We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to use as a basis to visit vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of An der Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
An der Wien
Ranked #180 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
KRALENDIJK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice place to use as a basis to visit vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

very nice friendly staff, very helpfull and walk the extra mile
rooms are a bit spartan. VERY white lights so forget a romantic ambiance..:-)
no possibility to lleave the toiletteries in the bathroom, (we had ours on the floor) and the shower was a bit small
but.. nice soft toiletpaper and a lot of water from the shower! I like that!
the staff is realy very nice and helpfull, esp the ladies of the breakfast.
parking is a bit difficult because the hotel has not much spaces of it own, but parking on the street is free.
thebreakfstif great.
very close (one minute) to u-bahn station. with direct link to the citycentre...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jstvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    97
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
108
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

For me I look for good value, wifi connection, breakfast and location and this hotel ticks all the boxes. It's a two minute walk from Hutteldorf subway station to the hotel (turn left out of the station). To get into the centre of Vienna from Hutteldorf takes 20 minutes and costs 1.80 Euro each way (or 5.70 Euro for a daily pass). Given the money you save by staying here I'd say the location is excellent.

The room is clean and comfortable and has a bigger than average flat-screen TV. The shower is powerful and refreshing.

The wifi is reliable and fast and the breakfast buffet is decent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTravellingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Stayed for two nights while touring Austria. Hotel is about 15 minutes from central vienna but is very conveniently located next to the train station. general area around hotel is unexciting and drab. however, the two minute walk to the train station and the convenient train ride to vienna made it an ideal location. we left our rental car at the hotel. This hotel is great value for money. Our room was very clean and the breakfast was great. Parking is tight but you can always park on the street if you get to the hotel late at night. staff was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. I usually stay at 4/5 star hotels but for this trip settled for mostly 3 star hotels. This was the best of them all (10) and I did my research in advance of booking. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottagecove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

I can only confirm what others have said before: the location is really not a problem - a couple minutes walking to the metro, and 15 minutes by metro to the city center with all the major attractions; rooms are nice and clean; staff is very helpful, and breakfast is excellent! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olenka_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

When we booked this hotel on the booking.com website, we were a bit apprehensive, coz we were told that its slightly away from the city centre. But there is no cause to worry. The hotel is located on the direct U4 (brown) line which connects to city centre- Karlplatz in just 15 minutes. Further, all the major attractions like the Schonbrunn, Karlplatz, Hofsburg Palace all lie on the same line. So one has to just hop on and off the line. And as the metro runs till late in the night, one may as well enjoy the night life.

The hotel as its name suggests is located on the banks of the river Wien and only 5 mins walk from the metro station (Huttledorf). So one does not have to unnecessarily wait for a bus or a tram!.

The Hotel itself is quintessential and romantic B-n-B arrangement. The staff is extremely helpful and most importantly WARM. You are greeted at the reception with a smile and in ENGLISH. Language therefore, is not a problem here. Rooms are clean, comfortable & spacious with spacious bathrooms adequately provided with toiletries and clean towels. In short one can relax and be comfortable here.

The breakfast spread is also a surprise, simply because its huge. The dinning hall is large/spacious and the spread is not just sumptuous but yummy as well. The service is excellent. At Euro 7 per person, the breakfast offered is cheap as well (if you decide not to take it as part of the package)!

The best part is that with all these facilities, the tariffs are well within the budget and hence more so the pleasure. DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey2On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We chose this hotel due to the location on the outskirts of the city and across from the U4 Hutteldorf subway station. We didn't want to have to drive our car into Vienna, so the free parking was also a plus. The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms have traditional decor with a beautiful chandelier, and there is free internet. The breakfast area is so pleasing & the complimentary buffet was wonderful! The only downside was that the bathroom was extremely small. Even though the hotel was directly across from the rail lines, our room was very quiet. It appeared to be in a residential area.....didn't see many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Now our hotel of choice in Vienna It is conveniently accessible by public transport, is very well priced for the facilities provided and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Our number one choice in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNIGHTSOFCOGHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#203 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#32 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Hotel Donaustadt Kagran
#196 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Hotel Gallitzinberg
Hotel Gallitzinberg
#229 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An der Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An der Wien

Property: An der Wien
Address: Keisslergasse 24, Vienna 1140, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#117 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — An der Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your An der Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Der Wien Vienna
An Der Wien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing