We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Geblergasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Geblergasse
Ranked #214 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were in Vienna for a concert and some visiting, so we did not spent a lot of time in the hotel.
I liked that the room was very clean and the breakfast had a lot to chose from. The room had the windows facing the back of the building and it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_christa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    224
    151
    37
    35
See reviews for
95
177
54
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rooms are not too clean, but has everything you need for couple nights' stay.
Wifi is decent, fast enough for backpackers.
Neighborhood could somewhat scare you during the night.
Reception wasn't kind.
This hotel is pretty bad, but the price makes up for it.
Remember, it's not easy to find cheap hotels in Vienna.

Plus, Alserstrase, the nearest station is currently on construction.

며칠 여행 하실 백팩커에겐 추천할 만 합니다. 오스트리아에 기본적인 시설이 완비되고
이정도로 싼 호텔이 많진 않습니다.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel two nights. We booked this hotel because they have a carage. The carage was only good thing in this hotel. The room was simple but it was very worn. The staff were tired and unfriendly. It was disgusting that people can smoke in the lobby, so the lobby was full of smoke! We take the breakfast only one morning because it was very poor. The breakfast not include the room price, you have to pay for that 5e. Location is about 30 min from the center by walking. There is a metro station near the hotel, about 10 min by walking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trawellerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel as a cheap 2 night stay in Vienna. We saw that a lot of the reviews were decent and the price was quite cheap so we gave it a go, since we wouldn't be in the room that much anyway. We got to the hotel at about 1pm, now don't be fooled by the lobby/reception area because this has all been done up to look clean and modern.

The first thing you smell when you come in, is the strong cigarette smoke, with people smoking in the reception area. We got our key and headed to our room and as soon as you leave the reception area the place is a joke. There are big marks all over pretty much every wall you look at in the hallways. Its extremely run down, but not in a rustic type of way, just in a dirty cheap way. We got to our room and the smell of smoke was ridiculous. We were shocked since we had asked for a non smoking room. We started to have a look around the room and it was just awful. I've never been in such a dirty hotel room before. There were mud/dirt and pen marks all over the walls, which can easily be wiped off but it seems no-one could be bothered. The veil curtain which is meant to be a transparent, white colour was stained a disgusting yellowish/dark colour from all the smoke and they stank.(Picture below) The windows had a sticky tar kind of texture to it. The room was just dirty everywhere you looked. All the furniture was chipped and extremely run down. Of course we were not going to stay in a smoking room which was beyond disgusting so my boyfriend contacted them and told them about the state of the place and how we had requested a non smoking room.

We were on the verge of leaving and finding another hotel until they offered us a non-smoking room on the top floor which the receptionist claimed to be bigger than the other one we had. We went up and of course the hallways and floors were all the same, dirty everywhere you looked and smelling of smoke. We went into this room and it was much smaller. This room didn't smell of smoke but it was still a state. There were cobwebs underneath the furniture and going along the skirting boards! Once again all the furniture was chipped everywhere and there were big dirt/pencil marks all over the walls. The 'hotel' is not in the centre either and I'm pretty sure you could find a much better hotel nearer to the city centre.
We just decided we could not stay in this hotel so we searched for other options and decided to leave. Of course we had to tell the reception staff about this and she tried to say we needed to pay for the first nights stay. When we told her about the cobwebs and dirty walls her response was that the 'cleaners aren't here' which made absolutely no sense, since the bed covers had been folded and ready for guests. Its just pure laziness and I don't care what the price is, I would not have stayed there. I have stayed in much better hostels than this hotel. We managed to leave and didn't pay the price for the first nights stay, and we're very glad to be out of there.

Personally, I don't understand the positive reviews at all on this place, because it makes you feel dirty just being in there. It needs some serious work done before I would even call it a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaPorter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

stayed just for 2 nights while visiting Vienna. The rooms are quite tiny....but for £33 a night over Christmas I didn’t expect much. Breakfast was ok...but on the last day we paid for breakfast but the breakfast lady was late to work...so ended up missing breakfast as we had to catch a train to Innsbruck. Vienna is a beautiful city...but didn’t like the people much. They looked at us as if we had just landed from space....may be because we were tanned skinned. Also went to a Viennese restaurants recommended by the B&B for dinner on Christmas eve and we were treated really badly. Even on their metro we received so much of stares...grrrrr! However in Innsbruck there were no stares or gazes on the roads which I was very happy with. Made it much more combatable spending my hard earned cash in Austria!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashan3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in a double room for 2 nights.

The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom nice and clean. The heating was excellent. Sometimes you could hear the guests from the other rooms talking through the wall which was the only downside.

The staff is just average hotel staff. They give you the information you need, but not very enthusiastic.

The location is OK, near the metro station, though it takes some time to come to the center cause you need to change lines.

It's a good place to stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzuvejnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It is always difficult to find a place for a family of four to stay. Hotel Geblergasse is a few blocks from a metro station and had plenty of room for us without having anyone sleeping on a couch. Accomodations were a bit basic, but that suits us just fine. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was basic and not worth the money, but is convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_Zirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#268 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Hadrigan
Hotel Hadrigan
#293 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Hietzing
Hotel Ekazent
Hotel Ekazent
#202 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Hotel Carina
Hotel Carina
#308 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geblergasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geblergasse

Property: Hotel Geblergasse
Address: Geblergasse 21, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geblergasse 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Geblergasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geblergasse Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing