, which is something I wouldn't expect from a 5 star hotel. And then we were asked to wait in the bar for the next available table, only to have others who came in after us get seated first (with no reservation). Annoying.

So, all in all, we'll be going back to one of our mainstays next time. We even prefer Le Meridien over this place, and that is saying something as Le Meridien is not a 5 star hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JMBINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

It is our aim and daily goal to exceed our guests' expectation and I am sorry to read that we could not achieve this in your case.

As I have not been made aware about your dissatisfaction during your stay, I would like to contact you directly to apologise and to investigate on some of the mentioned deficiencies or comments - for this I would need to know the number of the room that you occupied.

Thank you very much for your assistance by contacting me directly on markus.lueck@kempinski.com.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Strong Points:
Fantastic breakfast; best one out of the 7 hotels we stayed in during our Germany/Austria trip.

Lobby, rooms are beautiful; bathrooms are great with the heated towel bar & controls (we found out that the main power lights need to be on for the bar to heat).

Very quiet rooms but for the kids running through the hallways above us at 6am...no fault of the hotel; only inconsiderate parents (as it happened over & over).

Very quiet rooms but for the kids running through the hallways above us at 6am...no fault of the hotel; only rude parents.

Also loved the location. I like hotels that are just outside the action, which means quiet (for example, you'd never find me staying in Times Square).

Slight blips:
No one to greet us or help with luggage upon arrival.

When we got to the room, we noticed 2 beds. We then realized when we booked, it gave us no option to choose the bed type. Not a big deal, as housekeeping came up & pulled the beds together. Apparently, the hotel was pretty full in mid Dec.

Given that we came from an extremely warm & friendly Hotel Sacher in Salzsburg, it was a tough act to follow. But it did seem to lack warmth & personal service. We'd stay again; hoping AMEX adds this to their Fine Hotels & Resorts program.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fins823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With great pleasure we could recognize that you enjoyed your time here and that we met your expectations. It makes us very happy that almost everything was to your satisfaction during your stay at our hotel.

Your comments have been motivating and rewarding but show us where we need to concentrate on in order to eliminate unnecessary service deficiencies. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay in regards to the noise in the hallways
and lack of service attentiveness.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel and assure you of our utmost attentive care and service during your stay with us.

With best regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 9AM. Was told that we were upgraded to a suite (nice touch) but the room would not be available until 2PM. This is despite informing the hotel in advance of our arrival time. Instead of being offered breakfast or tea / coffee in the lobby lounge, the receptionist asked us if we would like to 'come back'. In the middle of winter in freezing cold temperatures, I couldn't fathom that she expected us to walk around for 5 hours! We sat in the lobby anyways and had a small breakfast. At 12PM I again inquired but still nothing positive.

At 2PM sharp when I went upto the reception I was told that the room is ready for a while and that one of the lobby staff was supposed to take up upto the room. However, this particular person was busy with another guest and had the keys in her pocket all the while! I should myself upto the room which was quite nice.

Apart from this bad experience at check-in, the hotel was good. Location not so good. Quite a walk 10-15 mins to the centre though its on the ring road, its at the end.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments after your stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

We highly value positive feedback and constructive criticism as it helps us in our striving to perfection.

Based on your feedback and comments, we have indeed reviewed our early check-in procedure. Furthermore, I have discussed this issue with our Front Office Manager and would like to assure you that we will take the appropriate measures to prevent any future occurrences.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you soon again at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna. We are convinced that next time we will be able to exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the kempinski with our 3 year old. Overall, great experience with minor comments.

Hotel is gorgeous. We arrived around 1pm and our room wasn't ready so we enjoyed lunch in the beautiful lobby. Good service and food.

Deluxe room was big enough for child's bed and bathroom was large. Daughter loved the rain shower. TV is a bit strange as there were no English channels. Wifi is fast and reliable.

The breakfast buffet is delightful. Lots of choices and broader than other kempinskis we stayed at. The fresh fruit selection is nice - raspberries and blackberries that you don't find everywhere.

The gym area is nice. The pool in the spa was nice. It is not for swimming laps but great for relaxing and playing.

Concierge is helpful.

Only real complaint is that cleaning service is quite late. We came back at 4pm two days and room was still uncleaned. We had left the service please light on for over 5 hours both days so that was disappointing.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugx87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here with Mrs 1960 for last weekend in November. Main lobby oozes money (and perhaps a touch of bling). Service superb but breakfasts a bit fraught. Room spacious, well equipped - no problem whatsoever with shower/bath controls. We were at back of hotel where it is very quiet indeed. All new so really is at its best now.

Breakfast once a table was secured, was very good indeed.

Location good - 10 mins max to centre.

Would deffo return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napajedla, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was my second stay at Hansen. This time full booked hotel was keeping its unbreakable nr.1 status little bit harder but passed.
From first moment there were some little problems I have never experienced before in Kempinski hotels.
1. Additional bed was ready, but no children amenities at room (little bathrobe, slippers, toy...)
2. Keycards stopped working during stay suddenly.
3. Aircondition in one of my rooms was not heating (althought 22C was there)
The point is staffs attitude how to solve. Technician repaired damaged AC unit almost immediately (in that complicated hotel, where everything runs on LAN or WIFI via iPad almost incredible speed), keycard was question of 10seconds and boys things appeared quite soon.
Then unexpectedly arrived tasty liquid apologize (big Pol Roger Champagne, 4 Single Malt Macalans and very tasty sweet box. All for free.
Everyone, who is doing something useful in life knows, that machines could break down (even those running on MS Windows system) :)
I just felt little uncomfortable in certain moments when i had to solve something what i do not want to solve on relax stay, but the hotel returned, what he took me, many times more. This problems were worth some walking to reception :)
So in spite of that I am looking forward to next stay very much, maybe I try to harm AC to get another alcohol for free :)))
Finally i must mention perfect room service (paid items too), food taste and quality, spa, breakfast, best sleeping quality ever experienced, nice and comfy bathrooms and many more.

Few advices:
1. Do not despise atrium facing rooms, they are super quiet compared to street facing ones.
2. Let Wi-Fi connected Babysitters at home, entering room number and guest name do not technicaly enable you to use it at hotels Wi-Fi.
3. Try soups offered by room dining, amazing!
4. Play with Kempinski iPad on room - very clever device. For example ordering food and picking up used tray is a easy game for child ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

Property: Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing