We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apartment was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Ranked #5 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the Stadnest Top 3 apartment in May 2014. It was perfect. The owner, Barbara, is a very experienced traveler so we found that the apartment was stocked with everything that we needed, but it was uncluttered and had a very peaceful, airy, homey, comfortable feel to it. We have stayed in a number of apartments and simple hotels over the years and this was easily the nicest.

Our two concerns coming into our stay were that the apartment might be a little loud and that since we were relatively close to a train station the neighborhood might not be the nicest. Both concerns ended up being unfounded. The apartment is on a quiet, clean, residential street and furthermore, Barbara had had new windows installed just days before we arrived and they really blocked any sound. Beyond our street, the neighborhoods nearby were also very pleasant. We actually were incredibly happy because we ended up getting take-out for dinner most nights (we were traveling with our 20-month-old daughter and it was easier to stay in at night) and we found that there were a lot of really tasty, inexpensive, fun restaurants to choose from within a short walk from the apartment. We also loved being so close to the train station because we found that we could get everywhere in the city that we wanted to go very easily. To that end, we had brought a guide book with us but ended up getting most of our information and ideas from comprehensive and well-organized binder of information that Barbara has put together for her guests.

All in all, this was a wonderful trip and the cornerstone of the trip was this fantastic apartment. Barbara is helpful and incredibly easy to work with! We obviously recommend this apartment very highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed 4 Nights at Stadnest B& B during our recent trip to Vienna. Barbara was very helpful with many suggestions and tips for us to make the most if our stay in Vienna. The B&B location is central and close to train station, tram stops, and underground line 3.
We stayed in the Burma room with a king bed and sofa and it felt much more spacious and comfortable than a hotel room. Bathroom was small but very adequate with shower, sink and toilet. There is another guest room in the B&B, but the walls are so soundproof, noise was never a problem. We stayed in the room at the front of the building and because we like to sleep with windows open, the early morning construction in the street would sometimes wake us up. If you want quiet, ask for the other room facing courtyard.
What I enjoyed the most was use of the kitchen for making tea in the evenings. Although we did not prepare any meals, the kitchen was fully equipped to do so. Breakfasts were delicious with lots of choices. Barbara provides a breakfast sheet daily and you can select what you want for the next day.
I would highly recommend the Stadnest B&B for your stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muttondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stadtnest worked extremely well for us three ladies travelling through Austria. Barbara was very helpful with all the plans and arrival information prior to and at our arrival. Her information about commuting arount the city, restaurants and touring Vienna was fantastic. She was accommodating in every way and we would return to stay at Apartment 3 in a minute. Many thanks to Barbara for all her help with our lost luggage and in helping our 4 nights in Vienna be not only comfortable but full of fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLK350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent 5 enjoyable nights in Vienna at Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast.

There were 4 of us (2 couples) occupying both rooms ("Burma Zimmer" and "Hof Zimmer") of the B & B. Each room was spacious and had its own bathroom. There was an additional bathroom in the hall, and the kitchen (where the breakfast was served) was available to be used, so in essence for 2 couples travelling together, we had access to a spacious 2 bedroom and 3 bath apartment in a lovely Viennese building, at a reasonable rate, with a breakfast prepared for us by the hostess.

The hostess, Barbara, went above and beyond in so many ways; asking a kind and obliging German couple (see their review) to move to the studio apartment not far away, so that the 4 of us could stay together in the B & B; making reservations at a nearby restaurant for us on the first night of our stay so that we would not go hungry; contacting an apotheke on a Sunday when it was closed, so that we could pick up a tensor bandage to deal with a sprained ankle; arranging for tickets for us at Schloss Schonbrunn so we would not have to stand in line; advising us of of the festivals taking place during our stay; and on many occasions, providing us tips and insights to how to best enjoy Vienna (there is a binder full of information in each room).

The B & B is located in Mariahilf, the 6th District, only a few minutes walk from Mariahilferstrasse, a street that is home to endless options for shopping. The U3 underground line stops on Mariahilferstrasse, and will bring you to the historic centre and its many sights within minutes.

We recommend staying here for a visit to Vienna!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K&L092906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you are in Vienna and want to stay in a very welcoming, clean,comfortable B&B,look no further.
If you are looking for a convenient city location with a friendly, helpful host who serves a great breakfast,look no further.
You just ticked all the boxes and need look no further

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potter3875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Originally, we booked a room in the B&B by e-mail which worked very smoothly. Barbara Lenz reacted nearly immediately and provided us with helpful information how to reach the B&B by public transport. Some time afterwards, she contacted us to ask if we would mind to switch to one of the self-catering apartments so 4 Canadians could book both B&B rooms. That was okay for us, so we ended up in the Apartment, but had breakfast in the B&B as a bonus. Thus, I can comment on both types of accommodation.

Location:
B&B and apartments are only 3 min walk just around the corner from each other. It is an easy 5-10 min walk to the Westbahnhof, one of the nodal points of Vienna’s public transport (which is actually as good as its reputation – nearly all tubes go every 5 min or less) where e.g. the airport shuttle bus has a stop, too. Alternatively, you can just walk along the shopping street Mariahilfer Straße to reach the city centre.
There are plenty of restaurants and supermarkets in walking distance.
The residential neighbourhood made a safe impression on me. It should be no problem to walk there at night.

Service:
To stay in a B&B is completely different than staying in an anonymous hotel. Barbara Lenz was full of helpful information what to see and do, how to get there etc. She provided us every morning with up-to-date news about concerts, flea markets, free entrance to museums and other attractions of the day. It was definitely not all typical tourist staff – we actually met her by chance on the flea market. In the rooms you will find travel books and a big folder with her personal recommendations for sights, guided tours, cafes and restaurants (all in German and English). She even provided a mobile phone for free calls within Vienna and to reach her in case of an emergency. We could leave our luggage in the apartment after check-out which was very welcome.

Apartment
We stayed in Apartment Top 1 which was very well equipped, especially the kitchen. I have been to so many self-catering equipments without even salt, so I highly appreciated not only salt and pepper but also herbs, tea, spreads for breakfast and an odd assortment of further groceries. You have a fridge, microwave, oven, cooker, enough dishes…. as well as a corner seat and a TV. As far as I remember they even plan to add a dishwasher.
The bathroom is very small and without a window, but it was perfectly okay for a few days.
The double bed was extremely comfy, and I slept like a log. The computer with free internet access was a nice treat.
There was no time to use the offered bench in the small inner courtyard.
In general, the apartment is in a typical Vienna old building, but furniture etc. was very modern (IKEA charm). Oh, yes, I nearly forgot: It is on the ground floor, so you don’t have to haul your trunk up any stairs.

B&B
The B&B is in a typical and charming old building, too. It is located in the 3rd floor (which is 4th floor for Americans), but there is a lift which reaches the landing between 2nd and 3rd floor, so you only have to carry the luggage for half a storey.
The 2 B&B rooms share a tiny vestibule with a computer table and a kitchen. I’m not sure about the rooms themselves, but space seemed to be restricted (no surprise – renovated Vienna old buildings in the heart of the city have a goodly price per square metre).

Breakfast
Breakfast was very good, although it was not as extensive as hot breakfast in some Canadian or US B&Bs. You order from a list of possible dishes the day before. Barbara Lenz offers mainly organic or fair-trade products. Her jam is home-made and especially the home-made rolls were delicious.

Thank you for everything, Barbara! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Max 10 minute walk from Westbahnhof (main train station) and approx 25-30 easy walk into the city centre via one of the main shopping streets in Vienna (Mariahilferstrasse). Also very close to underground & tram system.

We stayed in the Burma room, a huge room with king-sized bed, plenty of storage, and very quiet. The bathroom was rather small but adequate.
Guests can also use the kitchen to make coffee or heat up a meal in the microwave (which we did to save money on restaurant dining).

Barbara is a very attentive host - any issues or queries are dealt with quickly.
Being a Vienna native, she is very knowledgeable about the city and also made suggestions regarding some of the little back streets and alley ways. Although it was a challenge finding some of these out-of-the-way places, it gave us a 'feel' for the city and we saw some wonderful old residential buildings, not to mention all the little cafes and restaurants hiding in some of the back streets.

Barbara has created a comprehensive information folder (in both German & English) and it was extremely helpful to find clear instructions as to how to get to many of the main sights and local (and not so local) restaurants.
W definitely recommend Mill restaurant, about 5 mins walk from the b & b.

We very much enjoyed our 6 night stay at Stadtnest and would have no hesitation in staying there should we ever get to Vienna again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 359 in Vienna
1,365 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,486 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment

Address: Garbergasse 16, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B and self-catering Apartments in central location, off Vienna's biggest shopping street. Nice residential neighbourhood close to all sights. Non-smoking. Full B&B service at B&B location (organic food). Self-catering at Apartments. Free Internet access (Wifi and ether net). B&B access with elevator to third floor. Apartments on ground floor and first floor. Your hosts look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtnest Bed And Breakfast And Apartment
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast And Apartment Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing