We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Guesthouse Vienna
Ranked #9 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent, at the center of every sightseeing spot. It is between two major metro lines U3 and U4, very convince. The room is clean and bright, the bed is comfy! The service is good as well.
There is 2GB limit for the free wifi, we just stayed for 1 night, so it's enough for us.
If the room rate includes breakfast, it would be perfect. They have their own bakery and the bread is very good!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linlinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Linlinch!

It makes me proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees. Indeed the location of our house is one of the best in town! Indeed it is not so usual that a hotel has it´s own bakery - so it´s great to hear that we did a good job!
We hope to welcoming you again soon here with us!
Kindest regards from the team from The Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The best two things about this hotel is the guest services and the quality. The hotel is a very modern design hotel in the middle of Vienna. All the tourist attractions are very close and at walking distance. The rooms are modern, very clean and very well thought out. B&O TV, complimentary wine and beverages in the room, expresso machine, Molton Brown accessories. Pretty cool all around.

The only thing i would improve on, are the shades, they don't completely close in order to have a pitch dark room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ange588!

Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service, design and amenities we offer. Hopefully you come back soon so that we can spoil you again!
Kindest regards from The Guesthouse Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Minutes away from Karlsplatz underground, the Staatsoper, the famous Naschmarkt market, Stefansdom cathedral and the superb Albertina museum, this is a fabulous hotel to stay for any opera, art and food lover, because all the sights and attractions are in easy reach, by foot or public transport.. Its excellent location is only one reason to stay here. The Guesthouse spoils you for other hotels, as guests are treated with amazing generosity. Four complimentary bottles of wine - two red, two white - are left every day. There is a coffee machine with real coffee beans and if you prefer tea, simply ring for hot water and make your own with several varieties provided, including herb- and Earl Grey. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom and shower a joy to use and toiletries are superb quality. There is ample storage and clothes-hanging space, which is important if you are staying a few days and plan several opera trips. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. If we ever come back to Vienna, this hotel will be our first choice.

Room Tip: We picked a room with a view of the opera and Albertina museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renske M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Renske M!

On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
Indeed our location is the very best you can have in Vienna and all the major sights are easy accessable by walking. Your kind note has been shared with the entire team and we all hope to welcome you back soon!
sunny regards
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We really were pleased with the Guesthouse. The location is terrific -- a stone's throw from the Albertina, Opera and the Museum Quarter with excellent access to public transportation. The rooms themselves were well thought out with excellent toiletries, comfortable beds, free wifi, complementary wine, water and juice in the fridge, a fantastic coffee machine and a well curated collection of books (I read the room copy of The Third Man). The restaurant breakfast was reasonable and quite good. I must also commend a most superior staff. Everyone was incredibly kind and helpful. A special shoutout to our waiter Jaro who is just amazing. He as a wonderful example of Viennese hospitality whose friendliness and competence made our time at the Guesthouse memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear AnnS!

Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer! Great that you have enjoyed your stay and I will I will make sure to personally thank Jaro for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna!
We hope to welcoming you back soon as guests of our house!
sunny regards from Vienna
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We choose this hotel solely based on Tripadviser feedback and we were certainly not disappointed. The Hotel is located not too far at all from Viennna's main attraction (Stephanplatz) and the very traveller friendly underground train network. The shopping area (no cars permitted) is a stone's throw away and the link to the hop on/off busses are very close. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom has both a bath and shower (good water pressure). A home away from home. The breakfast, while not included, was great - al la carte, not too expensive at all. The service was great - both in the breakfast area and reception. Loved it and would recommend to all. Privacy could have been an issue but all you have to do is draw the blinds :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Perth_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear rvmPerth_Australia!

On behalf of the entire team here at The Guesthouse Vienna I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna. We are happy that you have enjoyed the great location! Thanks also for mentioning our service as this is the most important to us. It's the personal service we offer that makes the difference to others.
We truly hope to welcoming you back soon! Please don´t hesitate to contact me and I will be more than pleased to take care of your reservations personally!
sunny regards from Vienna
Gabi Rosner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Modern, friendly, really helpful, location right opposite the Albertina. Chic rooms at reasonable price. Only problem was the coffee machine was just too clever for me. And it's true about the free wine!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear NigelP!

Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at The Guesthouse Vienna!

I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.

with sunny regards from the entire Team of The Guesthouse Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Everything about this place is great.
Location, bakery, rooms, staff, free mini bar !!!!!
Go somewhere else at your peril.
This place is amazing !! It is boutique and has a warmth that the bigger places can't match.
Well done.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top and at the front to see the Opera like you have never seen before !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFrankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabIRosner13, Rooms Division Manager at The Guesthouse Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear TheFrankster!

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review about The Guesthouse!
To be a home away frome home - that is exactely what we want to be for our guests - you definitely brought it to the point! Looking forward to exceed your experiences at your next stay! :)
Sunny regards from Vienna! Your Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,742 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,492 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Vienna

Address: Fuehrichgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £193 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Guesthouse Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in timeless design of Sir Terence Conran und Conran + Partners, situated right in the heart of Viennas historic center, in a top location behind the State Opera House and the famous Albertina Museum. 39 rooms and suites do not communicate the typical hotel atmosphere, rather the feeling of your own private apartment in Vienna, with individual and very personal service. Brasserie & Bakery on the ground floor, which spoils with daily fresh baked bread and sweets, as well as light, healthy dishes 7 days a week from 06.30 am to 11.00 pm. All rooms and suites are equipped with cosy living room area, bath and/or rainforest shower, air condition, a wine fridge, espresso machine and minibar - all drinks except spirits are included in the room rate, safe with power outlet, B+O TV and Audio, high speed W-Lan, cordless phone, bathtub or rainforest shower, towel radiator (also heatable in summer), hair dryer, shaving mirror and large wardrobe. Molton Brown amenities and hand made soap from the soap manufactury Wolfgang Lederhaas. Enjoy a lounge window in the opera view rooms from 2nd to 7th floor! The Guesthouse Vienna – not a hotel in the conventional sense! Welcome to your new home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Guesthouse Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing