We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with stunning view from the 58th floor”
Review of Melia Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Vienna
Ranked #53 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Located in the tallest building of Vienna till the15th floor, the quit new hotel offered a stylish, well equipped superior room with a great bathroom including floor heating.
All amnetities, as a Nespresso machine, mini bar, excellent wifi conncetion, bathrobe, slipper and so on where available.
Breakfast offer was great too.
The only tricky thing is the access to the resraturant and bar/lounge as there is no direct access from the guest elevators, but only by a separate reception desk at the groundfloor which is one level up from the hotel reception.
The price value ratio is excellent

Room Tip: Superior room at the 14th floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your fabulous review on Tripadvisor. I have shared your nice comments with the whole team. I hope I can welcome you back soon.

kInd regards,

Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
There are newer reviews for Melia Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

An excellent, clean and modern hotel with very good facilities. The room was very well kept, and the view was tremendous. Another strong point of the hotel is that the staff are very friendly and very helpful. It's very close to the station, and you can be in central vienna within 10 to 15 minutes.

Like other guests, I did find the entrance very difficult to find, and feel there could be clearer signs in the area.

The only other downside was the false fire alarm in the early hours of the morning during my stay I wasn't particularly happy about having to exit my room at 5am and walk down 14 flights of stairs. My one complaint is that I felt this wasn't handled very well, as I had no idea where to go once outside, and only discovered it wasn't an issue once I had asked someone at the front desk in the lobby.

Other than that, I can't complain. I was very happy with my stay, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Gary 156,
Thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your nice words very much!

We are still working on optimizing our signage in the surrounding area.
I am also terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the false fire alarm early morning. We have taken this incident very seriously and already updated our protocol in case of an emergency. I can guarantee you that this was a one-time only event.
I am very much looking forward to having you here again and am happy to assist with any reservation requests.

Kind regards,
Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently returned from this hotel after a long weekend in Vienna. As other reviewers have noted it can be tricky to find the entrance. As in an business area atmosphere or even a café open for breakfast can be tricky. The room was pleasant and roomy with a fantastic view. The housekeeping needs further experience. The room's toiletries had not been checked before we arrived (bottles were not full and the grooming kit incomplete). On the second evening we were out of the nespresso capsules for the room's machine and nearly out of bathroom toiletries, rang down twice to reception after they were not stocked up by housekeeping - we were told things would be sorted - and then my husband had to go to reception to request the items (shortly after we received the capsules but not the toiletries). The following day we made it really obvious the toiletries needed stocked (turned upside the empty bottles in the sink and left open the grooming kit) - when we returned to our room everything was well stocked up. But yet again the capsules were not stocked, this time we e-mailed reception and things were quickly resolved. The Flow Bar and Restaurant, and its service, good but you could not eat there every night. Really on Sundays you have to go into Vienna to eat, as it is either the Flow Bar & Restaurant or nothing in that area. It was a pleasant stay in the hotel but it is still early days with a relatively young staff base. Most of the staff we came into contact with were pleasant, although we did bump into a manager who did not smile at any guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Claire M,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your nice words about our rooms and the beautiful view. The team of the Flow Bar & Restaurant thank you for the nice comment as well.

I take your complaint very seriously and have already discussed it with the departments involved. It does in no mean reflect the high standards we have in our hotel. I am very sorry that this caused you so much inconvenience and that you had to personally attend to reception to receive the amenities. My executive housekeeper has already revised our standards with the whole team.

I still hope we can welcome you back to Meliá Vienna and I would love to assist with any further reservation requests.

Kind regards,
Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for one night recently. I travel to Vienna regularly and usually stay at the Marriott on Ringstrasse. As I regularly use Melia Hotels in Germany and am a member of Melia Rewards I decided to try this reasonably new hotel out. Overall I was disappointed - the hotel fell below my expectations and really disappointed me in two key areas.

- Woken by False Fire Alarm at 5.40am and subsequent poor communication
We were woken from a sound sleep at 5.40am by an emergency announcement, constantly repeating telling us to evacuate the building. This went on for a good 10 minutes. I phoned the reception, they told me it was "probably" a false alarm, they were investigating. People were evacuating. I phoned back, I was told it was a false alarm. No apology was proactively offered on check-out for this experience, so eventually I asked the receptionist about it. He gave a very long excuse about it being a commercial building and the issue arising from an office, but very little by way of apology. I got the impression this was a regular ocurance and clearly were not bothered by it anymore, why should the guests be? It was handled very badly - not good enough and not the standard I have come to expect from Melia.


- No restaurant open on Sunday Night - Lobby Bar or Room Service only. Even the staff in the lobby bar advised me to order room service if we wanted a proper meal. Nothing was open in vicinity of the hotel either. After a long journey - and only at 8.30pm, for a leading hotel this was not really what I expect.

Otherwise, the rooms are nicely designed and the breakfast service very good, but neither matter at all when the basics are not in place (having a good nights peaceful sleep and a restaurant serving dinner). Sadly a case of style over substance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shamrock104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Shamrock104

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We take your complaint very seriously.
I want to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the false fire alarm. We have taken this incident as an incentive to revisit our protocol for emergency situations and have already done intensive trainings with all members of staff. We have enforced the importance of handling these situations in the last weeks and I am sure that your situation will remain a one-time event only. I am also very sorry for not being offered a sincere apology from our staff. We have definitely not handled the situation in the best way possible. I can guarantee you one thing however, this was a one-time only occurrence.

I have also spoken to our Food and Beverage manager and we are sorry for the poor communication of our staff concerning our restaurant on Sunday night. We offer the full Flow Restaurant and Bar menu for guests on Sunday and Monday night. We will talk to each member of staff again to ensure that they are aware of what is offered when.

Thank you for pointing out our great breakfast and wonderful rooms.
I still hope we can welcome you back to Meliá Vienna and I would love to assist with any further reservation requests.

Kind regards,
Florian Augustin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had looked forward to staying at the Melia whilst on business at the VIC. Whilst the hotel itself, in particular the rooms, I couldn't help but notice some fundamental flaws with the experience I received.
Before my gripe I must say that the rooms were beautiful, the bedding comfortable, the bathrooms inviting and the whole place was very clean. It did tai me some time to find that there were blinds for the windows and spent my first two nights waking up to the light.
My gripe - There was a 5am emergency drill for which the hotel evacuated on my first night. I was not so much put out by the drill itself but the lack of hotel staff engagement with the guests. When we emerged from the fire escape outside into the morning cold there was no-body there to give instructions. Staff could be seen in the breakfast area setting up the tables - an obvious hint that this was no real emergency - but positively ignored us outside. Then when we got to reception and waited around for a while some guts asked in German if they could leave and swiftly got in a lift. This is not to say the staff were unpleasant - on the contrary, they were all nice. On this occasion, however, directions were poorly communicated to the rest of the guests.

Room Tip: Rooms flood with light in the morning but note that there are blinds you can draw down.
Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BusinessTravellingLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear BusinessTravellingLo,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the rooms and where happy with the positive attitude of our staff. I am sorry that you were not informed about the blinds, I will remind my colleagues from reception to not forget this information when checking in a guest.

I want to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the false fire alarm. We have taken this incident as an incentive to revisit our protocol for emergency situations and have already done intensive trainings with all members of staff. We have enforced the importance of handling these situations in the last weeks and I am sure that your situation will remain a one-time event only.

I still hope we can welcome you back to Meliá Vienna and I would love to assist with any further reservation requests.
Kind regards,

Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed frm sunday to monday and was more than surprised to find out that all restaurants are closed on sundays. I was left with the choice of the snack menue at the bar or room service. I choose a club sandwich which was one of the worst i ever had. The bread was really dry and the chicken not tender. The highlight were the french fries. Rooms are ok but if you are going for black fittings, you just see the dust about everywhere. The whole room was dusty. To top it off, there was an emergency evacuation on monday at 0530. Fortunately an error but i just wonder how the staff would hv handled a real emergency since the didnt even handle the false emergency.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank RolandZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear RolandZug,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with our Club sandwich. I have forwarded your complaint to our executive Chef and he promised to personally follow up on the problem. I am very disappointed to hear that you felt the room was too dusty. This is definitely not the standard we have here at the Meliá Vienna.

I also want to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the false fire alarm. We have taken this incident as an incentive to revisit our protocol for emergency situations and have already done intensive trainings with all members of staff. We have enforced the importance of handling these situations in the last weeks and I am sure that your situation will remain a one-time event only.

I still hope we can welcome you back to Meliá Vienna and I would love to assist with any further reservation requests.

Kind regards,

Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A newly opened hotel which is superbly appointed with excellent staff

Stayed in a level room (919) with a dual aspect view

Similar to other melia hotels

small but perfectly adequate gym

some areas of the hotel are still to be completed which will make it even better

very convenient for the Vienna International conference centre - I had booked this hotel thinking my conference was being held there (but it was actually at another venue - at messe conference centre - easily acceptable by underground)

Ate twice in the bar area as the weather was terrible and meals were very good

I accidentally left my bag in the taxi that took me to the airport - so I'd like to thank marieke schubert - who managed to not only locate my bag but managed to get my bag back to me and I still managed to get my flight.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and bright
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talataziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear talataziz,
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are very honored to receive such a great comment. Also many thanks for mentioning the effort from my colleague. It is our number one priority to assist all guests, even if they have already left the hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 361 in Vienna
1,295 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#75 of 361 in Vienna
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vienna

Address: Donau City Strasse 7, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £100 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Melia Vienna Austria's tallest skyscraper "Donau-City Tower", designed by French star architect Dominique Perrault, is the new home to Melia Vienna. The 220 meters and 58 floor building is also the first sustainable or "GreenBuilding" in Austria. Melia Vienna offers 253 spacious guest rooms, including 14 design suites, ensuring that there is something to suit every taste. All rooms are equipped with floor to ceiling windows and offer spectacular views of the Danube and the city. The hotel boasts 1,079 sq m of flexible event space, the Grand Ball Room offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner while eight smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private company meetings. WINING AND DINING Enjoy an array of Austrian and international cuisine in our restaurant on the 57th floor, enjoying a breathtaking view over the city Continue your night out on the highest level in Austria (220m) at our roof top bar with DJ at the weekends Or simply visit our Lobby bar and restaurant - Flow - to try one of our after-work cocktails, get in touch with Viennese coffee culture or local cuisine MEETINGS Design your event in our 1,089 sqm of flexible meeting rooms. The Melia Event Space (495 sqm) offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner, while 8 smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private meetings. All meeting rooms offer natural daylight, LCD projectors, screens and latest technical standards LOCATION The upcoming "Danube City" business district with the Austria Center Vienna and offices of the United Nations (UNO) is the home to the new Melia Vienna, The hotel in the heart of the Danube City is located next to the 21.5km long Danube Island recreation area, the Danube park and the old Danube. The underground station "Kaisermuhlen/VIC" located next to the hotel connects our guests with the historical city center "St. Stephans Square"., within 8 minutes. Vienna International Airport can be reached via the motorway within only twenty minutes. Points of interest: Danube Island (100m) Austria Centre Vienna (300m) Reed Messe Vienna (3,3km) United Nations -UNO City (400m) Amusement park "Prater" with Viennese giant ferryswheel (5 km) Historical City Center St. Stephan's Square (5,8 km) ViennaInternational Airport (21,4km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing