We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in busy Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oasis in busy Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Das Tyrol Small Luxury Hotel, Vienna

Last May I stayed at Das Tyrol Small Luxury Hotel in Vienna for the first time. Looking at the photos I knew it was a luxury hotel, but still the hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms and bathrooms were incredibly clean!

One can really see that the hotel is run by a woman because of the female touch clearly visible all over the hotel. It has the perfect mix of design and functionality. Everywhere one looked there were fun art pieces, like e.g.the walls of one floor against which hung paintings of Donald Duck portraying him as angel, clown, devil etc. I loved the modern but still classical look of the interior of the hotel and use of the bright, lively color usage in the rooms, which made them very warm and cozy. The shopping street can be very crowed and loud, but the hotel rooms are excellently soundproof for as one closes the windows all noise from traffic gets drowned out.

We booked a standard room for three persons and even with the third bed, the room was still specious enough to comfortably walk around in. The room all have quite high ceilings, which give them an airy feeling to it. They are fitted with coffee- and tea facilities from Nespresso, a minibar, air-conditioning, satellite TV, bathrobes and slippers. Best thing was that free WiFi is available in ALL rooms. The bathroom is very clean and has everything one needs plus some little extras like a nail set, a sewing set and even a clothing line! The bed were just heaven to sleep in as even the extra roll-away bed slept very good!

Breakfast was plenty and typical Viennese too. The offered variety started from different meats and cheeses to yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit to different marmalade, cakes and other nice sweet pastries to end a relaxing breakfast in the cozy breakfast room.

The location is perfect too as it is right at the busy shopping street of Maria Hilferstrasse and almost opposite to the famous Museum Quartier,a collection of museums.

Since we stayed almost 2 weeks we received a free upgrade from a standard room to a suite (with a lovely little balcony), which was so forthcoming from them. There had been a little misunderstanding as we checked in, but they made up for that by leaving a generous fruit basket in our new suite the next day and a little bottle of champagne.

The only two suggestions I would have for his hotel to make a stay even more comfortable and enjoyable for guests and that would be having a parking space for guests to just drop off their suitcases. The other thing is a ice-cube making machine, so guest can get their own when needed instead of asking for this at the reception. These are just minor comments and do absolutely not influence my very good impression of the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and even business contacts because it really is an island of tranquility in the busy city of Vienna. And I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Any room would do. The suites are more expensive, but well worth if one wants a little bacony with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    254
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
213
771
90
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasil
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

A charming and well located hotel in Vienna.
The rooms are well equipped, although a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Brenda and I spent 5 nights at 'Das Tyrol'. We thought it was wonderful, exceptionally clean and very helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was excellent and again very good service.
No effort has been spared to turn this hotel into a true little 'Gem'.
It is very conveniently situated - 10 minutes walk to the Opera House.
Only complaint the cost of a telephone call: 3 min. to a mobile no. just outside Vienna
EU 18.00.
Highly recommended - just don't use the phone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Christel and Brenda,

thank you so much for writing us such a brilliant review. We are very happy that you appreciated so much the cleanliness of our hotel, the good service and the excellent breakfast.
We were unhappy about the comment of too high telephone costs. As we charge only 6 cent per "unit" - which means approx. 1,45 Euro per minute per a call to an austrian mobile phone - all guests were satisfied until now. As 18 Euro for 3 minutes is way too high we made a research for this call. Our telephone system shows us a call with 314 units (= call of approx. 13 minutes) and we hope that this problem will not return again.

We hope that you will return again and send best regards,
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol,
Helena Ramsbacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We've been members of SLH for many years and stayed at a lot of the properties. This was the first time in Vienna and at As Tyrol. We know what to expect when we book these hotels and certainly we weren't let down. This isn't a 6 star American chain so don't expect it, but the rooms were very good quality, well maintained and in a good part of town. They were probably a bit short staffed for a hotel, but that didn't let them down too much. Staff were very helpful and always there to assist.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Located next to the Museum Quartier, walking distance the city center. Breakfast excellent, rooms are very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Good location and within walking distance to Museum Quarter and Spanish Riding School. Very quiet room and comfortable beds. Large shower and lots of shelf space by European standards. Nespresso machine in room with variety of delicious coffee. Friendly staff and wonderful breakfast with a variety of choices. Bar and Cafe right outside and around the corner which was great for a late afternoon drink or light dinner. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a gem--right down to the art work in the lobby and dining room. Breakfast is an excellent value, and you're a 10 minute walk from the KHM, Leopold, and Mumok. Subway is a block away.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing