We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel with no air conditioning.”
Review of Korotan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Korotan Hotel
Ranked #214 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I spent two days at the hotel. I am satisfied. Advantages of the hotel: Big, rich and tasty breakfast. Very good location. Very close to the subway and cheap restaurants. Quiet neighborhood. The service is nice, cleaned thoroughly every day my room.

Hotel Cons: No air conditioning in the hotel. Very poor quality, small TV. Very small and very few TV channels. The problem is also the fact that the reception does not work around the clock.


If you do not have to have air conditioning I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidiacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

The hotel was expetionally great. I would highly recommend this hotel to other. If I have to go back to Vienna I will stay at Korotan Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Refaat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is a great value. It is in a nice area and close to 2 tram lines that will take you to the nearby city center or other tourist sites. There are 2 good restaurants across the street. The hotel is very basic & "spartan", but the rooms are big & clean, although the showers are small. The breakfast is very good also. The only drawback is a lack of air conditioning or fans in the room.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the central courtyard that are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The location of Korotan is very good and close to both tram and undergorund stations. The lobby is nice and looks fine, but the rooms are not that nice. You have all the basic, though. Everything worked in my room, but it was not the most enjoyable place to stay at. There's free wi-fi in the lobby bu not in the rooms (there you can access the internet only by cable). The receptionists were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was nice and everyone can find something for themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izletnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed 3 nights in a single room. The hotel is well located close to U6 line. The room was very very shabby and not well maintained and it largely reminded me of a dorm-room. Some instances: The door would not lock - but instead of having it repaired, the door handle was replaced with fixed doorknob. No "Do not disturb" sign available. When I grabbed my duvet, the slip got torn. Craky tiles in the bathroom. In addition, the shower stall was extremely small. There is no wi-fi in rooms. At least it was clean, though. The breakfast was quite OK, except for eggs, which were cooked only half-way (when I peeled it, the upper part drained). I payed 39EUR per night, so not much. But in general, I do not recommend this hotel, there are definitely better ones that will make your stay in Vienna more pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Unfortunately I didnt seem to have as good an experience as other reviewers here.

Good points: reasonably central, close to U-bahn station, well priced, a few good restaurants/bars in the same road (Albertgasse 39, Lavanderia, Cafe Hummel).

Not-so-good points:
Reception desk closed between 10pm and 8am - I couldnt leave luggage in hotel on my last day as I had to leave hotel at 7:30am despite a late evening flight.
Didnt find receptionists terribly helpful when I asked for amenities (internet/electricity issues/checkout etc).
Did not connect to internet in my room (despite a number of cables supplied).
Although clean, rooms not really of hotel standard - the single room I stayed in looked like a hostel setting, or an ex-students room.
I didn't find much comfort or services here - if you're in Vienna on business, not ideal.
Room was awfully hot in August.

Room Tip: Not ideal for business travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here in Aug 11. The hotel is located around 15-20 minutes walking distance from the centre. Tram station is close by. One of the good things was the tasty breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is computer for the guests to use. There are restaurants and McDonald close by. Korotan is a no frills, good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manisha_prasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#107 of 359 in Vienna
641 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#127 of 359 in Vienna
429 reviews
Leopoldstadt
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
#203 of 359 in Vienna
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Best Western Plus Hotel Arcadia
Döbling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 359 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korotan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korotan Hotel

Address: Albertgasse 48, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Korotan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Korotan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korotan Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing