We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of Nihonbashi

Nihonbashi
Ranked #136 of 4,144 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

A great taste of Japan! The service was prompt, the waitress atentive, loved the authentic japanese touches. The food was delicious, the eel heavenly!

Helpful?
6 Thank Ncorlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    79
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It is on a silent part of Kaerntner Street near the Opera House, looking small from the outside but quite big when you are inside. The designer paid a lot of attention to the details, down to traditional Japanese music and original chinaware. There is even a room with Japanese tables and private rooms like in Japan. The food is completely authentic: You can really taste the different mirin, soy sauces and kombu. The fish are fresh and melt in the mouth. The tea selection is also very good. Drinks are special too: There are many sake, Japanese whiskeys and Japanese beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Yumi0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very delicious traditional Japanese”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I happened to visit this Japanese restaurant after the opera. It is only 3 minutes walk way. I just wanted some light food at night. I had a small sashimi variation of salmon, tuna, scallop and crab. When the plate was presented, the arrangement of the food impressed me! Also the color of the fish looked very fresh. The taste was indeed fresh, soft and juicy! I had the sake Hakkaisan, recommended by the owner of the restaurant. Because there were not many customers, I had a little chat with the owner, who told me Hakkaisan was from his hometown and some stories about the sake. This sake was an excellent match with my sashimi! It was a delightful evening in Vienna.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite sushi”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We happened to visit Nihonbashi last week and I have to say that our visit was complete success - the service, the food, the sake - everything was just exquisite! Probably the best sushi in the region, and I'm meaning here not only Vienna, but also the whole Czech republic! If you have a chance to visit Vienna, do not forget to pay visit also Nihonbashi - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very large selection of sushi and warm dishes, there is enough for at least 20 visits. Every single one is very fresh and authentic. The service is all Japanese, very young but professional and extremely friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Noora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nihonbashi also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Nihonbashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing