We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated and modern hotel made for great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It has been updated and was super nice. We had a special package where our third night was free so we felt it was a good value overall. We stayed in a junior suite with an ipad to run everything and loved it. The sauna area is also very, very nice and the staff great. The only negative might be that despite being in the inner ring, it is a little bit further than we expected to the downtown sights. It was no problem for us because we like to walk and it helped us discover more of the town. But if you want to be right next to the museums, you will want a different hotel. Also, we never ate breakfast at the hotel as we thought the price (28 euro) was too high and found great breakfasts at other locations for a 1/3 of the cost. Overall, we would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our junior suite was wonderful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank incarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Palais Hansen Kempinski
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel over Christmas and it was brilliant.

We chose a deal that got us the third night free and stayed in a junior suite. Definitely the most modern hotel room I've ever stayed in.

Quality of service was exceptional and on par with other top luxury hotels around the world that we've stayed at.

On Christmas Eve we had the Christmas dinner at the hotel restaurant Die Kuche and it was delicious. Was great value with very attentive wait staff. They even had a self serve cookie buffet to take something away which was a nice touch.

Only slight downside was that we were given a twin bed when we requested a king, however, by combining the two beds we ended up with a very large bed which was perfectly fine.

The spa area is fine but nothing special. We didn't get any treatments but used the hydro pool and other facilities. It would be nice to be able to order a drink or light snack in the relaxation room but when I finally found someone (each time we were there, the area was completely deserted) and enquired about this, it seemed too hard (would need to pay in cash as it couldn't be linked back to our room but given we were in the pool we had no cash on us!)

Would definitely stay here again next time we are in Vienna!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. The room was very comfortable, quiet and well equipped; we especially liked the large bed, the bathroom with button controlled bath and shower and we appreciated the Nespresso machine and iPad. The lobby and bar is stylish and spacious, if somewhat lacking in atmosphere. Service was always extremely friendly and helpful. The spa was relaxing but the pool is too small for swimming. The only downside is the location with a 15 min walk to the centre, although there are tram and metro stops nearby. A very pleasant experience. I would return but would price check better located hotels near the Opera House.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Recently open Hansen Kempinski is notable for its great location, superb concierge service and very helpful staff. The best rooms are so good that. Consider them a better deal than the suites. Outstanding bathrooms. Overall surprisingly good value for an outstanding experience.Was our first time in Vienna...we will be back at the Hansen!

Room Tip: Restaurant Hansen in a flower shop nearby for informal lunch Try Taffelspitz at Wollzeile Plachutta...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DukeofMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It is very new and that is good and bad at the same time. Good because everything still looks new but also bad because there seem to be some growing pains. The service is always anxious to provide the best service to all customers – much better than in many other hotels in Vienna. The rooms are not big but comfortable and there is everything you need. The big problem is the location. There are no shops or even restaurants nearby. You need to walk through half of downtown Vienne before you get to all the sites. Many other hotels in Vienna are located much better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yumi0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

I am sorry to read that the aspect of the location of the hotel has negatively impacted your satisfaction with your stay. The hotel is located on the famous Ring Boulevard - the Schottenring, and is indeed further away that other hotels from the busy streets of Vienna. All sites and restaurants within the first district are nevertheless within 3-5 minutes tram ride or 10-15 minutes walking distance - a beautiful walk or tram ride through the picturesque streets of Vienna.

With pleasure we also took note that you enjoyed the level of service and quality of accommodation. We sincerely hope that you visit us again maybe during spring or summer time when we provide our guests with bicycles in order to tour the city or drive along the beautiful Danube river which is located just a few streets away from the hotel.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Palais over Christmas. The rooms were superb, the service excellent. The Christmas Eve meal was delicious . The only thing that let the hotel down was the ambiance, no music or entertainment during the Christmas Eve meal and the lady DJ (?) in the lounge in the afternoon was very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus L, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback after your stay at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna.

With pleasure I have passed your comments to my team. I have also noted your comments regarding the entertainment aspect on Christmas Eve and during the afternoon of the 24 December, and we will address this during our festive season debrief meeting to ensure that we create an even more interesting and appealing Christmas offer for the 2014 festive season.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you soon again at Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna. We are convinced that next time we will be able to exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,
Markus Lueck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked this trip as we didn't want all the usual Christmas issues with family, it was an excellent relaxing stay arriving on 24 & departing on 27 Dec (3 nights).

Our room was very well appointed, situated in the centre of the building, very high ceilings & touch controls for the bath & wonderful shower. We also had breakfast included in the deal which was tip top standards. The bed was huge & very comfortable.

We enjoyed a special Christmas Eve dinner with wines which we very much enjoyed as well in the Edvard restaurant.

The staff were efficient and friendly, but we would like to say a special thank you to the following people who made our stay very special. Mareike at reception in the evenings of 24 & 25 who made us feel most welcome and was very efficient, thank you. To Jennifer in the mornings at reception who was very helpful & friendly assisting us with our queries and finally to Martin on the Concierge desk who recommended and booked 2 very good restaurants in the centre of the city for 25 late afternoon & 26 Dec evening and arranged a Mozart & Strauss concert on 26 Dec which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Yes, we would certainly go back and visit the Kempinski in Vienna again, thank you.

Room Tip: You can either be situated on the outer section or inner part, the rooms are very well soundproofed...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,478 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,716 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 361 in Vienna
1,094 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 361 in Vienna
1,295 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski

Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £260 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing