We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service, design: Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #9 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a great boutique hotel!! We have enjoyed every single aspect of our stay at the Guesthouse: we booked a deluxe opera view room: it was spacious, beautiful and very comfortable, and what an amazing idea these sofa/window panes: you can really enjoy the view, and what a view, right on the opera!
There was coffee, tea, and even wine and soft drinks in the minibar were included in the rate; nice touch and quite unusual! The service was excellent, friendly and helpful, and everything, from check-in to check-out went smoothly.
The breakfast was dangerously delicious (they have their own bakery!!) and we also loved our dinner at the brasserie: romantic atmosphere and lovely.
It would be very difficult to find anything to fault, our stay was really fantastic and we are already looking forward to coming back: really, congratulations to Sir Terence Conran for such wonderful design and also to Mr. Manfred Stallmajer and his team for such a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroledeDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear DroledeDame!

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review about The Guesthouse Vienna! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time with us and that we could fulfil all your expectations! Of course we will share your kind words with the entire staff and hope to be your home away from home again the next time you visit Vienna!
with kindest regards
Your team from The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

The best thing first: the location! Close to the Opera, all the (luxury) shopping streets and the key sights in the inner city. And at prices which are (at least right now) very attractive for a hotel in this area and that level.
The rooms are well designed/laid out and offer enough space to put your clothes away, which is not often found in these designer boutique hotels! The breakfast choices are priced similar to one at a typical Viennese coffee-shop so you won't break the bank by breakfasting in. Some of the drinks in the mini-bar (like beer, water) are “free” (you paid for them in the room price...). Plus you get free Wi-Fi.
The worst: the door closures slam the room doors loudly shut, so you will always know when your neighbors come back or are leaving...
If they would fix this and add a waste-basket in the room and reverse the hanging order of the lace and black-out curtains this could become a real gem!

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor so the tourists don't watch you changing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Mjn!

Thank you so much for having chosen The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent stay
in our beautiful city Vienna!
We are truly happy that we could fulfil your expectations in terms of location, design
of the room and services we offer.
Please accept our sincere apologies that the banging doors disrupt your nights sleep!
We have discussed this matter with our general manager and as well with the project management. As our room doors are fire protection doors, they have to be self closing from an angle of 30°. So unfortunately we cannot change this in order to the fire safety law.

As we always want to provide the best products to our guests it was truly not easy to find the perfect pin for the rooms! So we have ordered special leather pins from a company in England. Unfortunately they were not in stock, so the delivery was delayed. We are very sorry about this circumstance, but they are on the way!
The comments of our guests are always extremly valuable and important to us to improve our services! So the hanging of the curtains was of course also a topic to discuss with the management. The thought behind it is the following: the lace should hang inside the room, as it is of course more beautiful than the black out curtain and so should make our guests feel homey!

We would really like to thank you again for your detailed feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon as our guest! Please don´t hesitate to contact me for your future reservations, I will be more than pleased to take care of them personally!

With kindest regards
Gabi Rosner
gabi@theguesthouse.at

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a wonderful time in this modern stylish hotel. If you are a looking for a romantic break you couldn't choose a better hotel in such a fabulous location. Excellent facilities with friendly helpful staff.
Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend

Room Tip: I would think the rooms on facing the opera are the optimum choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Aceheart!
It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us! We really hope to welcoming and spoil you again soon as our guests and remain with sunny regards from Vienna
Your Guesthouse Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Brand new hotel,modern furnitures.Polite and helpful staff.Nice baker.Free coffee, wine and water in theb room.Great location, most of the museums and other sight-seeings within walking distance.Subway nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ermina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Ermina13!
On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
We hope to welcoming you again soon as our guest!
Have a great weekend and kindest regards
The Guesthouse Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A perfect location at the right spot in the heart of Vienna. The reception is warm and polite. Good portier service, car parking , luggage etc. try to get a room high .perfect would be 6. or 7 th floor.
The room is tasteful designed. Good colors.what a surprise it was to get as a present every day good wine (Red and White), for free. Thanks to the wine lobby in Austria.
Also a small but important point is, that the mini bar is free ,except hard drinks.
Housekeeping is excellent. The restaurant is solid and sound. Service is very polite and charming.
Especially the concierge Mr. Hosan made the stay special. THE GUESTHOUSE is my favorite place to stay, when in Vienna!

Room Tip: High ,7 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Puffinman!

Thank you so much for having chosen The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent visit in our amazing city .It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us!

I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.

Merry Christmas and kindest regards
Your Team from The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was a close to perfect experience – until breakfast. It goes to show that you can have the most beautiful building and hardware, but if service is uncaring or ignorant, all of this does not matter. But let’s start at the beginning.

Booked on the hotels website, very straight forward, very easy to book – took the option of a superior room for 280 Euros. I contacted the hotel before the stay about an early check-in and a late check-out, response came immediately – they would accommodate the early check-in free of charge and charge an additional 50 Euro for a 4pm check-out on Saturday afternoon. Slightly questionable, but that’s the way it is.

Very friendly, personable welcome at the hotel which is open since October; loved the room – decent size, good quality furniture, B&O television, Jurva coffee machine with real beans, wine fridge (wine and soft drinks in the minibar are free), nice bathroom with rain-shower head and Molton Brown amenities – plus a local soap which was a nice touch. The room looked out on to Opera and Albertina and the hotel had turned one of the bay-windows into a reading corner – really nice and almost residential. Loved it – so far, so great!

Unfortunately, the love was pretty much damaged during breakfast. The hotel operates a ‘bakery’ that is also available for non-residents and does not offer the classic hotel breakfast buffet, but serves all items a la carte – actually something that I liked but wondered before how they are going to do that when it gets busy. When I arrived the restaurant was empty but all ‘good’ seats (at windows, sofas, etc) where reserved – after some searching I found one table next to the kitchen entrance that was not (all the reserved tables were still empty by the time I left, but I got to 'enjoy' the sounds of the kitchen ...). It took a while for the service to get the breakfast items together, which was probably because they were busy chatting with each other behind the bar about having been out last night – or the fact that they had only nice croissants for the breakfast service in the morning - there is something to be said for having some items available buffet style so that a guest does not have to wait for the service.
The scrambled eggs that I ordered arrived with spinach on top, which had turned the whole dish more into egg-soup – not really to be eaten with pleasure – nobody noticed that I did not eat it though because after the server had left the breakfast items on the table, there was no further interaction until I asked for the bill. Have to say in fairness that the cold cuts and the bread where of good quality (although I did find a bread selection without a Viennese "Kipferl" a bit strange) but the absence of any service interaction or care was really disappointing – the whole experience set met back 16 Euro – much less than breakfast buffet in most Viennese hotels, but this was not about the money - it was just a sad experience and it set my rating of this hotels back by two points.

I get that the hotel is open only for about 5 weeks, but they are already charging 'regular' prices, so for me, there is no room for impressions like this.

Room Tip: try to get higher floor rooms for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Oliver H,

Thank you so very much for your detailed review about your recent stay at The Guesthouse Vienna!
It was very nice to hear that we could at least fulfill your expectations in terms of design and interior of the building as well as the guest rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the incidents at breakfast, this is for sure not correct! And therefore we are very happy that after the phone conversation with Mr. Stallmajer you will give us the chance to show you that this is for sure not our standard! On all accounts we appreciate it very much that you have taken your time to write this comment! It is very important for us to improve the quality of our services!
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
With kindest regards
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

"the GUEST HOUSE VIENNA's calm contemporary interiors spark an immediate feeling of relaxation.. efficient friendly service to help you guide you to the best spots in town, luxurious lodgings and great food.. not forgetting the hotels in house bakery which serves up delicious breads and brownies! ... ace"

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowcab09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear yellowcab09,

thank you very much for choosing The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent stay in our beautiful
city! We are truly happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us! Thank you so much for the
great feedback, which we will of course share with our entire team!
We hope to welcoming you again soon and remain with kindest regards!
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,553 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 359 in Vienna
1,226 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,888 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £186 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing