We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will definitely stay here if/when we return to Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollmann Beletage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollmann Beletage
Ranked #6 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“We will definitely stay here if/when we return to Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found this hotel through the overwhelmingly positive TA reviews, and although I looked at several hotel options, this one seemed to offer the best value for money. I booked online and requested the optional airport pick-up service. I emailed our flight number to the hotel later and got an instant response and confirmation. The driver was waiting for us in Arrivals with a clean and luxurious saloon car, and kept up a running commentary as he drove us to the hotel, including pointing out the best gelateria just around the corner from the hotel.

Check in was very friendly, and although it was late morning our room was ready. We had room 13, a beletage XL room, a couple of doors away from reception. We were slightly concerned about potential noise, but in the end it was only our next-door neighbours who disturbed us on the last night coming home late and very noisily. The room overlooks a tiny side-alley with some outdoor restaurant tables and we never heard a single sound from outside so we slept really well.

The decor was clean and simple and perhaps a little spartan but the bed was huge and comfortable and I loved the huge deep bath in an alcove. There was not a great amount of hanging space, but enough for two people only staying for 3 nights. One slight niggle was that the Ikea trouser hangers were mainly broken so we had to juggle things round to get everything in the wardrobe. We also had a lot of problems with the electronic safe which seemed unable to store our code so that every time we tried to open it we got an error message. Luckily one of the keys we were given fitted a hidden manual lock on the safe so we just used that. But these are very minor niggles and not enough to influence the overall rating.

Breakfast is served in a relatively small room with an open kitchen area and it's wonderful. It starts with a themed platter of meats and cheeses and a basket of lovely bread items. There is also a loaf of rye bread and some fantastic homemade preserves to help yourself to (try the orange it's out of this world), cereals and yogurts. There are always a number of options for hot dishes including eggs of the day, and the chef will also make omelettes on request. Finally there will be a sweet course which might be chocolate cake or palatschinken (pancakes). They make a mean cappuccino and are happy to keep them coming.

Every member of staff we met was friendly, cheerful and helpful and the whole place has a positive welcoming atmosphere. The location is also great, a couple of minutes from the U-bahn stations at Schwedenplatz and Stephansplatz making it easy to get around.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKExpatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    173
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
181
562
46
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

After taking lots of time looking at reviews for several hotels,, my wife and I chose to stay at Hollmann for 3 nights of our 4 days stay in Vienna. What a great choice that was!! We arrived around 9am in the morning. The reception staff was very accomodating by allowing us to put our luggages at the reception, so that we could start our first day of sightseeing right away. By the time we got back to the hotel in the evening, the luggages were already in the room. Additionally, the reception staff were very willing to help you with anything you needed. I had my Swiss Pass send to the them for safe keep before I even arrived in Vienna. Besides the excellent service, the breakfast can really take your breath away!!! We always looked forward to our breakfasts. We didnt get the same breakfast, because the menu had a small change everyday. Everything was very delicious, especially the coffee and the desserts. We had our best Apfelstrudel and coffee at
Hollmann. The food and the service made the steep price for the hotel stay all worth the money.Aside from the good food, it’s located in a very convenient area. Everything is just a few min
away. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 802albertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here whilst running the Vienna marathon and the worst thing was not being able to eat the breakfast the morning of the run. This place has the most incredible breakfast we've ever encountered and to have to decline in favour of a plain roll was criminal! This is a small funky and very friendly hotel that is extremely well located for tourists. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well presented. The staff are supremely helpful. Fabian made several restaurant bookings for us and sometimes it took several phone calls to find a opening. Nothing was too hard. What a find.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

While this is a good hotel, to a certain extent they're almost trying too hard. The rooms are very minimalist, but would have benefited from additional things such as some clothing hooks and extra shelving space in the bathroom. Also, it was unbelievably hot, all the time. We had to run the air conditioner in the room and wore t-shirts inside even though it was quite cool outside. It was bordering on unpleasant most of the time, and also made it hard to sleep at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Hollmann Beletage and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. A well situated, small boutique hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. Both times we have used a taxi from the airport (arranged by the hotel) - this is recommended if possible as it is not the easist of hotels to find on first visiting. The quirky rooms and imaginative extras make a really nice change and add a "wow" factor. The unique breakfast certainly deserves a mention - very different and caters for everyone. Vienna itself is such a beautiful city with so much to see and a stay at the Hollmann Beletage makes for a really lovely weekend break package.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 23 and 24. Both rooms are a good size, but Room 23 is particularly nice as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candpallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive and feel a little unsure about whether you are at a hotel - you recognise this is a cool place! Well done to the staff and owners of this very well designed hotel. I will definitely recommend this to people who want to be in the best part of Vienna, those that enjoy quirky but still appreciate sophistication. I won't say more because it is up to the individual to see all the different and excellent extras that the hotel has to offer, be surprised be very surprised. Thank you to Fabian for being so helpful. We hope to see you again and for longer as there is so much more to do at the hotel, and when we visit this beautiful city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kforrest62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The staff is wonderful, the location is great; its quiet, yet very central, the breakfast is yummy, the beds are comfortable and the whole place is just charming!

We stayed here for easter with a family of nine, including two toddlers and it was no problem at all! Kids are welcome they even served "kinderegg" in an egg glass for the kids for breakfast! :) Many cute little details all over!

Would definitely stay again!

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollmann Beletage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollmann Beletage

Property: Hollmann Beletage
Address: Koellnerhofgasse 6, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#8 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollmann Beletage 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, design refuge, living room for globetrotters and the pampered jetsetters: the Hollmann Beletage is all this and much more – a Viennese jewel in the truest sense of the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollmann Beletage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollmann Beletage - Design And Boutique
Hollmann Beletage - Design & Boutique Hotel Vienna
Hollmann Beletage Design Boutique Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing