We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Wien City
Ranked #109 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Services /facilities provided by IBIS Vienna were excellent. The staff was also very cooperative & we enjoyed our stay at the hotel quite a lot. However, an incident after checking out of the hotel is what really was a dampener. On 17th July, my wife & I, both above 60 years checked out at 12 noon local time.We were walking on the footpath to catch the underground from Pilgrimage station which is about 500 meters from IBIS hotel. Few steps short of the underground, a young person claiming to be from Greece approached and asked for directions.In the mean time at the same spot two more men also appeared suddenly claiming to be policemen in plain clothes & asked us in an intimidating manner, as to what were we talking about. I mentioned that the young man was asking for directions. Both men appeared to be Europeans, were of good physique and height approximately 5 feet and 8 Inches. While we were already taken aback by the sudden tactics of these 2 men, they further insisted on showing them the money which we were carrying. They first asked the young <supposedly Greek> man, who had asked us for directions. They let that young man go after looking in his wallet as he was carrying very little money.Then they asked me and my wife to show our wallets.We both being tourists and also being unaware of local laws showed our wallet wherein I was carrying 450 British Pounds and a few Euros.One person picked the bunch of notes and asked was that the only money I was carrying and appeared to put the entire bunch back. He further said to immediately close the wallet and put it back in the pocket. He also advised not to talk to any strangers since that particular area was crime prone.Since we were in a hurry to catch the flight,it was only on reaching home that we realised that they had somehow managed to remove 300 GBP out of that bunch.
Hence writing the review so that other travelers should be aware about the scam & tactics being used by these thieves around this area. Travel safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arora246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter_Semler, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Arora246,

I am sorry about your experiences you had in our city - I hope you will keep the better moments in your mind.
Thank for the positive rating of our hotel.

Best regards
Günter Semler
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    442
    145
    16
    12
See reviews for
145
371
121
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

1.The room is clean and comfortable,and the equipments are almost new.
2.There is a supermarket(BILLA) nearby. You can walk to there in 5 mins.
3.You have to walk about 10-15 mins that you can arrive the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Eliza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunterS312, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor User Eliza N!

Many thanks for your nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
I hope you will choose ibis again for your next trip.

Best regards
Günter Semler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Its a decent budget hotel. They have a good restaurant in the ground floor offering breakfast choice at about € 11. The hotel is about 6-7 minutes walking distance from the WestBanholf station or you can also reach by tram which stops right in front of the hotel. A good place to stay if you are spending the whole day outside and are looking for a decent place to sleep.
Do not ask for rooms facing the main road. It is very noisy and the movement of vehicles is very high on that road.

Room Tip: Do not take any room facing the main road, its very very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuttarajAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunterS312, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor User PuttarajAG!

Many thanks for your nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
I hope you will choose ibis again for your next trip.

Best regards
Günter Semler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

First stay in an Ibis and pretty impressed. The decor in the hotel is pretty outdated but the rooms and the hotel itself are spotlessly clean. Our rooms were a decent size, in a quiet corridor and, while they lacked some 'extras' like a minibar, they were very comfortable and had everything you expect in a good budget hotel (good shower, comfy bed, air con, hairdryer etc). We had a nice breakfast in the hotel one morning and the staff were friendly and helpful by the standards of service in Vienna generally (good but a little abrupt!).

The location is pretty good, it is only a few stops or a 10 minute journey to the centre (Karlsplatz) and there are two u-bahn stations each about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. The area has some 'interesting' shops but felt completely safe and there are amenities like supermarkets, bakers, restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMarieOfRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guenter_Semler, Manager at Ibis Wien City, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear QueenMarieOfRomania,

many thanks for your very nice comments regarding your stay - I will forward it to my colleagues.
I hope you will book ibis again for your next trip.

Best regards
Günter Semler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
#137 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#161 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wien City

Property: Ibis Wien City
Address: Schoenbrunnerstrasse | 92, Vienna 1050, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#87 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#88 Business Hotel in Vienna
#94 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Wien City 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let's roll! The ibis Wien City hotel is conveniently located between 2 subway stations. The city center, main train station, Schönbrunn Palace, Naschmarkt and the Theater an der Wien are within easy reach, as well as many other destinations in the city on the Danube. Ideal for city breaks, as well as for business trips and conferences. Park your car in the hotel garage for a fee. All 94 rooms at the reasonably priced City hotel in Vienna are contemporary and comfortable, with free WIFI. Mr Guenter SEMLER, the manager of the ibis Wien City hotel, would like to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wien Schoenbrunnerstrasse Hotel Vienna
Ibis Hotel Vienna
Ibis Hotel Wien Schoenbrunnerstrasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing