We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arthotel ANA Westbahn
Ranked #270 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Most Hotels in Vienna are rather pricey and this hotel is no exception. However for the price you would expect a larger room but having stayed in many hotels in NYC the size was not a big issue. The hotel has a great location it is within walking distance of the ring and many of the museums and sights. The staff was friendly but with stereotypical Austrian curtness. Our only complaint was the parking, the size of the elevator and the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms. To use the Wi-Fi you had to go into the lobby. The parking situation was a nightmare. There is no valet service nor was there a unloading area for luggage. We had to park a block and a half away and haul our luggage to the hotel (in the rain no less). The elevator was very small. I dont recommend it for people who suffer from any anxiety of small/tight spaces. We could barely fit into this elevaor with only 2 of us and 2 suitcases. Getting out was like a game of twister. That being said, the hotel is very clean and well decorated. The room was was very clean and was well lit. For the price you really cant beat this hotel. Just be aware of the parking issues which the hotel does not really make clear on its website.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard so if it gets hot you can at least open a window and you wont have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Hotel was quite plain but as you know you get what you pay for. It was a very hot season when we were in Vienna there was no airconditioning which made the room very hot. It was ok.,
would visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor cant remember which way it faced. Quite a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,654,321,130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Everything you see on the pictures and read on the web site is a lie. At least in my case, because I had a "room" of hardly 4 square meters, with no place for the luggage so you have to put in the middle of the room and jump over it every minute, with a TV put on the refrigerator and with only 4 channels (all in German language), with no internet connection, and with unidentified wires connected to the radiator. And they charged me with 98.00 euro for this horror. So, whatever you do either don't go there, or don't except room 307.
And I really don't know how this kind of hotels can be on TripAdvisor!
Zlatko

Room Tip: Don't go to room 307!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zlatko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Hotel is very close to the train station with easy access to subway and buses.
Hotel is clean but little bit old fashion.
Reception staff were very nice and helpfull.
There is only wiered internet in the room. Wifi only avalible near the reception.
Taxi price from the hotel to the airport = 43 Eu

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank יחיעם ק
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I really do not understand the negative comments on here. We just spent five nights at the Westbahn Hotel and had a wonderful experience. Staff members were friendly and accommodating and made excellent restaurant recommendations. The room was comfortable and clean. Housekeeping did a great job each day. Restaurant staff provided a good breakfast with a number of options each morning. Any tours that one wishes to do can be booked at the hotel desk.

The Westbahn is in a great location. The subway, train, and bus station is just across the street and there is a three level shopping mall inside the station. The subway system is easy to use and we were only a 10 minute ride from the city center. If you arrive by plane take the airport bus to Westbahnhof. It is only eight euros one way. We arrived late and did not know the exact location of the hotel so we took a taxi. Mistake! We were charged an exorbitant fee. The airport bus runs directly between Westbahnhof and the airport. The hotel is just around the corner from the bus stop.

Wifi is not available in the rooms but can be accessed on the ground floor. A small inconvenience as we were there to see Vienna, not surf. We would definitely stay at the Westbahn again should we visit Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rockyreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Located just across the road from westbahnoff (and metro station) but I rarely heard the trains. On check-in I was greeted by a very rude woman and wasn't looking forward to future dealings but happily enough the rest of the time the front desk was manned by a nice guy. The room was a good size but, as it was a third floor south-facing room it got pretty hot but there was no AC. It was clean enough to sleep in but there were layers of dust over many things including TV remotes (there were 2 televisions) and light fixtures. The pillows were so flat, they may as well not have been there; the first morning I woke up with a horrendously sore neck. Lastly, the hotel only has wifi on the ground floor (i.e. not in the rooms), this was not advertised when I booked the hotel. All in all, it's a nice hotel in a nice quiet location but there are lots of little points that made me give it a low rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had a fantastic experience staying here, a two minute walking distance from westbanholf train station, and the staff named elizabeth was the best in the whole of Europe she treated us very warmly and guided us thoroughly during our stay. the breakfast was good and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: chose a doouble room with breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harishmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
ARCOTEL Donauzentrum
#262 of 358 in Vienna
23 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#172 of 358 in Vienna
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Mercure Raphael Hotel Wien
Neubau
Fleming's Conference Hotel Wien
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#240 of 358 in Vienna
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthotel ANA Westbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthotel ANA Westbahn

Address: Pelzgasse 1, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Westbahn Hotel)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £43 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arthotel ANA Westbahn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a comfortable hotel atmosphere the building comprises a calm old Vienna-style inner courtyard with an historic garden well. Health-consciously furnished rooms (using mainly natural material) will ensure a relaxing stay in one of the most beautiful cities of the world: a breakfast buffet with natural food and sparkling wine will put you in the right mood for shopping and experiencing culture in Vienna. The Arthotel ANA Westbahn is located next to Westbahnhof (subway hub; airport shuttle service, shopping center). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arthotel ANA Westbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbahn Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing