We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosen Hotel Europahaus
Ranked #248 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rather good, but...”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

For the price you pay (in Vienna!!!), the hotel is rather good - a bit old fashioned, but spacious and clean rooms, free parking, buffet breakfast, very nice and quiet location near a park. Although it's far from the city centre, the tram station is only 200m away and the tram takes you to the very centre in some 25min. The receptionist was really kind, gave us a map and explained how to get to the city centre, etc.
The first problem they need to solve as soon as possible is the breakfast staff - it's awful! When we went to have our breakfast the first morning, I was shocked - some 30% of the tables were occupied and almost all of the remaining (already empty) tables were covered with dirty dishes! The staff was walking calmly and seemed not being aware of the fact. From my experience as a traveler, the staff clean the tables as soon as possible, sometimes even before you leave. Another annoying thing was that german-austrian tradition of serving the coffee directly to the customers in those thermos-like "kettles". The only difference from Germany was that in Germany they notice new people in the breakfast area and bring you your coffee. Here, however, every morning I had to ask for my coffee - the staff was walking in vain, doing nothing and didn't even bother to serve the tables. With 5-7 people having breakfast, they were so "busy", that they didn't notice that there was no hot water for making tea, no glasses for juice, no more cheese, etc. Unbelievable! Such a mess with so few people at breakfast! In general, breakfast is poor - basically bread, butter, cheese, ham and yogurt.
Wi-fi works properly only in the lobby. Don't expect double bed, no matter that you've clearly indicated this while booking the hotel - you'll get 2 separate beds in different corners of the room. But having said that I must admit that in Vienna this is quite a good choice for the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    61
    46
    5
    9
See reviews for
17
69
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel is simple and clean. Breakfast included. Nice park outside.
I'd like it more if there was a kingsize bed, not two-part.
Very good choice for two nights, and not spending time in room.
Parking is free and safe, which is big plus.
Location is OK if having a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarijaGasparovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we stayed in this hotel in June 2014, just for one night - it was good, nice room (nothing special, but for 50 euros per night for two and with brekfast - in Vienna?) ,nice location, breakfast was great (they have boiled eggs - you just need to ask for them and in 1 minute you have one) , there was fridge, air condition, hair dryer, bed was comfortable, even if it was older, there are more restaurants around so you just need to choose one, nice park around, where you can sit and relax - definitely it was good decision to stay in Europahaus in Vienna! (maybe for longer trip you can choose a better hotel, for short stays it's really fine)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danka_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in december 2013. The hotel is not really a hotel, it's a student-dorm. The beds are worn- out, so are the pillows and bed-spread. You get your own bathroom which is a plus, even though it is very small and not exactly spotless..
The price is ok, considering you also have breakfast for the money. Breakfast is also nothing much, no eggs, boiled or otherwise. Good hotel if you need a place for 1 night and don' t care much about breakfast.
If you are a picky person, go for another place!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as our daughter was a resident in the dorm area of Europahaus. It met my expectation. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. We had a triple room and it was large enough to accommodate us comfortably. Breakfast was always good and the food was fresh with the hot stuff always hot and the cold sty puff always cold. Breads, meats, yogurt, juice, etc. a typical European breakfast, at least compared to my other experiences. The staff was always quick to answer questions and offer assistance when it was needed. Bus stops directly in front of the hotel and the train station is only 3 bus stops away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I booked online through a booking site and there was no problem with the confirmation in person. First, we got a room that had already been occupied by other travellers and when we notified the reception, they sincerely apologized and offered us another room. I found the size of the bed- and bathroom sufficient. Everything was neat, we had no problems. Breakfast was rich and enjoyable, there was a wide variety of cold cuts, cheese, cereals, fruit juices, etc. The bus stop is right outside the entrance/exit and the closest U-bahn station was just 3 stops away. Nice receptionists, helpful staff, fantastic surroundings, peaceful and quite, wouldn't hesitate to go there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights. Very average service.
Location is a disaster, it takes more than 45 mins to the city center. If you like quite places, I recommend it.
Rooms are quite small, so is the bathrooms.
Two things were good though, breakfast buffet and the nice quite garden at the entrance which is a good place to have a nice talk over a drink and a cigarette.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amr_Arafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lenas West
#238 of 361 in Vienna
150 reviews
An der Wien
#185 of 361 in Vienna
197 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Carina
Hotel Carina
#311 of 361 in Vienna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#280 of 361 in Vienna
81 reviews
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#194 of 361 in Vienna
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Hotel Europahaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Hotel Europahaus

Property: Rosen Hotel Europahaus
Address: Linzer Strasse 429, Vienna 1140, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosen Hotel Europahaus 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosen Hotel Europahaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing