We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star hotel, but it wins on location and reasonable ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arthotel ANA Westbahn
Ranked #306 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel, but it wins on location and reasonable ambience”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is quite outdated as per the reviews, however, it maintains its charm through what appears to be a sincere will to make the place homely. There is a lot of unusual and decor, art and ornaments throughout the common areas.

My room was simple, but comfortable and even though it was on the 1st floor street side, it was quiet.

The location is excellent. No wifi in the rooms - instead it is available on the ground floor or via RJ45 / Ethernet cable connection (pretty useless unless you carry a spare cable with you).

Breakfast is good.

Not the best place in the world, but good value for Wien and I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    61
    48
    28
    30
See reviews for
21
69
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The only thing good about this hotel was the location. It is right by the main train station which was convenient to get to the center of Vienna. This hotel was not a 4 star as advertised. It was really rundown and the tv was from the 80's and all the channels were in German. The staff was less than friendly and the hotel was not worth the price we paid. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Location next to the Westbahnhof station makes this hotel an excellent base for your visit to Vienna. The staff was helpful and took good care of our (quite large) group and our luggage. Breakfast was very simple but tasty, with complimentary sparkling wine.

Cleaning service was sloppy and our room had some issues (squeaky floors, outdated key system, low water pressure in the shower). Also the cramped elevator was inadequate. These are not major problems so I could recommend this hotel to a friend, but still I was expecting a bit more from a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyCale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnodar, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel from the 16-20 th of the January 2012 with a big group of people-57 persons.And I want to say that since the check in till check out I didnt have any problem.Despite such a large group.the keys were ready at the time of check in. Everything was on time,meeting room,coffee-break,breakfast ,even in the cases when we needed to organize breakfast ,dinner or lunch earlier or later the schedule, Mrs Elisabeth and all stuff helped us. I want to pay a special attention to a very delicious and varied meal and thanks for cleaning rooms. I recomend this hotel to everybody,where for the reasonable price you can get the highest quality service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 373_298532373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Travelling with my wife and two children using train throughout Europe. The hotel is conveniently located opposite the westbahnorf train station. Was initially given a normal room with 4 beds. But upon enquiry, was told by paying 10 euros more , they will give us a suite! The room is very spacious with a seperate bedroom. The deco looks old very much like the 80s. The room is clean and the breakfast is acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INNALOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We were very comfortable at Westbahn Hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast is great and the stuff is very friendly and helpful. It's a very charming viennese hotel and we enjoyed our stay a lot!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neila_Neila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

One of the attractions of this hotel is that it is a family run business, and not a chain. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful regarding local information, and kindly were willing to speak in English. Although it is out of the main centre, the transport links in Vienna are fantastic, and so you rarely wait more than a couple of minutes for a metro. The bus link to the airport is really convenient stopping opposite the hotel, and costs only 6 euros.
In Vienna it seems space is at a bit of a premium, and so like most other hotels, rooms are small. Facilities are basic but very clean and comfortable. Rooms have minibars, tea, coffee and internet connection (all for a fee), but there are no glitzy extras like gym/ swimming pool. If on business and you need a night in, you can pick up a great value box of spaghetti bolognase on your way out of the metro. On the other hand, there is a fantastic selection of good restaurants in the centre of the town 20min door to door.
The hotel is next to a busy road, however with the windows shut sound sound proofing is excellent.
I am afraid I probably would not rate anywhere in Europe as 'good value' at the moment as the exchange rate is eye wateringly awful still!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelicityX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#205 of 362 in Vienna
201 reviews
Neubau
Fleming's Hotel Wien-Westbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
IntercityHotel Vienna
IntercityHotel Vienna
#165 of 362 in Vienna
574 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#151 of 362 in Vienna
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthotel ANA Westbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthotel ANA Westbahn

Property: Arthotel ANA Westbahn
Address: Pelzgasse 1, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Westbahn Hotel)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthotel ANA Westbahn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a comfortable hotel atmosphere the building comprises a calm old Vienna-style inner courtyard with an historic garden well. Health-consciously furnished rooms (using mainly natural material) will ensure a relaxing stay in one of the most beautiful cities of the world: a breakfast buffet with natural food and sparkling wine will put you in the right mood for shopping and experiencing culture in Vienna. The Arthotel ANA Westbahn is located next to Westbahnhof (subway hub; airport shuttle service, shopping center). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthotel ANA Westbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbahn Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing