We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of el Hans

el Hans
Ranked #23 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Leopoldstadt
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice restaurant with excellent food, good wine and delicious dessert, staff are really helpful and friendly. Totally worth a visit. Good experience. Would definitely recommend for a special evening!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    91
    33
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as the critics...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

...tied this restaurant after reading good critics in an Austrian newspaper. Food was ok but we expected a bit more, Chorizoburger should be more chorizo. Pub garden was nice in quiet surroundings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traxi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå
Level Contributor
281 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A very ordinary dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Reading all the rave reviews about this place, I went there for dinner with my two colleagues and were seated outside. On a Sunday evening, there was quite lively traffic, mostly by foot, to and from the synagogue across the street.
We shared a platter of serrano ham and I had ravioli for main course. The ham tasted very good but my ravioli was a disappointment. The service was good and prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearsm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Imagine our good luck ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

To be staying at a hotel less than five minutes away. We are back for our second time in a week. Delicious watermelon soup, the duck breast is flavourful and so tasty - the sauces with everything are perfectly matched, not too heavy or overwhelming. We asked the waiter/owner? for wine recommendations both times and his suggestions were on the mark from the small wine list.
Don't miss the Pedro Jimenez cake, along with the Pedro Jiminez dessert wine - a great combination of delicious sweet flavours.
We sat indoors, which is clean and modern, there is also a patio. Service is most friendly and pleasant, with exactly the right amount of attention and timing. All guidance and suggestions were good, and happy to converse in English.
So happy with tripadvisor for guiding us to this wonderful, slightly out of the way spot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mheilbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
456 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Spanaustrian cusine...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have R ead the reviews, we went to Hans im Glück. in summer you can eat indoor or outdoor (anywhere più attention, mosquitos are very hungry). fine staff is very friendly, even on a Saturday night crowd was not found. We ordered two appetizers (cheese and pimientos with vegetale jam and almonds) and two main courses (duck and veal), accompanied by beer pilsen. Everything was good. Then the dessert, two Catalan creams, accompanied by Pedro Ximenes wine: all great at 72 €. fair price, I think.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopretelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed el Hans also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to el Hans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing