We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, questionable design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Kempinski Vienna is located in a beautiful 19th century building on the famous Ringstrasse. Having said this, it is somehow the wrong part of Ringstrasse, and shops, restaurants, theaters etc. are farther away than from Sacher or Imperial. On the other hand, Kempinski has a more residential and quiet feel than especially the very busy Sacher. Service is very good, breakfast is the best in Vienna. Beds, bed linen, pillows etc. are of the highest quality. I had a very quiet room (facing a rather dark and narrow inner courtyard). The overall fantastic impression was somehow spoilt by the design of the hotel (this is of course very personal and not objective at all). In my opinion, the place was cramped with artefacts and furniture of questionable taste. If they would remove 50% of the stuff, they would do more justice to the beautiful historic building. Good value compared to similar hotels in Vienna.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainerMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is perfection. This is the best place we can find to stay in a quiet and luxurious environment in an important city like Vienna. Everything is really perfect. Front desk officer, concierge, all assistants and staff, want only to help you to feel welcome in this wonderfull place. Our room is beautifull, the bathroom is great, the breakfast is just fantastic (better than the Ritz breakfast) and the Spa is a Signature heaven. From now, I think I will always check if there is a Kempinski Hotel in the cities I go. Congratulations!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PhilippeDouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked this hotel through the British Airways Vacations site, as they were having a Black Friday sale. Booked a junior suite. We arrived around 2 PM to the hotel and checked in, they upgraded us to a bigger suite. We got to the suite and it was AMAZING. So beautifully furnished!

The bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds my partner and I have ever slept on, as evidenced by the fact that we slept until 11 AM the next day. The bathroom was equally impressive, with *electronic* controls for the shower and separate bath.

The service was equally impressive, without being in your face like some hotels. When we touched the button to have the room made up, it was done when we would return, as if by magic.

Another item that stood out was the included breakfast. Most hotels this is an afterthought, but the spread here was really impressive. They still can't get fried eggs right in Europe though. Must be a culture thing.

We had one meal in their main restaurant, Edvard, and it was very nice and the service equally great.

If there was one thing that was just a minor con, it is that the hotel is not literally in the middle of things. To me this is preference, some people want to be next door and others don't mind a walk. We didn't mind the walk, and the tram system was easy to use and very frequent.

Will definitely stay here again if our travels bring us to Vienna!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you cannot find happiness during your stay here, stop looking. There isn't a better place, service, accommodation and location are perfect. The staff go above and beyond to meet expectations and make your stay feel personal. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, immaculate and peaceful. The breakfasts - well I think anyone would struggle to think of something they wanted for breakfast and not to find it here - truly wonderful. We stayed over New Year, my husband has coeliac disease and the kitchen baked fresh gluten free bread for him for breakfast every day - and it was lovely bread too. The technology in the rooms is wonderful, you just need to press a button to run the bath and choose the temperature - really easy, even for people who don't get technology, it's so straight forward. The beds are highly comfortable and the bed linen beautiful quality, our room was immaculate and kept so throughout our 5 day stay. You can request the room is made up at any time and once requested it was actioned very quickly.

The manager was generous in his attention to detail to ensure our stay was personal and perfect for us. Linda on the front desk was highly appropriate when dealing with a difficult taxi driver on our behalf and was lovely and Jens and concierge was well informed and if he didn't know something made a point of getting the information very speedily. Really lovely staff.

The hotel is newly converted and has been done beautifully and tastefully. Its location is great for walking to all of the major attractions and city centre and also to the underground if you need it.

Couldn't recommend enough in every way, I think it would be wonderful for business, couples, family, friends and solo - it has everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CashmereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Perfect in every sense, stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are “Wow!”, breakfast is to die for and the concierge service is impeccable. One of the best hotels in Europe for sure and not at a crazy price. In some reviews people mention that location is not great. This is just silly. It is a very pleasant 15-20 minute walk (or 5 min taxi ride) to all major attractions – the Palace, the Cathedral, the shopping and restaurant areas. And on top you avoid annoying crowds and traffic noise. Awesome hotel in one of the most beautiful, cleanest and safest cities in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitri_190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It has been updated and was super nice. We had a special package where our third night was free so we felt it was a good value overall. We stayed in a junior suite with an ipad to run everything and loved it. The sauna area is also very, very nice and the staff great. The only negative might be that despite being in the inner ring, it is a little bit further than we expected to the downtown sights. It was no problem for us because we like to walk and it helped us discover more of the town. But if you want to be right next to the museums, you will want a different hotel. Also, we never ate breakfast at the hotel as we thought the price (28 euro) was too high and found great breakfasts at other locations for a 1/3 of the cost. Overall, we would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our junior suite was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank incarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel over Christmas and it was brilliant.

We chose a deal that got us the third night free and stayed in a junior suite. Definitely the most modern hotel room I've ever stayed in.

Quality of service was exceptional and on par with other top luxury hotels around the world that we've stayed at.

On Christmas Eve we had the Christmas dinner at the hotel restaurant Die Kuche and it was delicious. Was great value with very attentive wait staff. They even had a self serve cookie buffet to take something away which was a nice touch.

Only slight downside was that we were given a twin bed when we requested a king, however, by combining the two beds we ended up with a very large bed which was perfectly fine.

The spa area is fine but nothing special. We didn't get any treatments but used the hydro pool and other facilities. It would be nice to be able to order a drink or light snack in the relaxation room but when I finally found someone (each time we were there, the area was completely deserted) and enquired about this, it seemed too hard (would need to pay in cash as it couldn't be linked back to our room but given we were in the pool we had no cash on us!)

Would definitely stay here again next time we are in Vienna!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,765 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 358 in Vienna
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski

Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £241 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing