We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guesthouse Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #2 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have been there in March 2014 only for three days, and let's say unfortunately! The location of the Guest House is perfect, you are closed to the center and commodities! And even there, it is really quiet!
You get there a piece of home, and paradise! The staff is taking care of you from your arrival to your departure.
A really warm welcoming and little attentions which make a big difference! Like for example the coffee machine in your room and all non alchoolic drinks for free!
Rooms are perfectly cleaned, more than confortable with a nice design and nice smell ( that you can last with a spray of essential oil which is in the room) Without not forgetting you brain food each morning delivered at your door!
I had there a peacefull time and recommand to everyone to go there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Marine T!
It is indeed a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us! We truly hope to welcoming you back soon as our guest!
sunny regards from Vienna
Your Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    75
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
98
448
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

As a couple we had a fantastic time in Vienna and the hotel just made it perfect!! Staff extremely friendly and gave us great advice where to go and how to get there....always smiling and made sure to greet us every time we left the hotel and on our way back in. Response time was also outstanding if we needed anything. The food at their cafe/restaurant was delicious! Located int he heart of the city center which was extremely convenient. Although I would not recommend the hotel for families as the showers are frosted glass and do not give much privacy.....otherwise the hotel is impeccable!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diala24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Diala24!

We feel very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our service and the way our team treated you! Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us! Come back soon!
Kindest regards from Vienna
Your Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

They are unable to offer twin beds and as my friend did not wish to share a bed, even though there were two duvets, the staff kindly supplied a roll-away bed and willingly re-arranged the room. Not so comfortable for the person who has to use it. There is occluded glass on the bathroom door but you can still see the body in the shower. On the plus side a very attractive room in an excellent location. Very pleasant and helpful staff, free drinks in the room except for spirits. A fresh coffee machine in the room and staff happy to bring hot water for teas which arrived very quickly.

Room Tip: Window seats at the front to look out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabethdavis63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear elizabethdavis63!

On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
We are sorry that we do not offer twin bedded rooms in the hotel, but we are always pleased to put an extrabed into the room free of charge. This extrabeds are brandnew and comfortable with one big matress. Great that you have enjoyed our guestrooms and the central location of The Guesthouse Vienna! We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again!
Kindest regards from the entire team of The Guesthous Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Guest House; a very misleading name for this boutique hotel. This is a hip, Sir Terence Conran designed hotel, nestled in the 1st district by the opera and the Albertina Museum. If you prefer the stately Hotel Sacher or Imperial, this is definitely not your cup of tea.
We felt like we were sitting in our living room, as we enjoyed a glass a glass of wine and admiring the view. I should mention the wines, beer and non-alchoholic drinks in your mini-bar are complimentary. Plus the espresso machine in the room makes getting up a little easier.
I’ve stayed these at types of hotels, where the staff is all wearing black, and sometimes takes on “too cool” of an attitude towards guests that borders on condescension.
Not here. And one example; I didn’t bring my laptop on this trip. I asked one of the young ladies manning the front podium, where I could find an internet café. She promptly handed over her laptop, and said; “go ahead and use mine”. She then worked on her colleague’s until I was finished.
Another subtle touch is the small spray vial on your bedside. You spritz your pillow, which gives off a pleasant aroma of citrus peel and oils, all organic, and designed to promote a restful evening. I don’t know if it was the spray or the 2 glasses of Gruner Veltliner, but I slept soundly.
The weather was bad one evening, so we opted to have dinner at the brasserie, which was terrific. It was a very innovative menu, although with a nod to traditional Viennese specialties. We noticed they even have their own bakery on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the opera
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonMike84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear OregonMike84!
Thank you so much for your superb review! We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at The Guesthouse Vienna!
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest and come back soon"!
Kindest regards your Team from The Guesthouse Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I would strongly recommend this establishment for the demanding visitor who appreciates design, discretion, and an eye for detail. The staff went out of their way to be helpful at this lovely place nestled at the heart of Vienna, making my stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Alison M!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees! Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest” and come back soon!

Kindest regards from the Guesthouse Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Vienna's best buy, in this moment. Great central location, nice view on the opera, spacious rooms, free bar with a couple of fine wines. It's not cheap, but it's cheaper than similar hotels in Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear MatijaBabic!

We are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the full and that we
could fulfill all your expecations! Hope to welcoming you again soon as guests of our house!

Kindest regards from Vienna
Your Guesthouse Vienna Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fantastic hotel. In wonderful central position, very close to all important places of interest to visit.
Very quiet, wonderful service. Incredibly clean. Slept incredibly well. No banging doors or strange noises.
Wonderful window seat in our bedroom looking over Opera House. V good value for money.
Incredibly helpful staff and quick service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on 6th floor overlooking the Opera. Incredibly good view but totally quiet. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear sarah k!
It is indeed more than a pleasure to read such a wonderful review, thank you so much!
Be sure that your kind comments will be forwarded to our entire team - this is the best motivation ever! Hopefully you will be our guest soon again!
Kindest regards from the team of The Guesthouse Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Property: The Guesthouse Vienna
Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing