We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #7 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Vienna's best buy, in this moment. Great central location, nice view on the opera, spacious rooms, free bar with a couple of fine wines. It's not cheap, but it's cheaper than similar hotels in Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear MatijaBabic!

We are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the full and that we
could fulfill all your expecations! Hope to welcoming you again soon as guests of our house!

Kindest regards from Vienna
Your Guesthouse Vienna Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fantastic hotel. In wonderful central position, very close to all important places of interest to visit.
Very quiet, wonderful service. Incredibly clean. Slept incredibly well. No banging doors or strange noises.
Wonderful window seat in our bedroom looking over Opera House. V good value for money.
Incredibly helpful staff and quick service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on 6th floor overlooking the Opera. Incredibly good view but totally quiet. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear sarah k!
It is indeed more than a pleasure to read such a wonderful review, thank you so much!
Be sure that your kind comments will be forwarded to our entire team - this is the best motivation ever! Hopefully you will be our guest soon again!
Kindest regards from the team of The Guesthouse Vienna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a great boutique hotel!! We have enjoyed every single aspect of our stay at the Guesthouse: we booked a deluxe opera view room: it was spacious, beautiful and very comfortable, and what an amazing idea these sofa/window panes: you can really enjoy the view, and what a view, right on the opera!
There was coffee, tea, and even wine and soft drinks in the minibar were included in the rate; nice touch and quite unusual! The service was excellent, friendly and helpful, and everything, from check-in to check-out went smoothly.
The breakfast was dangerously delicious (they have their own bakery!!) and we also loved our dinner at the brasserie: romantic atmosphere and lovely.
It would be very difficult to find anything to fault, our stay was really fantastic and we are already looking forward to coming back: really, congratulations to Sir Terence Conran for such wonderful design and also to Mr. Manfred Stallmajer and his team for such a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroledeDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear DroledeDame!

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review about The Guesthouse Vienna! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time with us and that we could fulfil all your expectations! Of course we will share your kind words with the entire staff and hope to be your home away from home again the next time you visit Vienna!
with kindest regards
Your team from The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The best thing first: the location! Close to the Opera, all the (luxury) shopping streets and the key sights in the inner city. And at prices which are (at least right now) very attractive for a hotel in this area and that level.
The rooms are well designed/laid out and offer enough space to put your clothes away, which is not often found in these designer boutique hotels! The breakfast choices are priced similar to one at a typical Viennese coffee-shop so you won't break the bank by breakfasting in. Some of the drinks in the mini-bar (like beer, water) are “free” (you paid for them in the room price...). Plus you get free Wi-Fi.
The worst: the door closures slam the room doors loudly shut, so you will always know when your neighbors come back or are leaving...
If they would fix this and add a waste-basket in the room and reverse the hanging order of the lace and black-out curtains this could become a real gem!

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor so the tourists don't watch you changing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Mjn!

Thank you so much for having chosen The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent stay
in our beautiful city Vienna!
We are truly happy that we could fulfil your expectations in terms of location, design
of the room and services we offer.
Please accept our sincere apologies that the banging doors disrupt your nights sleep!
We have discussed this matter with our general manager and as well with the project management. As our room doors are fire protection doors, they have to be self closing from an angle of 30°. So unfortunately we cannot change this in order to the fire safety law.

As we always want to provide the best products to our guests it was truly not easy to find the perfect pin for the rooms! So we have ordered special leather pins from a company in England. Unfortunately they were not in stock, so the delivery was delayed. We are very sorry about this circumstance, but they are on the way!
The comments of our guests are always extremly valuable and important to us to improve our services! So the hanging of the curtains was of course also a topic to discuss with the management. The thought behind it is the following: the lace should hang inside the room, as it is of course more beautiful than the black out curtain and so should make our guests feel homey!

We would really like to thank you again for your detailed feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon as our guest! Please don´t hesitate to contact me for your future reservations, I will be more than pleased to take care of them personally!

With kindest regards
Gabi Rosner
gabi@theguesthouse.at

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a wonderful time in this modern stylish hotel. If you are a looking for a romantic break you couldn't choose a better hotel in such a fabulous location. Excellent facilities with friendly helpful staff.
Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend

Room Tip: I would think the rooms on facing the opera are the optimum choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Aceheart!
It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us! We really hope to welcoming and spoil you again soon as our guests and remain with sunny regards from Vienna
Your Guesthouse Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Brand new hotel,modern furnitures.Polite and helpful staff.Nice baker.Free coffee, wine and water in theb room.Great location, most of the museums and other sight-seeings within walking distance.Subway nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ermina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Ermina13!
On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
We hope to welcoming you again soon as our guest!
Have a great weekend and kindest regards
The Guesthouse Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A perfect location at the right spot in the heart of Vienna. The reception is warm and polite. Good portier service, car parking , luggage etc. try to get a room high .perfect would be 6. or 7 th floor.
The room is tasteful designed. Good colors.what a surprise it was to get as a present every day good wine (Red and White), for free. Thanks to the wine lobby in Austria.
Also a small but important point is, that the mini bar is free ,except hard drinks.
Housekeeping is excellent. The restaurant is solid and sound. Service is very polite and charming.
Especially the concierge Mr. Hosan made the stay special. THE GUESTHOUSE is my favorite place to stay, when in Vienna!

Room Tip: High ,7 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Puffinman!

Thank you so much for having chosen The Guesthouse Vienna for your recent visit in our amazing city .It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us!

I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.

Merry Christmas and kindest regards
Your Team from The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,582 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,830 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#5 of 359 in Vienna
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £188 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing