We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good surprise”

Hotel Pension Lumes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pension Lumes
Ranked #295 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Vienna
1 review
“A good surprise”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

In the Vienna center. Good quality for price. Pleasant welcome.
A little bit noisy in the rooms.
Calm situation
Be careful with the taxi from hotel to airport : he has asked 40 + return !! It's very unpleasant

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Henri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
4
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We chose a four bed apartment at Lumes for its central location and a reasonable list price. But, it does not deserve the stars it advertises. The toilet stank, there were no drapes on the windows so that people from the walk-trough gallery could look onto our bed, none of the doors could be closed to latch and the furniture was shabby. However, the sheets and the towels were clean. It looked as if the apartment was furnished from a second-hand market. If you want to be in the 'Innerstadt' and tolerate the rest - Lumes may be a choice. But, for that price you may also be better off somewhere else.

Room Tip: Read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We arrived late in Vienna, finding the place wasn't difficult, the location is very central. We chose the 90sqm appartment. The room was not clean, the furniture was 50 years old, to enter the apartment we had to cross a inner yard balcony. 2 star is a overkill for this "place" that advertises as a four-star hotel.
When we faced the reception that nothing looked as it was shown on pictures or from normal understanding of a 4 star hotel, they threatened to call police (!!!!) and charged the first night anyways.
When in Vienna try to find any other hotel, and by any I mean any other will be probably beter.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Serghei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel is located on the 2nd floor of what appears to be a large classic multi-story apartment complex. The location of the hotel is very central, just minutes away from city center, the park and many of the attractions in Vienna.

Rooms: The room I stayed in was very large and clean. Though the bathroom was tiny and only fits 1 person at a time. Shower only, no bathtub. The rooms are a bit old and need renovation. The biggest downside is that the room has no air conditioning. When we were there, it was rather humid.

For the price, it's a good value.

Service: There was no service after midnight. Even the reception was closed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubai_Adventurer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This was a truely single room (ie single bed) and a small room but very comfortable and for the price it was terrific. This was a big deal for me as a solo traveller b/c accommodation can really hit hard when you are not sharing the cost! Unless you like to spend a lot of time in your room you'll be happy. Everything was very clean and neat & the staff friendly and welcoming. I found the location in the middle of District one excellent but also quiet as it's on a small street. Good places to eat nearby. The breakfast which is included was also good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo_traveller056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The major advantage of this hotel is its location, as mentioned in other reviews. It calls itself a "Pension" which probably would best translate as a family hotel where one can also get meals, but here this refers only to breakfast. The rooms are standard, the carpets slightly filthy, the shower on the small side and rather simple. There is free wifi internet, and fast too, so that's an asset as I regularly have to work in the evenings. The breakfast room is small and dark and the breakfast simple, no espresso, no croissant, just filter coffee, bread rolls, yoghurts, orange juice and the usual cold cuts, cheese and butter. The hotel occupies only the second floor on this stately building, with a completely untrustworthy and very small elevator serving it; I always preferred to take the stairs. The staff seems to be entirely Russian (and most guests too), but friendly and helpful when needed. The hotel does not deserve fours stars at all, three at most, and at 138 Euros per night for a double (single was not available) I find it rather steeply priced.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

the pension is small clean and very friendly the receptionist could not do enough for myself and my friend .they kept our luggage as we had a late train to romania.she photocopied our passports for us free of charge as she was very concerned that we were two women traveling alone to romania by train.breakfast was very relaxed and food super .rooms very clean staff super .would def stay there again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — looked into a courtyard no real view
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bevySomersetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#187 of 360 in Vienna
328 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#135 of 360 in Vienna
205 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#74 of 360 in Vienna
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#131 of 360 in Vienna
262 reviews
Inner City
Mailberger Hof
Mailberger Hof
#171 of 360 in Vienna
247 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Lumes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Lumes

Property: Hotel Pension Lumes
Address: Weihburggasse 18-20, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pension Lumes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pension Lumes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumes Co Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing