We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #3 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is my second visit to this hotel and it was excellent again. The location is perfect for sight seeing in Vienna and the rooms and breakfast superb. I have booked to go back again next year and can't wait. Also not forgetting the spa, what a treat to have a steam every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
There are newer reviews for Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Small hotel in the center, very clean, friendly staff and well decorated. Nespresso in the room , chocolates every day, large bed. When I came back to Viena I will staty again at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This past month (Sept 2011) we were fortunate to spend 3 nights at the Das Tyrol and we feel very fortunate to have done so. This is a unique small hotel located about 15 minutes by foot from the major attractions and museums. The soul of the place is its artsy style and its friendly fun atmosphere. All the staff we met were terrific and really helpful.

The breakfast will truly astound you. There is an extnsive buffet with meats cheese, pastries etc. etc. In addition they will make to order egg dishes for you. Bottom line is that you will start each day with a terrific experience in a very pleasent breakfast room.

The rooms are small but well appointed and very clean (after all this is Vienna). Very comfortable beds, and if you are spending a lot more time in your room on a Vienna vacation, perhaps you have deeper problems and a small hotel room.

One of the best features for us was the spa on the lower level. Basically you can reserve the place for your private use for 30-45 minutes. It has a sauna and a steam room and a fantastic fun shower. This is just the ticket after a long day of sightseeing and fun.

We would return to Das Tyrol without question.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty similar. There is a nice elevator so don't worry about it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Das Tyrol is a lovely hotel in a good location. We walked all over Vienna from this location. The hotel has a good breakfast, the rooms are modern in decoration and there is an elevator. The downside is parking if you have driven your car into Vienna - it is about a block away and the front desk was not very helpful (almost surly).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ines_Weissensteiner, Inhaber at Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Leila G,

we thank you very much for your review and the good valuation of location and our rooms and breakfast.

All the more we were shocked to hear, that our front desk employee did not only give you the wrong information and directions to the parking but also was not helpful and almost surly.
We identified the person in question at your check-in and trained him again. Please accept our apology for this impossible attitude of our collegue.

Thanks again for your sincere review.
The Hotel Tyrol Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel, conveniently located close to lots of attractions, 10-15 minute walk from the Old City. Very helpful staff, good, plentiful breakfasts to set you up for the day. We had a small but very well appointed bedroom, spotlessly clean. Interesting art pleases and amuses the eye. Close to high end shops and boutiques and the museum quarter. Ladies, my wife advises you check out the stupendous ladies lavatory on the lower ground floor. Prepare to be amazed and quite possibly laugh.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I can't say enough about this hotel. We noted the ratings on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is located a short walk to the old section, only 1-1/2 blocks to the U-Bahn, an excellent close-in location. We were in the city for 3 days and purchased a 3-day pass tram which allowed us on the subway, trams, buses, trolleys. This is a small hotel – I believe there are 30 rooms. Like most of Vienna, it is an old building which feels solid as a tank and timeless, yet it has modern conveniences and luxury. Spotlessly clean. It is a part of the Small Luxury Hotel chain, but when we booked we didn't pay much attention to the “luxury” aspect. It does feel luxurious without being pretentious, from the towels to the beautiful baths and showers, and of course, the amazing breakfasts with cloth tablecloths and napkins. No obsequious doorman here. The staff will gladly help when you need it but they are never fawning. The old elevator, which was out of service for one of our days, is a bit of a shocker, so if you have a fear of heights and/or elevators and don't much enjoy climbing stairs, request a room on the 1st floor. Once inside the rooms the double windows block out nearly all sounds so the room is whisper quiet. Our room (#16) looked onto a side street and was relatively quiet. We note that because it is a smallish hotel, it took us a couple of cab drivers before we found one who knew the hotel and where it was. Suggest you have the full address of the hotel handy and ask the taxi driver if he knows where the hotel is before getting in the cab. We requested a no-smoking room and got it; however the small lobby is open to smokers and as a result if you are not a smoker you will not want to hang out there. There is a free wi-fi in the rooms, a great convenience. There is a good sized safe in the room. The bed is very comfortable. We enjoyed the hotel and would definitely stay there again if we are fortunate enough to return to Vienna.

Room Tip: First floor to avoid stairs or old elevator
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our stay at Das Tyrol was excellent - the staff was very helfpul, answering all of our questions and making excellent recommendations for dining. The breakfasts were wonderful, too! We were able to enjoy the spa on our first night stay, which was fabulous and quite a treat. Due to some repair work, it was closed during the rest of our stay, but Das Tyrol treated us to chocolates and wine for the inconvenience. Very nice touch. The location was excellent as well, very close to many museums, great shopping and dining. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieBayCityWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,479 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,092 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £96 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing