We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sometimes a room is so beautiful that you keep noticing the small details and find pleasure in its thoughtful design.That was the experience of the Palais Hansen. The large and well executed design of the bathrooms, the capsule coffee maker, the Ipad at the beside, the high ceilings, the lobby with beautiful books. All in all, the experience at the Kempinski was a delight and the service staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomo753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Palais Hansen Kempinski
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Kempinski is great hotel.
Very good breakfast, on sunday morning an extra croissant is being served at your table.
Every morning you get a little shot of fruitjuice served with you coffee or tea of choice.
Nice room, with great bathroom, rainshower.
Very good cocktails in the bar.
Spacious beautiful lobby with the possibily of enjoying a High Tea.
A great overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettytwin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What an amazing experience this stay has turned out to be! The suite was spectacular. The space! The luxury! We had a 3 night stay at the hotel which was beyond comfortable. The service was brilliant. The hotel staff helped in every way - big and small. We needed an orthodontist on an emergency which happened with my child's braces and the hotel receptionists were more than helpful. They located a fantastic dentist within walking distance from the hotel, made the appointment and followed up at the end of they day with us on how the treatment went. They also recommended wonderful restaurants and helped us with reservations. The waitresses at the hotel restaurant were also most helpful. On our second night, we were in a rush for dinner before a concert, and they brought the food out ever so quickly. No task, no request, was too big or small.

Breakfast was amazing! The quality and variety are second to none! It was like breakfast heaven! Again, the service was first class! Every one of the staff was most helpful to all who were there.

The rooms are superbly clean. The turn down service in the evening refreshed all towels used, if any. Everything was spick and span.

The location of the hotel was good. It is a 2 minute walk to the subway and tram station and a little less than a 10 minute leisurely walk to Petersplat nd/or Stephensplatz. Being close to the subway/tram was very helpful.

Our maiden visits to Austria has been made so wonderful and so memorable because of the Kempinski.

For the different places we have visited, and the different hotels we have stayed, this has become our favourite! Thank you, Kempinski, for making the trip to Vienna so very special!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyn1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What can we say about this most wonderful hotel. The surroundings are exquisite, the staff are so helpful they totally go beyond their job remit. You must try the breakfast, which although a little pricey is worth every Euro. It even includes pink champagne. The housekeeping team were first class taking care of every request made regarding our room. I cannot wait to return, but it may not be until our anniversary next year!

Room Tip: we stayed in a junior suite which was amazing however the hotel is of such a high standard I cannot...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here in early June. The hotel is a beautiful, contemporary gem. Our suite featured large windows and well-placed mirrors, adding to the feeling of light, airy space. Best of all is the staff: everyone was exceptionally polite and friendly. Best of all was Daniel Wukovits, the Head Concierge, who handled our multiple requests with ease. I was so impressed, I gave him a TripAdvisor Excellent Service Award!

Both restaurants are wonderful (Edvard reviewed elsewhere) and room service was prompt and the food well prepared. This hotel compares favorably with the best in any large European or US city. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back. Very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachDave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel and my only complaint would be that I was not able to stay longer as it was wonderful. The staff are extremely helpful and knowlegable, the location is a short walk to many of the sights, loads of restaurants are nearby, my room was very comfortable and came with free wifi – a rarity in many 5 star hotels in Europe – , the breakfast was good and the overall experience was exceptional. I have never been to Vienna before and the staff at this hotel made me feel very welcome.

I would most certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is at the Northern part of the ring around the center of Vienna. It takes 10-15 minutes to walk to the Stephansplatz, so if you want to stay in the extreme center, then this isn't the hotel for you. We didn't mind as we enjoyed the walks through Vienna - and the proximity to the U-bahn station that made it easy to go to all of Vienna. I liked the quietness of the location and slept very well without being disturbed - better than I usually sleep at hotels; the bed was also very much to my taste.

We stayed in a deluxe room. It was spacious and had a nice and quiet style. The controls of everything from lights to AC were high-tech, but I felt that they were intuitive - easier to use than similar controls in other places. The bathroom is large and well laid out.

The lobby area felt relaxed and there were usually quite many patrons sitting there. The spa, pool and gym were also in good shape.

The breakfast was very, very good: Fresh fruits, fresh juice, home-made marmalade etc. It obviously took quite a lot of work to keep it in shape at all times, but I felt that the staff did a very good job, so in spite of us coming for breakfast at very different times, the breakfast always felt fresh. It is served in the same - very nice - dining room that later during the day is used by the restaurant Die Küche. We ate there a couple of times and were generally very satisfied with the food. The service was impeccable at all times.

All in all, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at, probably THE best. Kudos to the staff for making our stay so good!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back street have sun in the morning and I think that they are quieter than rooms fa...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunnar314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,478 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,716 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 361 in Vienna
1,094 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 361 in Vienna
1,295 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Hansen Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Hansen Kempinski

Address: Schottenring 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £259 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Hansen Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna - originally built as a hotel for the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873 - captivates the visitor with a historic building, modern architecture and contemporary luxury. It is a glamorous hot spot with 152 rooms & suites, 2 restaurants, 1 bar, a large spa and fitness area as well as conference rooms and one ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Hansen Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing