We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #2 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the perfect spot!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

"the GUEST HOUSE VIENNA's calm contemporary interiors spark an immediate feeling of relaxation.. efficient friendly service to help you guide you to the best spots in town, luxurious lodgings and great food.. not forgetting the hotels in house bakery which serves up delicious breads and brownies! ... ace"

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowcab09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear yellowcab09,

thank you very much for choosing The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent stay in our beautiful
city! We are truly happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us! Thank you so much for the
great feedback, which we will of course share with our entire team!
We hope to welcoming you again soon and remain with kindest regards!
Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    82
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
109
487
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Österreich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had breakfast here on a Saturday morning. All in all it was a terrible visit. First of all what they described as croissants definitely was not a croissant. It was flat greasy and and not sweet at all. The waiter brought us the wrong dishes two times and actually the head waitress was really pretentious. The kornspitz was dry and they did not even manage to cut bread properly so it came in slices ranging from as tick as a thumb to wafer thin. Eggs Benedict were ok but they didn't manage to get it wright so it was cooked through in the middle. All in all it was 65 euros for three people which is absolutely scandalous considering the bad quality offered here.

I would not recommend anyone to go here. It is not worth they money!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear David F!

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your impressions with the Tripadvisor Community! We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your breakfast at all here at The Guesthouse! Please accept our sincere apologies! Comments like yours are very important for us to improve in terms of service and performance and therefor we would please ask you to contact us under gabi@theguesthouse.at or 5121320-13! We really hope that you will give us the chance to talk about this personally to find out what happened!
Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
With kindest regards
Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really liked our stay in The Guesthouse. It actually ticks all the boxes: perfect central location, reall nice and properly sized rooms, good design which is focused on comfort and very friendly and professional staff. We liked the "reading lounge" on the window and the wine cooler with a few bottles of wine which were included in the room rate. Fast and free internet.

The hotel restaurant has a small but really good menu. We tried it for both breakfast and dinner and it is recommendable, even you dont stay at the hotel. The only thing we missed in the common area was a kind of "living room".

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: our room 602 had a good view towards the Albertina and Opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Marco_Polo_73!

Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer!
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again!

With kindest regards
Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel has just opened and it seems that not everything is fully completed. There is not even a sign with the hotel name on the building, and one might easily miss it. However, it does seem to be fully operational.
Property has a very welcoming and relaxed feel to it. It reminded me very much of some hip student dormitory, though extremely luxurious one. I was staying in a room facing Albertina and State opera, which was relatively large, very nicely designed, in a low key Scandinavian style, with high quality materials, and lovely wooden floors. There is a nice sitting area, with an additional window niche, which makes for a lovely experience when reading a book while sitting over the street (included is a nice selection of both german and english books). There is B&O TV which is a nice touch, coffee machine (with coffee beans not capsules) and a (partially) free mini bar (including free red and white wine). There is also free wifi for guest use. Bathroom is very large, with both bath tub and walk-in shower, separated from the room with a large iced glass wall (translucent, but not transparent) - which might not be of everyone's liking.
I've found pillows to be very soft, and hope that the hotel will offer some sort of a pillow menu in the future.
Lobby is very small, though receptionists were very friendly, helpful and efficient. There is however a large restaurant/coffee house on the ground floor adjacent to entrance/lobby area which serves breakfast and some limited food the whole day around. Haven't managed to try it out, but from design point of view, it looks really amazing.
Location of the hotel just can't be better. It's right behind the opera house, next to Albertina, few steps away from the main pedestrian area, and major metro station is just few meters away. It's absolutely perfect location for visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dBogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear dBogda!

On behalf of the entire team from The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna! We are very happy that we could fullfill all your expecations in terms of design, location and service! Great to hear that you also took some time to enjoy the wonderful lounge window to relax a bit! Next time you definitely have to try our brasserie & bakery with fresh baked bread and goods!

So we hope to welcoming and spoil you soon again as our guest!
with kindest regards from Vienna
Gabi Rosner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Property: The Guesthouse Vienna
Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing