We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi literally non-existant; no fridge and poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #47 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wifi literally non-existant; no fridge and poor service!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Clean, modern, friendly staff; conveniently located by the Hauptbahnhof U metro station with free bikes, sauna and a small gym. Wifi, although free was not working; clean towels not provided during the 3-day stay; impossible to order food after 10pm except for bread/toast. There was no fridge or iron in the basic hotel room. The waiters had to be reminded of the orders taken; on one occasion; the order was completely omitted (forgotten); something that should never happen. Breakfast was rather bland and simple.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kitkat,
thanks for your honest review. We are sorry that your were not totally satisfied of your Zeitgeist-Trip. We are working hard on a better WiFi connection, although most of our guests mention it positive.
We have no room with minibar, but we offer a fridge for every room for a little charge of EUR 7,77 per week.
We always try to offer perfect service, so we take your feedback as an example for our next staff-trainings.
Thanks a lot and we hope to welcome you again very soon! Best regards, your Zeitgeist-Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    454
    95
    17
    5
See reviews for
170
436
107
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zilina, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Clean and modern rooms, friendly staff. The hotel was close to metro - under the "Hauptbahnhof". - 3 stations from Stephansplatz so it was very easy to find. Hotel has his own parking garage (14€night - good price in comparison with other Vienna hotels). In overall I was satisfied.
The price for the double room was good too.
Only one negative thing is that the area all around is in construction but after the work will be done this will be very nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Enjoyed our visit very much. Very friendly staff, clean and great location. Excellent breakfast choices. Loved to relax outside after a busy day siteseeing in Vienna. Also has a inviting indoor space to have a drink and snack while watching TV. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent a week here on business and had no complaints. The hotel is very close to Subtirolerplatz station, which is becoming the new Vienna Haupbahnhoff, so will be more convenient still in future. Because of the station rebuild there is construction all over the area, so don't be surprised by that, although it doesn't impact the hotel itself.
The hotel is deceptively large, occupying almost the entire block above the first couple of floors and was very busy, but that said it was efficient, there is a decent bar which does snacks, a gym, sauna and underground car park. Area is ok, but a few stops from tourist centre on U1 line, with handy supermarket next door.
Usual continental breakfast, which was 12.5 euros possibly a bit dear, but not ridiculous. Rooms nice enough, if not large, modern and with good air conditioning.
Overall I liked the hotel, it was fine and a steady 4 out of five on all counts

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Andrew,
thanks for your good review. We are always happy, if we are able to enthuse our guests. We also need such reviews for our intern motivation and therefore we will send your text also to all our departements.
Thanks a lot and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon! Best regards, your Zeitgeist-Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location is in an industrial area. There is a short walk to the metro, which is nice. The breakfast was good. However, I cannot give this more than 3 stars because the air conditioning in my room did not work. I called down to the front desk several times to ask for help and the front desk told me to just keep turning it down lower. Turning it down lower does not work when the air conditioning is blowing out hot air. This was unacceptable to me, and I did not sleep well my entire stay. The customer service was non-existent and I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you like sleeping in a hot uncomfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRocks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mel,
thanks for your detailed and honest feedback. A short time ago we had big troubles with the power authorities of the whole district. In case of these problems we had no cold water and caused on this also no climate control in the hotel for nearly 24 hours. I guess this was exactly the time of your stay.
We are very sorry for that and normally our team has to explain this troubles to you. Our guests use the air con every day and are very happy with it.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and promise that we will have a cool room for you. Best regards, your Zeitgeist-Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

No doubt this is nice address to stay whatever you have to do in Vienna.... just for a short night if you´re for business in the city or for pleasure

There is a warm welcome if you enter the new hotel pretty close to the train station Hauptbahnhof (will operate after Septembre)
Style of the lobby and the bar is reduced / slim and quit modern with a hint of a cool flair, outside in font you have a small garden which is nice especially after a long day in the city - space to relax a bit

The rooms are perfect clean nice and ready to enjoy a nice stay

Help yourself at a nice buffet breakfast - erverything you expect on a western breakfast
if you need anything else they help immediately.....

It was a perfect place and I can reccoment that to anybody who is looking for a 4**** Hotel in this area.

Room Tip: If you prefer to stay silent take a room in the backyard..... with the underground just a few minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernd_frey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Bernd,
thanks for your detailed and very positve review. We are very proud of each of our satisfied guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon!
Best regards, Your Zeitgeist-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not intentionally I stayed in this almost brand new hotel. I was stranded at vienna airport and the airline booked me into this hotel as my onward flight was rescheduled for the next day.
I saw previously adds of the hotel and was already curious about this place. It is quite new and therefore no complaints on the standards (very big and bright modern TV), clean bathroom, everything is well in shape, spotless clean - as you would expect it of any new hotel of high standard. The design is modern with the downside it could be in any city of the world, with no distinct reflection of Vienna - but, that could be said by now about most new hotels. So, nothing to complain - in contrast very modern, very nice.

The staff was very attentive and friendly, and they were able to handle the unexpected 120 or so fellow guests in a very professional manner. I had the pleasure of dinning there (as part of the airline compensation), however I think this experience can't be representative (at least I hope). I got the feeling of a 5€ dinner, but the wine was good (Austrian of course). The bar/restaurant are has a young and modern feeling, and I could imagine going there to have a beer or so, while staying in the hotel.
The breakfast area is on the second floor (not as on the ground floor as the bar/dining area) and it has more the feeling of a canteen than a cosy breakfast area. But everything that was served was of high standard, but nothing outstanding (no signature dish or so).

The area around the hotel is close to the new main train station in vienna, so there is a couple of building activities going on. They are not close to the hotel and no one would be disturbed by them while in the hotel, but they are in the area of the hotel. I guess once this area is fully developed it will become a hotspot. Right now I wouldn't go back to the hotel as it is a bit off from public transport if I intend to stay in Vienna privately (which presumably improve again once the area is fully built up).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFH75x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#34 of 361 in Vienna
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#187 of 361 in Vienna
678 reviews
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 361 in Vienna
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof

Property: Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof
Address: Sonnwendgasse 15, Vienna 1100, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zeitgeist Vienna is a 4-star hotel and offers state of the art equipment. Located only 300m from the central station, one can reach Zeitgeist Vienna easily through public transport (U-Bahn U1, S-Bahn) by car or by bike. The airport is only 15 minutes away and the hotel provides parking spaces. All rooms are air-conditioned and include highspeed WIFI. Zeitgeist guests have the opportunity to use the sauna, fitness room and bikes for free. The Chill- & Workout-Area in the green courtyard as well as the Restaurant-Café-Bar 'Pergola' will inspire you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing