We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spanaustrian cusine...”
Review of el Hans

el Hans
Ranked #20 of 4,144 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Leopoldstadt
Level Contributor
484 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Spanaustrian cusine...”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have R ead the reviews, we went to Hans im Glück. in summer you can eat indoor or outdoor (anywhere più attention, mosquitos are very hungry). fine staff is very friendly, even on a Saturday night crowd was not found. We ordered two appetizers (cheese and pimientos with vegetale jam and almonds) and two main courses (duck and veal), accompanied by beer pilsen. Everything was good. Then the dessert, two Catalan creams, accompanied by Pedro Ximenes wine: all great at 72 €. fair price, I think.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopretelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    96
    34
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent! Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were so pleased with this recommendation by our hotel front desk staff. We wanted something close to the hotel but excellent and we were not disappointed! The pea and goat cheese soup for starters is amazing! We also had the bread and cheese appetizer which was very good. Even the complimentary olives were yummy. For the main course we shared the duck breast with peach crepes which was a sweet savory balance and a very fresh garden tasting ravioli. For the two of us we paid 35 euro which I found more than reasonable. And so far this was also the best service we have received while dining out in Europe. It is also a very beautiful restaurant. Go here! It had rained earlier so we sat inside but they do have a nice outdoor area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deastwood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth looking for!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Out of the city centre but this restaurant is well worth finding. The food is 5 star standard and the owners and staff are really helpful and friendly. We enjoyed it so much the first night we immediately booked for the following night and when we arrived they had reserved us a table both inside and outside so we could choose which we wanted! The food was excellent and good value on both nights.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 580423Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've been several times at this restaurant. It is good, but it has ups and downs, both in the kitchen as in the room. I would not bet on this one if wanted to impress someone, but however I keep on coming because the low price justifies the risk for one of those regular evenings out. Therefore 4 stars, aiming at quick three and even two unless these guys wake up soon. They do have the potential of being a great restaurant, but they need to be more professional.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Javier_19731202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went to Vienna as 4 couples for our annual break and found the restaurant through Trip Adviser. We had 2 meals at Hans Im Gluck and it was fabulous. We had a a huge range of starters, mains and sweets and all were excellent. Highlights were goats's cheese salad, duck and paella main course and Creme Catalana. The owners Elizabeth and Fransisco were very welcoming and Judith who served us was lovely as the photos show. On the second visit, the evening was warm so we sat on the lovely outside terrace. Do go!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed el Hans also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to el Hans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing