We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Vienna”
Review of Melia Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Vienna
Ranked #51 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Vienna”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the Melia Vienna. Fabulous hotel but a little too far out of the main city area. It is about 5-6 stops on the uban (metro) but we found the underground train easy to use after the first time we used it. We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel (20 euro) and then used the UBan thereafter. Vienna overall is expensive so be prepared. The hotel breakfast was 26 euro each so we did not have the breakfast there. The bar was also very expensive. The hotel staff were excellent. The concierge so helpful. He gave us brilliant advise and made bookings for us and advised us on the best means of transport and which stop to get off at. Overall the staff were excellent but the hotel overall is expensive and little bit out of the city center. Very quite and a really lovely hotel with beautiful views of the Danube and the city. You can go to the 57th floor and the view is unreal. Hotel highly recommended if you can afford to pay a little extra.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are of a high standard in this hotel as it is new and very modern. Just be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    474
    148
    58
    40
See reviews for
240
847
41
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent 4 nights here for business in July and am disappointed. The hotel is a classic case of style over substance.
Location is in the business area of Donau City. If you work here, fine. If you are a tourist, it's depressing concrete surroundings. The underground is very close, so that helps to get out quickly.
Standard rooms are small. So small that they have installed 200cm beds. Anyone over 185m (6"2) will have their feet dangling over the end over the bed.
The beds are hard. Tastes differ concerning bed firmness, but a luxury hotel should have box-spring/divan beds. The Melia beds are far from luxurious, comfortable or up-market. Probably the most important aspect of any hotel, and Melia does not deliver.
Melia adverts the great views from the rooms. I was looking over a car park..
Dirty curtains, stain on my bedcover. Considering the deep carpets throughout the rooms, it makes you wonder how clean the place is in general.
The bathrooms are spacious, that's a plus. No bathtub.
Breakfast very 3-start standard. No fresh juices, very simple meat/cheese selection etc.
Service so-so. The telephone in my room didn't work properly, and when I did manage to get a line to reception, half the time no one answered late in the evening.
On our question whether the hotel has a spa, the receptionist told us that (as hotel guests) we can use the JohnHarris fitness/spa-club in the same building. Off we went, only to be charged €38 for the pleasure... Great info, receptionist. Remember to tell your future guests that the spa comes with a cost.
In summary, spectacularly average, not a recommendation unless you get some under €100 special and need to be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVDL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Slicco,

Thank you for your honest comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is taken very seriously.
The Danube City is a up and coming neighborhood and is considered one of the fastest growing areas in Vienna. Not only is it the location of the biggest conference center in Europe it also is the home of the famous Danube island which is Vienna’s own recreational area and space. Of course it is not the bustling city center but what you don’t receive in tranquility and laid back atmosphere there you definitely receive with us. Also our connection to the city center is great, it merely takes 10 minutes from the hotel to the heart of the city.

Our Meliá Guestrooms all have a minimum size of 24 square meters which compared to similar properties is totally in line. If you consider the unique floor to ceiling windows with great views you might even have the feeling of being in a much bigger room. We offer King Size beds and twin. As I can perceive you had a king size bed which is 200 x 200 CM large. I myself am over 1,90 meters and have no issues with my feet dangling over the bed. I believe you would not find a hotel in Vienna with bigger beds. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our mattresses. Meliá uses Flex matrasses which are perceived to be of the highest quality and travelers sometimes chose Meliá Hotels just because of these.

I appreciate your concern with the overall cleanliness of the hotel but I can assure you that we have very well trained staff who address all cleanliness issues straight away and we have not yet received any complaints in this regard. I am sorry to hear your curtains had stains on them, we have just recently finished cleaning all of them, this is definitely not in line with our high standards.

We are constantly trying to improve our breakfast service and your comment will be a topic in our next meeting regarding the selection of products. I personally like the suggestion about offering fresh juices.

I would like to thank you once again for the feedback and I hope you will gives us another chance to change your mind of our hotel. I am at your service if you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Florian Augustin
@Florian.Augustin@melia.com
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I spend a night at this hotel on our euro vacation. The hotel is very modern, with spacious rooms and beautiful views of the city. Staff was very attentive and friendly, providing us with maps and information on the city. The only negative experience was actually trying to find the hotel. There are no signs on the hotel or anywhere near this hotel that help you find it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingFalcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Melia and was very impressed with the quality of the building/rooms etc. The views from the rooms are breathtaking and from the 11th floor it felt like lying in the clouds. The interior design of the rooms and mod cons are second to none. However, the service is not great. The breakfast is very average, and the room service was expensive but tasted awful. On the upside, it is a great hotel in a new district, with a subway not more than 3 minutes walk from the entrance, taking you straight into the city centre. It's lovely to retreat to a quiet location after a busy day of sightseeing, and you are also on the Danube with some select restaurants/cafes.

The hotel does have a rooftop restaurant and bar which is supposed to be fantastic but, annoyingly, I wasn't told that it would be closed for 2 weeks (which fell during the time of my visit). Despite this and on the whole, I would definitely stay again and the Melia chain is always fantastic and a true 5 star in build quality.

Room Tip: The higher the better! (unless you're afraid of heights, of course)...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would return to this hotel even if only to enjoy the views of the Danube and the city from the room, ever changing with the time of day and probably with every season. A beautiful hotel in a striking landmark in the city of Vienna, a tall glass sphere rising into the sky commanding your view as soon as you get out of the Uban (subway) U1 line Kaisermuhlen - Vic station which is a pleasant 5 minute walk away from the hotel, which will connect you with the city center Stephansplatz in about 12 minutes (6 subway stops).

Our twin room was very spacious and modern with two walls made of floor-to-ceiling glass to enable you to fully enjoy those fantastic views; equipped with your own Nespresso machine, flat screen TV, room safe, various sizes of pillows, comfortable mattresses with nice light duvet and sheets of good thread count. Spacious bathroom was separated from light colored room by a black wall accessible from both sides of the room with two faucets in an elegant black granite counter, separate shower and toilet with excellent fittings, hair dryer and beautiful amenities by Loewe. Air conditioning room temperature control was also perfect, in spite of the hot summer day and the huge glass walls.

Although seemingly located in a quiet part of the city, there were excellent cafes, pubs along the riverfront (2 minute walk from hotel) with a terrific café/pub Rumba and Mambo that served delicious bar chow, friendly service, great drinks, non-stop salsa and mambo dancing till 4am.

Buffet breakfast at the hotel was also very good with wide range of hot and cold dishes, breads and allowing you to order your eggs and omelets sitting down, with champagne among the drink choices!

Gym is basic and free for guests' use with all new equipment.

However, I think this hotel needs to polish up on personnel training and management. The pleasant staff at the restaurant looked slow and awkward in their movements, dropping a loaded tray and getting rather harried when the customer traffic increased (understandable in a new establishment). I was quoted a flat rate of Euro 36 by reception for the taxi to the airport (standard for Vienna). However, the very slick porter who brought down my bags said it would cost a few euro more and called for a taxi that cost Euro40. I felt that the slick porter made extra out of this but after a token protest, gave in to save time and aggravation for such a little amount. It did however, diminish the good feelings about this hotel and their staff.

The only housekeeping staff I encountered did not seem to be in uniform (I found her at the door to the service area-maybe she is not a staff of the hotel?), having on a black T-shirt and jeans and our only interaction was when the elevators did not seem to be functioning and after trying the elevators herself, she advised me to call reception as she couldn't raise them on her phone. The elevators really conked out and were inoperable for about 10 minutes that day and wifi was out for a couple of hours on the day I arrived.

Easily rectified little annoyances that management can see to that will make future visits perfect, I'm sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be built with a view and this is in a quiet part of town, so noise is not an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a working trip to Vienna. Hotel has only recently opened and occupies the first 15 floors of the latest and tallest building in Vienna, but beside the Danube.

The hotel is comfortable, service is good. Beds are high quality and the room facilities are excellent. The only current downsides are that is located in an area of development that was very quiet, but hopefully this will change with time. The other downside is that it is not near the main tourist attractions, but on the other hand it is very close to the U1 line, 10 minutes from Stephanplatz.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Recently stayed here on a business trip and the building is spectacular. The height of the building really makes you look twice. Everything is of high quality and the service was very good. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Flatscreen TV, large beds, and comfy seating all feature which make the rooms a great base to relax from. The bathroom was very nice and the shower features a tinted glass that looks into the bedroom which is very cool. The restaurant and the bar on the 57th and 58th floors have to be visited as the views across the river Danube overlooking Vienna are incredible. Go up at night to see the whole city lit up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian_FA, Manager at Melia Vienna, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for this great comment. I have shared it already with the team!
Small hint for next time: come 30 minutes before sundown to the bar, its simply amazing!

Looking forward to your next visit,

Kind regards
Florian Augustin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#36 of 360 in Vienna
1,187 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand
Grand Ferdinand
#89 of 360 in Vienna
355 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vienna

Property: Melia Vienna
Address: Donau City Strasse 7, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Melia Vienna Austria's tallest skyscraper "Donau-City Tower", designed by French star architect Dominique Perrault, is the new home to Melia Vienna. The 220 meters and 58 floor building is also the first sustainable or "GreenBuilding" in Austria. Melia Vienna offers 253 spacious guest rooms, including 14 design suites, ensuring that there is something to suit every taste. All rooms are equipped with floor to ceiling windows and offer spectacular views of the Danube and the city. The hotel boasts 1,079 sq m of flexible event space, the Grand Ball Room offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner while eight smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private company meetings. WINING AND DINING Enjoy an array of Austrian and international cuisine in our restaurant on the 57th floor, enjoying a breathtaking view over the city Continue your night out on the highest level in Austria (220m) at our roof top bar with DJ at the weekends Or simply visit our Lobby bar and restaurant - Flow - to try one of our after-work cocktails, get in touch with Viennese coffee culture or local cuisine MEETINGS Design your event in our 1,089 sqm of flexible meeting rooms. The Melia Event Space (495 sqm) offers the perfect setting for an exclusive gala dinner, while 8 smaller meeting rooms are ideal for more private meetings. All meeting rooms offer natural daylight, LCD projectors, screens and latest technical standards LOCATION The upcoming "Danube City" business district with the Austria Center Vienna and offices of the United Nations (UNO) is the home to the new Melia Vienna, The hotel in the heart of the Danube City is located next to the 21.5km long Danube Island recreation area, the Danube park and the old Danube. The underground station "Kaisermuhlen/VIC" located next to the hotel connects our guests with the historical city center "St. Stephans Square"., within 8 minutes. Vienna International Airport can be reached via the motorway within only twenty minutes. Points of interest: Danube Island (100m) Austria Centre Vienna (300m) Reed Messe Vienna (3,3km) United Nations -UNO City (400m) Amusement park "Prater" with Viennese giant ferryswheel (5 km) Historical City Center St. Stephan's Square (5,8 km) ViennaInternational Airport (21,4km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Melia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing