We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Ranked #191 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was our second stay here, and it felt like coming home. It is a small and comfortable hotel on the upper floors of a building on Vienna's busiest shopping street, bustling by day and quiet at night. It is beautifully located, a block from a subway station, just a couple of stops from St. Stephan's Platz one way and the Westbahnhof the other, and a comfortable walk from the Ringstrasse and Naschmarkt, very near the restaurants of the Spittalberg area. The host, Zoltan Esti, is very accomodating and helpful, arranged to have our laundry done and arranged for a ride to the airport. Comfortable beds, good breakfasts, and a computer in the lobby for our use.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    43
    16
    3
    9
See reviews for
36
49
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
motherlodec6
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I booked our reservation six months in advance of our stay. While we were traveling around Europe, I got a message telling me there was a problem with our reservation (from a third-party booking agency). Because I didn't know who this agency was, I contacted the hotel directly about our reservation. I was told they indeed canceled our reservation-but they did have "one" room left (of course, that would have been MY room they just cancelled). I could, however, make a new reservation, but because congress was in-town and they were fully booked it was a significant increase in-cost. (That would have totally blew our budget!) It appears they "cancelled" our reservation, but when we called about it it - they wanted more money. They put us in a horrible position trying to find a hotel, at the last minute, in a city where all the hotel rooms were sold-out. This is why I booked six months in advance. We walked by this hotel during our stay and "checked it out' to see where we would have been staying. The entrance was in a scary alley-type/hall-way which was all under construction and the elevator was very tiny. Our friends stayed at a hotel next door and complained about the noise - so I can imagine this property was loud, too. Awful - I would not recommend!

Room Tip: To find a good room - choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherlodec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

With booking.com and my IPad an error was made and a reservation was made for a night I was already booked elsewhere. The gentleman called at midnight asking if I was coming and I told him a mistake had been made and I wanted the next two nights. The price went up 50 euro for the next two nights. He gave me no refund for the night the mistake was made. He tried to get us to pay cash but we raised a ruckus on that front. The rooms was incredibly small, the beds were funky, and the street noise both nights from late night partiers was terrible. I would NOT recommend this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you do your homework on reading reviews and check the room out before you give payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just like in the other review I was taken aback when checking in because of the small elivator taking us to the 3rd floor and a locked door at the entrance to the Hotel. But my doubts were dispelled very quickly after an extremely friendly welcome by the owner of the Hotel. The room was pretty nice, very clean with a nice big and tidy bathroom. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. I slept away hardly waking up in the night. The only drawback (and it is not the Hotel's fault) is that it is increadibly noisy in the mornings startingt from around 6:30 am. There is a major renovation going on downstairs. Frankly speaking I don't know if the noise is made by them or people cleaning the steets. But be prepaired to lots of shouting and trucks unloading something really heavy. I can't say anything about the breakfast as I never used it.
The location of the Hotel is perfect to me. It has the U-bahn that will take you to most historical places. But actually you can reach them by walking if you are a fan of walks.
So, I recommend the Hotel if you don't mind early wake up ;)

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms facing the inner yard but if there are do ask for it because tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I had a great experience at Hotel Pension Corvinus. The family that owns the hotel was very friendly and welcoming, even making me breakfast on my last day when I had overslept and missed their breakfast time. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the hotel is really close to a major metro stop (and on a very tempting shopping street). I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonShapira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Pension Corvinus. We were a bit taken aback at first when we checked in and were told to not put the air conditioning below 24 degrees Celsius and the owner was quite abrasive about this. There was a heat wave happening and we worried about being too hot. Also, we were asked to pay for the nights as soon as we checked in--we hadn't even seen the room yet. We told him we would pay for the first night only in advance and that went fine. The owner seemed to lighten up after staying there for a day.
The wifi worked well. Bathroom was small, but tidy; there was a water sensor that was a bit touchy on the sink. The desk was staffed late, but the door was often locked and we needed to ring a bell.
Breakfast was nice and the room was clean and comfortable. As other reviews have said, the location is very good with access to the subway, lots of shopping and restaurants, and even an English language movie theater.
There is nothing wrong with the hotel, just be prepared to refuse to pay for your whole stay upfront, get receipts when you pay, and bump up the AC if you need to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great location near the U-3 U-bahn line. Although the hotel is well-marked, it's a bit hard to find the entrance and elevator up to the reception area. The room was clean and comfortable, which helps make for an enjoyable stay. WiFi worked well. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. For example, we had an early morning train and the staff had coffee and snacks ready for us before the official breakfast hours. We would definitely stay here again when in Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
#207 of 360 in Vienna
64 reviews
Neubau
Haydn Hotel Vienna
Haydn Hotel Vienna
#292 of 360 in Vienna
76 reviews
Neubau
Hotel-Pension Continental
Hotel-Pension Continental
#147 of 360 in Vienna
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#91 of 360 in Vienna
1,160 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#159 of 360 in Vienna
369 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Corvinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Corvinus

Property: Hotel Pension Corvinus
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 57-59 | 1060 Vienna, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Vienna
#98 Business Hotel in Vienna
#134 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pension Corvinus 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Corvinus Hotel Pension Vienna a cozy, family-run hotel directly on the Mariahilfer Strasse, Vienna's biggest shopping street, just a few steps away from an underground station. Corvinus Hotel Pension offers newly renovated, spacious rooms with air conditioning, soundproofed windows and free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel. Also an internet corner is available. The subway Station "Neubaugasse"(line U3) is located in the immediate vicinity. From there you can reach St. Stephen's Cathedral, the heart of the city, in a few minutes. Many attractions such as the MuseumsQuarter and the State Opera House can be reached from the Corvinus Hotel Pension also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pension Corvinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corvinus Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing