We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in a clean comfortable hotel”
Review of Ibis Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Wien City
Ranked #101 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A clean no frills hotel, although refurbishment work was going at the hotel, it did not really affect the standard of my stay, Hotel is a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station and only two stops from Central Vienna.
Breakfast was not sampled due to time restaints
Staff Very Professional & Courteous.

Room Tip: High Floor facing out towards the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdeneXplorer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter_Semler, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear EdeneXplorer6,

many thanks for your nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
I hope you will choose our hotels for your next trip as well.

Best Regards
Günter Semler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Miro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guenter_Semler, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2014

No frills, no great customer service, basis rooms, limited menu breakfast, competitive tariff. No surprise, and was as expected.

The location is decent, a short walk away from the metro station, not at the “door step” though as the hotel website mentioned. A couple of stations on either side takes one to the city centre or Schonbrunn Palace.

Mixed experience with the front office staff. The lady in the morning did not appear to be very helpful, while the gent at night shift was just the opposite and helped me with directions and airport taxi reservations with a smile.

Overall, as expected. Ok for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaideep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter_Semler, General Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Mr. Jaideep1,

many thanks for taking the time to tell us something about your experiences in our hotel.
I'm sorry that we where not able to create a very good feeling during your stay.
I hope you will give us the chance to make it better the next time.

Best Regards
Günter Semler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GunterS312, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The feeling you receive fromt he staff wasn't friendly at all, it was more painted then from any other hotel i've been to.
there is no safe in the room so you need to travel with all your goods on you. the hotel don't feel clean at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo_b846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunterS312, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Leo_b846,

many thanks for taking the time to write a feedback to your stay in the ibis Wien City.
I am very sorry that your expectation didn't meet your experience in our hotel.
What I can offer is: to talk to me befor your next stay in our hotel and I am sure that
we will find a solution as compensation.

I'm looking forward to hear from you!

Best Regards
Günter Semler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've stayed here several times when visiting Vienna for business or pleasure. I've always found it to be a well-run place, with hospitable staff and everything you'd expect from an Ibis - no frills, but everything you really need at a reasonable price. No fridge or safe in the rooms, but that's the same with all Ibis hotels. Breakfast is simple but adequate - the usual selection with a couple of hot options (scrambled eggs and sausages). As far as I can tell the hotel is completely non-smoking. The wifi (free of charge) has always worked fine when I've been there.

The location gives easy access by car, and there's a biggish underground garage (11 Euros a night). It's half way between two tube stops, about 10 mins walk from either. Although not exactly in the city centre, it's not far - just two or three tube stops or about a half-hour walk (the route takes you through the Naschmarkt food market, which is a proper foodie experience). It's also just a couple of stops from Schonbrunn palace, if you like that kind of thing. There are a couple of supermarkets nearby, plus a pleasant pub just a short walk away (heading towards the "Gurtel" ring road) and a few restaurants. The area seems safe enough - the nearby Gurtel has a reputation as a red light district, but it's only sleazy by Vienna standards, which means not actually very sleazy at all.

The rooms at the rear of the hotel are noisier because they face onto an overground section of the tube line and a very busy main road leading from central Vienna out into the suburbs. The street-facing rooms at the front are quieter. But having said that, if you keep the window closed you shouldn't be disturbed even at the rear side.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank VakOstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel in september on a 2 night transit trip. I loved the location of this hotel as it was close to the train station where the import bus has a drop-off and pick-up point. I had a 5 min walk to the hotel once i got off the bus, which was a big relief.

The prices for rooms were very competitive and the high street (shopping area) is also a 5 min walk from the hotel. I booked a day trip to bratislava and budapest and the tour operator had this hotel as one of their pick-up points, which was good.

overall, it was a great experience at the price i paid for my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunilBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 358 in Vienna
1,004 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#155 of 358 in Vienna
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hotel Lucia
#50 of 358 in Vienna
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wien City

Address: Schoenbrunnerstrasse | 92, Vienna 1050, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#88 Business Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Wien City 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let's roll! The ibis Wien City hotel is conveniently located between 2 subway stations. The city center, main train station, Schönbrunn Palace, Naschmarkt and the Theater an der Wien are within easy reach, as well as many other destinations in the city on the Danube. Ideal for city breaks, as well as for business trips and conferences. Park your car in the hotel garage for a fee. All 94 rooms at the reasonably priced City hotel in Vienna are contemporary and comfortable, with free WIFI. Mr Guenter SEMLER, the manager of the ibis Wien City hotel, would like to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wien Schoenbrunnerstrasse Hotel Vienna
Ibis Hotel Vienna
Ibis Hotel Wien Schoenbrunnerstrasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing