We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Ranked #4 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing trip!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to Austria for our honeymoon last summer and our three days in Vienna was the last thing. We stayed in apartment 1. Barbara showed us around in the city and explained to us where was groceries stores, restaurants, etc. It's really close to the big streets and everything you need, but the area of the B'nB is really quiet and peacefull.
We really enjoyed staying there and if we are able to go again, we will definitely stay there.

I strongly recommend it!!

Room Tip: for couples or couple with one kid, we recommend apartment 1 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLB150613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
136
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Barbara is an excellent host! She came down from the building to welcome us and she was very nice to show us around how to turn on and off those electrical appliances. (very high tech!)
And she has two thick booklets about where to go or eat in Vienna, the guides are available in both English and German. She also showed up a lot of places on the map, to make sure we did enjoy every bit of our time in Vienna.
Her breakfast is highlight of the day. A lot of choices every day and everything is from organic products.
Needless to say, the room is clean and tidy. I felt really comfortable like at home when at times I had to stay indoor to wait for the rain to stop.
I would definitely return to this lovely place if I ever go Vienna again in the future!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 420kellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well worth it's #1 rating. The B&B is very clean and lovely and there are lots of little extra touches that make it a very comfortable stay. There's a library full of Vienna travel guides so you don't even have to bring your own; there's a kitchen with lots of tea and coffee if you want. There's also a computer (we didn't need to use it) and you can even rent DVD's from her to watch. Barbara gave us lots of great tips and she has a very comprehensive guide to all things Vienna. She's also very up to date on local festivals and events as well as great places to shop and eat. Breakfast was very comprehensive with a focus on what's fresh and local.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank malamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amouage, Owner at Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for the time and effort to write this very kind review. I am always glad if I can contribute to make my guests' stay in Vienna worthwhile! Also, I am happy to hear that my advise and recommendations were helpful during your stay. As you could probably sense I really like my hometown ;-) and am happy to share my knowledge about the great sights and events it has to offer. All the best to Canada! Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights, while in Vienna, & really enjoyed being further from the crowded areas. Most of the time, we walked everywhere, as "old town" was only a mile away. However, transportation was readily available when we did get tired! Barbara was a great hostess with plenty of recommendation for restaurants, etc. I'd say that the B&B is perfect for two couples traveling together, as we could comfortably keep our bedroom doors open while socializing, which also allowed for better air circulation. The kitchen dining area was cozy, which also worked fine with us, as 2 couples, but could be a little awkward otherwise. COMFORTABLE beds was a huge plus!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amouage, Owner at Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Greetings from Vienna,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this informative and kind review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Stadtnest and found the location convenient. Indeed, thanks to Vienna's great public transport system, all places are in easy reach ... and for the more sporty guests, the Old Town can also be done by walking. Just for the benefit of anyone interested in staying with us and not traveling with friends: Usually guests who do not travel together are not seated at the same table. There is the one table in the kitchen (where you and your friends had breakfast) and there is an extra table in the entrance area which can be extended into a full and comfortable-for-two breakfast table. So normally each double room has its own breakfast table and guests will only be seated together if they want that. I just wanted to clarify this to make sure future guests understand the situation at the BnB.
Thanks again for making Stadtnest the home base for your stay!
All the best!
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I can see why this place is rated the first of all B&Bs in Vienna. It's because the owner Barbara is just incredibly helpful and knowledgeable of what travelers need when staying away from home. She was helpful and equipped us with all that we needed to know before we got there. The breakfast is really good and she makes you fresh eggs everyday and you can change up your breakfast menu. There are two rooms in the B&B but she also rents out an apartment for larger groups of people in the same building. We stayed in the Burma room which is the biggest room we stayed in out of all the B&Bs we visited across Switzerland with a great bathroom and a fan for the summer months. It's also centrally located with several amazing restaurants in walking distance and the main train station of West Bahnhoff. We loved Barbara's informative guide for visitors that gives you information on all the sights and sounds and how to get there with train and tram routes and generally just enjoyed chatting with her and sharing stories about our travels. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable, affordable, well located place to stay when in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TequilaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the Stadnest Top 3 apartment in May 2014. It was perfect. The owner, Barbara, is a very experienced traveler so we found that the apartment was stocked with everything that we needed, but it was uncluttered and had a very peaceful, airy, homey, comfortable feel to it. We have stayed in a number of apartments and simple hotels over the years and this was easily the nicest.

Our two concerns coming into our stay were that the apartment might be a little loud and that since we were relatively close to a train station the neighborhood might not be the nicest. Both concerns ended up being unfounded. The apartment is on a quiet, clean, residential street and furthermore, Barbara had had new windows installed just days before we arrived and they really blocked any sound. Beyond our street, the neighborhoods nearby were also very pleasant. We actually were incredibly happy because we ended up getting take-out for dinner most nights (we were traveling with our 20-month-old daughter and it was easier to stay in at night) and we found that there were a lot of really tasty, inexpensive, fun restaurants to choose from within a short walk from the apartment. We also loved being so close to the train station because we found that we could get everywhere in the city that we wanted to go very easily. To that end, we had brought a guide book with us but ended up getting most of our information and ideas from comprehensive and well-organized binder of information that Barbara has put together for her guests.

All in all, this was a wonderful trip and the cornerstone of the trip was this fantastic apartment. Barbara is helpful and incredibly easy to work with! We obviously recommend this apartment very highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed 4 Nights at Stadnest B& B during our recent trip to Vienna. Barbara was very helpful with many suggestions and tips for us to make the most if our stay in Vienna. The B&B location is central and close to train station, tram stops, and underground line 3.
We stayed in the Burma room with a king bed and sofa and it felt much more spacious and comfortable than a hotel room. Bathroom was small but very adequate with shower, sink and toilet. There is another guest room in the B&B, but the walls are so soundproof, noise was never a problem. We stayed in the room at the front of the building and because we like to sleep with windows open, the early morning construction in the street would sometimes wake us up. If you want quiet, ask for the other room facing courtyard.
What I enjoyed the most was use of the kitchen for making tea in the evenings. Although we did not prepare any meals, the kitchen was fully equipped to do so. Breakfasts were delicious with lots of choices. Barbara provides a breakfast sheet daily and you can select what you want for the next day.
I would highly recommend the Stadnest B&B for your stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 114 in Vienna
238 reviews
Kaisermühlen
The Rooms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment

Property: Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment
Address: Garbergasse 16, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B and self-catering Apartments in central location, off Vienna's biggest shopping street. Nice residential neighbourhood close to all sights. Non-smoking. Full B&B service at B&B location (organic food). Self-catering at Apartments. Free Internet access (Wifi and ether net). B&B access with elevator to third floor. Apartments on ground floor and first floor. Your hosts look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtnest Bed And Breakfast And Apartment
Stadtnest Bed & Breakfast And Apartment Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing