We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet rooms, Great Location and Great Staff”
Review of Hotel Aldstadt

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Aldstadt
Ranked #201 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Blairsville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet rooms, Great Location and Great Staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed her for 4 days in while in Vienna. The staff are really friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was really nice, full of fresh breads, fresh fruit and veg and some amazing cheeses. They also have an afternoon tea which has tea of the highest quality in a very nice salon.

The rooms were nice and quiet, the beds comfortable and the toiletries were L'Occitane which is always a plus.

The hotel is well appointed with some amazing art throughout. We actually stopped and really looked at some of the pieces which is a compliment to the owner who collects them.

We had one minor issue which the staff was very apologetic about and very quick to correct, so if you decide to stay her (and obviously I recommend it) and anything goes wrong, give them a chance to correct it and I am sure that they will do so.

Hotel Aldstadt is refreshing break from the 5 star chain hotels and a great way to get into the vibe of Vienna, quiet, comfortable and creative.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mezzanine level are nice. Room #12 and the owners suite are reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
30
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was looking for a change from the usual boring chain hotels at a reasonable price and I am so happy that I had the good fortune to stumble across this lovely hotel. When I first arrived I was a bit concerned as it really does not look like a hotel but as soon as I stepped into the reception area and received a warm greeting by the lovely lady at reception, I knew I had made the right choice. The rooms are unique and well decorated, there are a couple of separate lounge areas to relax and enjoy a drink, or at 4pm tea/coffee and cake. The breakfast is delicious (I could not get enough of the stuffed peppers). However it is the staff that really make this place work, they are helpful, (they provide you with a little restaurant guide and are happy to make a booking for you). Most of all though, they really seem to care about their guests and appear to enjoy their job. The location is also very good! I will definitely come back next time I am in Vienna, hopefully they won't be fully booked ;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Aldstadt is a great hotel in a convenient neighborhood. The owner is an art collector and there is terrific art work throughout the hotel. Included in the room charge is a wonderful breakfast buffet with anything you could want for breakfast, from cereal and fruit to eggs and meats and cheese and great Viennese coffee. At 4 pm they serve tea and cake The staff is helpful and efficient. It's a really sweet place to stay in Vienna!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lcfoodie453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a wonderful hotel- very close to the Museum Quarter, nicely appointed rooms, warm and cosy lounge to relax in, and varied and delicious breakfasts, especially the breads. The staff was very accommodating and very helpful.

Room Tip: Each room is individually decorated so take your pick. We enjoyed unseasonably warm weather so opene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a fantastic stay in a standard room for 2 nights. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms well done and the breakfast is amazing! Having the free tea and cake in the afternoon is a lovely touch and the lounge makes a very nice setting to relax after a days sightseeing. The location is good, with many of the recommended restaurants in Lonely Planet nearby and the city centre 10-15 mins away. We only needed public transport to the airport. Great hotel, will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you like your hotels
- uber friendly and welcoming
- small and unique
- with owners who care and live in the building
- 10-15 walk from the centre of the city
- 5 mins walk from the museums
- WITH FREE AFTERNOON TEA AND CAKE
then Hotel Aldstadt is the place for you!
We just loved our four night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,300 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#154 of 361 in Vienna
356 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#183 of 361 in Vienna
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldstadt

Property: Hotel Aldstadt
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing