We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient modern hotel very close to Vienna International Centre”
Review of Melia Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Vienna
Ranked #54 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel has just opened. The reception lobby on lower ground floor is rather bare. Tour brochures were not prominently displayed but given by concierge. The staff seemed a little overwhelmed. Getting through to reception from the room was impossible. The phone extensions to housekeeping, concierge did not work and had to call reception. The room I got was very nice overlooking the Danube and office blocks, with floor to ceiling windows. You get a good view from the lifts as well. Unlike the city center, the area is rather quiet at night, but still safe to walk to the U station. Taxis were easily available next to the U station. Breakfast is very good. Service is usually good, but a few staff seemed inexperienced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zest55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear zest55,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a good time. I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with your Telephone. We will look into it straight away!
We hope we can welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

First of all I would like to say that we travel the world more than average traveler and this is first tome to stay at new hotel.
the location was great only 300 meters from U-Bhan
I was writing to the hotel prior to our arrival that we are celebrating our anniversary and ask for room at high floor at the Danube view, the hotel confirm our email but someone forgot to assign our room on high floor.
The hotel was open only two weeks before our stay and you can defiantly felt this.
Rooms was really big but the door didn’t close well at the beginning se they send a technetium to fix it.
The bath was really large and the rain shower was really nice.
Breakfast was really good with match variety to choose small cons we asked for a banana to our baby they said that they didn’t have one for us. I was expecting from hotel at 2014 to hold a banana at their fridge.
Service was quite slow and felt no so professional perhaps because of the lately opening of the hotel and will improve later.
All too all nice experience hopes that for next time they will improve their service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tp535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear User tp535,

Thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the points mentionend in your post. I am also very sorry for not having the room you wished for ready at arrival. We usually have bananas available, I am very sorry that in your case there where none available.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms
The worst costumer service. You can't reach the main office EVER. The only resturant there really smells bad maybe due to bad ventalation . Maybe because it is new but really very disappointing. Location is excellent if you are coming to Vienna Center.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank AAtari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear User aaa1123,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you experienced problems with the telephone system. We have addressed the issue and have found a solution. Thank you for pointing out our great location, we are indeed only 7 minutes away from the city center by metro.

We would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
The Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Plus: Spacious and modern rooms, close to the public transport, good breakfast, nice bar/restaurant, quiet, some friendly staff.
Minus: some arrogant staff, reception almost unreachable by phone, bar/restaurant closed two days a week, poor room service menu, room not totally clean and not ready ( coffee but no sugar, no hotel description, no room service menu ...)

A new hotel missing the right staff.

To be improved!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey_BonvinDechoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear User Olivier Audrey D,
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are taking all your points very seriously and have informed the concerned departments. We have had the chance to improve on the mentioned points a lot in the last week and sincerely hope you will visit us again. We are also sorry that the “57 Restaurant & Lounge” is closed on Sundays and Monday, we offer as an alternative our Flow Bar and Restaurant (open from Monday to Sunday from 06:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.).
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards,
The Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was keen to be able to book this hotel, as the opening was postponed several times, but fortunately at this trip to Vienna I could stay here and check by myself the "tallest Melia hotel".
Unfortunatelly the photos and the publicity is a bit misleading. The hotel occupies just the first 15 floors of the 57 in total. Normally the hotels would go for the top floors....but this is not the case.
It is difficult to find if you do not know the building. No signs around and only when in front of the bar (the main entry is from the lower street level), there is a small sign Melia....and then you have to walk throug the bar to the lower level for the reception.
I checked in after 1300h, as I advised but my room was not ready. Why on earth would they assign that room in an empty hotel? I was told it would be ready in 10 mins, but was not. After more than half an hour I was given the key card and escorted to my room on the 9th floor. I asked for the view and the highest floor possible and did not get any of those, but the room was 5*. Perfect and super large king bed, the lighting and design was top class. The barthroom was black and perfect, also the walk in shower, but felt the shower head did not provide enough water.
The TV was big enough to be able to watch it from the sofa, but the choice of tv channels was poor. Lots of german (repeated) channels and only 1 in spanish (CUBAN!!! TV) Being in a Melia hotel chain, I would expect at least 3 local TV options. No sports whatsoever.

The hotel is working at half gas only. The business centre nor the spa are open, The Level lounge is under construction and will not be ready for at least 5 months!!!? So my expectations of enjoying this nice and super new hotel vanished from the moment I found out about it!
The check in was slow and rather impersonal. All the staff there were lost, not proactive, slow and not delivering the service that one would expect from that kind of property. No information given about the hotel, nor the famous 57th floor which I discovered by chance.
Breakfast was served on the mezzanine and was very good. Beautifully prepared and presented, however the schrambled eggs were horrible. The staff again, a little confused and did not greet not checked the guests´ needs. Nobody asked me if I wanted a coffee or if I needed anything else.

The 57th floor is a chapter apart. It is a bar/restaurant open from 1600 and you have to access it through a special entry and take a direct elevator. The access is controlled and it seems all the locals and other tourist want to see the city from the top. When checking out, a huge queue and lot of fuss going on at the entrance. Maybe they would need to limit the access to non-hotel guests and charge the entry fee. Besides I believe they should open a different door for the non-residents.

The check out was a mess, slow, errors on billings, no receipt, no credit card copy...It seems the staff is confused and do not know how the system works. But I was promissed the bill would be send by email.

Being a Platinum Melia member, I was not recognised a little extra and could not enjoy the hotel facilities as I would have if all the departmens had opened on time.

Room Tip: Wait at least 5 months to book, when everything is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Ludwig70,

Thank you very much for your great feedback.
We have already addressed the issue of poor signage and hope we have found a good solution.
We are also very sorry for not having your room ready upon arrival. We do hope the room made up for it.
I have also addressed the shower issue to our maintenance department. Also the TV channel menu is in the process of being changed and will offer a more international selection of channels.
We have now already opened our fitness centre and business Centre.
We are doing ongoing trainings with our front office staff. Thank you for pointing this out.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our beautiful hotel. We appreciate your comments very much and will act accordingly.

Kind regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Last week I had to fly to Vienna for business trip and I stayed at Melia Vienna. I found a very interesting offer because of the openning and I took the risk once again.
IT DESERVES IT!!! I love it.
It is the tallest tower in the city and from my room, on the 10th floor, I can enjoy one of the best sunrise I've ever seen. Vienna was just under my feet!!
Comfortable room, with all technical gaps, good shower and incredible views from 57th floor where I had breakfast. Just unbelievable!!
The hotel just opened, so there are always space to improve, but I have a great experience and I will return soon
Fully recomend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CVB-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear CVB-D,

Thank you very much for your great comments!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've spent there 3 days and we were not only impressed by the looks and design of the hotel and rooms but also the service was very nice and warm. The room was really beautiful and modernly decorated and the views were astonishing.
Its really worth the experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BEAISI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear BEAISI,

Thank you very much for kind comments. We appreciate your review very much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,387 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#71 of 358 in Vienna
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vienna

Address: Donau City Strasse 7, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £86 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Melia Vienna Austria's tallest skyscraper "Donau-City Tower", designed by French star architect Dominique Perrault, is the new home to Melia Vienna. The 220 meters and 58 floor building is also the first sustainable or "GreenBuilding" in Austria. Melia Vienna offers 253 spacious guest rooms, including 14 design suites, ensuring that there is something to suit every taste. All rooms are equipped with floor to ceiling windows and offer spectacular views of the Danube and the city. The hotel boasts 1,079 sq m of flexible event space, the Grand Ball Room offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner while eight smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private company meetings. WINING AND DINING Enjoy an array of Austrian and international cuisine in our restaurant on the 57th floor, enjoying a breathtaking view over the city Continue your night out on the highest level in Austria (220m) at our roof top bar with DJ at the weekends Or simply visit our Lobby bar and restaurant - Flow - to try one of our after-work cocktails, get in touch with Viennese coffee culture or local cuisine MEETINGS Design your event in our 1,089 sqm of flexible meeting rooms. The Melia Event Space (495 sqm) offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner, while 8 smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private meetings. All meeting rooms offer natural daylight, LCD projectors, screens and latest technical standards LOCATION The upcoming "Danube City" business district with the Austria Center Vienna and offices of the United Nations (UNO) is the home to the new Melia Vienna, The hotel in the heart of the Danube City is located next to the 21.5km long Danube Island recreation area, the Danube park and the old Danube. The underground station "Kaisermuhlen/VIC" located next to the hotel connects our guests with the historical city center "St. Stephans Square"., within 8 minutes. Vienna International Airport can be reached via the motorway within only twenty minutes. Points of interest: Danube Island (100m) Austria Centre Vienna (300m) Reed Messe Vienna (3,3km) United Nations -UNO City (400m) Amusement park "Prater" with Viennese giant ferryswheel (5 km) Historical City Center St. Stephan's Square (5,8 km) ViennaInternational Airport (21,4km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing