We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED with pictures!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Ranked #290 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The hotel was not what we expected by any means. From the outside it looked nice the area was ok as well. When we first walked in the first impression was it was a nice average hotel we were not expecting to much, as it was. The man who checked us it was very nice and gave us our key to room 47 which I am still having nightmare about today. The elevator can fit no more than 2 people or 2 luggages and 1 person at a time.

The ROOM
Even though we were no expecting a lot we were not expecting this!!! The floors were uneven, worn out, discolored and dirty. They looked like they had never really been clean there was dust in almost every corner of the run and the rugs were a dark gray were they were supposed to be white. Our feet were black just from walking on the floor and it was like this for our whole stay. Don't expect the room to be dusted while you are there or before you get there for that matter. There were bumps in the floor and you could feel yourself going up and down as you walked on it with every step. I felt like I was waiting for the floor to fall out from underneath me. The furniture was really old and unstable they could have a least gone to get some cheap stuff from IKEA that would have been better. If you want to sleep-in you better cover your eyes because the sun will wake you up at 6am if you are ready for it or now!

Bathroom
I will say that the bathroom was the only plus it seemed to be new and remodeled recently and clean although there was red nail polish spilled all over it which I cleaned because it looked like a murder scene. There is only a bar of hand soap so bring everything else that you need.

Hotel
The first floor rooms 2 to 8 seems to be better with no problems like we had but we found this out the day we were leaving. There was one girl I had overheard complaining that their rooms had not been clean before they arrived and the short haired lady at the front desk stated that she could not do anything because the cleaning lady (singular) was not there and she was not going to do it. The girl asked to change rooms and the lady at the front desk stated that the girl could not. The hotel does have one computer with internet for free which is a plus because i saw other people looking for a new hotel while I was there. The only place they have for you to leave you luggage is under a table by the front door where anyone could take it. The hotel does not have any Parking and instead they will tell you to go to a parking area about 5 minutes away at a rate of 25 Euro a day.

Location
The hotel is not close to any MAIN train station like other people stated the two main train stations are each a minimum of 2 metro stations away. From Meidling it is 2 stations on the U6 plus 3 on the U4 from the Westbahnhof it is 2 plus about a 10 minute walk from the metro station to the hotel. To center near Church Stephan where everything is at you had to take two metro lines. The U4 and the U1.

Over all for what we paid on booking.com we would have picked something more central and something much nicer for what we paid. But it was New Years Eve so we were kind of stuck.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaliSunshine214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

We chose this hotel based on the location and also because it was within walking distance from the main train station.

The room was extremely large, not the cleanest but quite comfortable.

Breakfast was typical and an adequate way to start the day.

Overall, whilst this hotel is certainly not luxurious it is great value for money if a central location is what you are looking for!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MZE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Excellent value - very clean, superb location, friendly staff, good room. It is true, as one reviewer said, that the breakfast was always the same but with several types of bread, two jams, 3 types of sausage, 2 cheeses, orange juice, joghurt, cereal, various teas, coffee and cream cheese we were more than happy. Easy walking distance from the station so we didn't even need a taxi on arrival. Could be described as no frills but what do you expect for the price. We would happily stay there again - in fact we hope to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Really nice hotel, comfortable rooms, comfortable beds, good working and powerful shower.

Friendly staff and breakfast included.

Location is very central and walking distance from all the attractions. Hotel is also situated off the main shopping street which is very useful.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natural_mystic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights end of June 2010...The hotel is very well located, 10-15 minutes walk to historical beautiful places, 5 minutes walk to underground metro station, a minute and you're in Mariahilfer street (the number 1 shopping street in Vienna) yet the street where the hotel is is quiet and not noisy at all. Stayed in a spacious, neat, well-furnished room (it was more of a small apartment; 2 rooms each with a TV set, a bathroom plus an entry hall) and took it for a reasonable price compared to very expensive Vienna hotels (but still was 75 €/night was expensive for us)...Anyway, beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean but the room had a killer and that was it wasn't air-conditioned neither could we open the windows except for a tiny open that was not enough for cooling and imagine how difficult it is to sleep in such weather specially in the end of June. Another thing was the kind of poor breakfast that didn't have much variety. Most of the staff was nice and friendly. By the way, when you're there remember to take pictures of the smallest elevator on earth :):) Would recommend this hotel for heat bearers :)..... Enjoy Vienna ;)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELZOHEIRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I was here with my wife at end of 2008. It's most horrible hotels experience we've ever had. wires all around the hotelroom, towels were all diffrent and they were dirty !
Staff was OK, brekfast was slim, very slim. please I reccomend to choose something else. This suppose to be hostel, not hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donjohnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Once finding this little family run hotel all the expectations that we had were fulfilled. Of course all the pictures shown of the hotel were exaggerated. No big surprise there! The picture we had seen of the hotel entrance is actually a wine bar not far from the hotel - so it has nothing to do with the hotel. Either way, the reception had everything you need and could wish for - so no hard feelings.

The breakfast is by no means fantastic like other reviews stated, but you are not limited to a certain amount or anything like that. What you get is coffee, bread with butter, two kinds of salami and cheese, yoghurt and cereals. The choice is not that big but you get the basics.

The room we were staying in was of average size. One should keep in mind that you are staying very central to the city center, and by that standards the rooms are fully acceptable. Don't expect tasteful design or luxury, but the room is good enough for a good nights sleep (no disturbing noises). The shower was old, the bathroom itself is of normal standards. No big surprise for those of us who have traveled around Europe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NokaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#113 of 359 in Vienna
617 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#237 of 359 in Vienna
242 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#173 of 359 in Vienna
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Pension Mozart
Pension Mozart
#336 of 359 in Vienna
159 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#102 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#185 of 359 in Vienna
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Address: Fillgradergasse 4, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £70 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing