We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing”
Review of Hotel Schwalbe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schwalbe
Ranked #224 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

stayed for two nights May 2012 in order to visit a realtive in the nearby hospital. Loved the place. It just had a special flair, fusing traditional and modern Viennese styles. The room was furnished simply but tastefully, very comfortable bed. It looks like they converted a turn of century or earlier appartment building so the rooms are large and have high ceilings giving a feeling of space. Very clean and spic-n-span as is teh norm in Austria. Breakfeats was excellent and in a lovely breakfeast room. It's towardes the edge of town but only 5 minutes wlak or so to the subway which goes straight to the very centre of Vienna.

Room Tip: I had a rooms with shared toilets, I guess this is because of the problems getting blumbing into so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyDog59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    29
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
40
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hranice, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel Schwalbe is a small hotel but very cosy and it has a homely atmosphere. It is situated in a quiet part of Vienna and all the sights of the city are easily accesible by metro, the station is just a few minutes walking from the hotel. Our room was spacious and clean and we couldn't hear any other guests. Also the breakfast was nice, everything was tasty and fresh. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evcased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel Schwalbe is a close to our hearts as it was here that my husband and I stayed 15 years ago, when he proposed to me! Revisiting 15 years later we were delighted to find the hotel still being run by the Tomek family and still as charming and characterful as ever. We were warmly welcomed back by Patricia, who looked after us superbly, and booked us into the restaurant (Fromme Helene) where my husband popped the question all those years ago. Her recommendations for other cafes and restaurants were spot on too. The hotel has been refreshed since our last vist, but sensitively so that the individual character of this old family hotel remains intact, along with the quirky collections of vintage bygones. Don't miss out on the Schwalbe breakfasts - great coffee, lovely fresh bread with artisan jams, and typical Austrian savoury touches of ham and cheese.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

It's a small and sweet hotel and with a beautiful story. Family Tomek runs this hotel for 40 years!(I enjoyed listening to their history) In the beginning of my 5-day stay, I lived in a single room (65 Euro), but the heater of hot-water didn't work, then the following days, they change a big (double/triple) room for me (with the original price). The room is nice, clean and quiet (since it's not in the city center) The breakfast is great, and since I had a longer stay, finally they know my eating habit, they served me coffee and fresh apple when I entered the dining room. And they even provide a list on the dining table to explain where the food comes from, which shows their carefulness and seriousness. Though It's not in in the center, but it's very convenient to go into center and many places with U-Bunh & S-Bunh. They even prepare a small gift for guest: a set of postcard which tells Schwalbe Hotel history and a small jar of jam. When I stayed there, I really felt like home. I will stay again if I have the chance to visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peiing H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A conference host in Vienna found us this hotel when we stressed that we needed something reasonable. We moved from a slick, modern hotel to the Hotel Schwalbe for a two-night stay. It is about an eight-minute walk from the Ottakring metro station, in a primarily residential neighborhood. It is an authentic old Viennese hotel, with all the amenities of the modern one, and more. It is immaculate, the beds are perfectly firm, the room was spacious, TV and internet worked beautifully. We had chosen a room with WC across the hall, but rooms with ensuite WC are available for more. The architecture, quirky artistic touches, friendliness of the staff were all noteworthy. Best of all, the breakfast, with wonderful fresh berries and other fruits, yogurt, breads, homemade jams, meats, cheeses, were a healthy start for a day of tourism or travel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

A short walk from the end of the metro line in a quiet residential area. The hotel is easy to find and close to a few local bars and restaurants. Nice bedroom and batyroom,comfortable and spotlessly clean. Free wi-fi. Good breakfast choice with an offer of cooked eggs. A quirky but clean breakfast room. A good find!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Womble46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The room I stayed in this hotel is huge, nice and clean. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is not really close to the main touristic spots, but you can reach them by metro easily after a few minutes.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romeuvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Gallitzinberg
Hotel Gallitzinberg
#239 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Pension Schoenbrunn
#182 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#157 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wiener Kindl
#262 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Landstraße
Hotel Pension Bosch
Hotel Pension Bosch
#122 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
An der Wien
#183 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwalbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwalbe

Property: Hotel Schwalbe
Address: Degengasse 45, Vienna 1160, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schwalbe 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, family-run hotels – the kind where one immediately feels as if one is at home or visiting good friends – really do still exist. And one of them is Vienna’s Hotel Schwalbe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schwalbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zur Schwalbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing