We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Great Choice!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife & I stayed here in June of 2013 for a short, 5 day vacation in Vienna. The hotel certainly lived up to its description as both "small" and "luxury". The location was grand, close to the center of the city but in an area without evening noise. The beds were extremely comfortable, the breakfast service each day outstanding, and the steam room/sauna in the basement was memorable. One of the best parts of the hotel was the staff. They were all very helpful and clearly committed to outstanding service for their customers. I find that this basic premise of good customer service to be missing in American hotel chains but here in Austria, the service is superb! The best of the best was Catherine, one of the front desk managers. She was present with a smile every day, spoke fabulous English with just a perfect touch of a German accent, and was ready with answers for any question, no matter how obscure. She helped make our stay at Das Tyrol a memorable one. We would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it without hesitation. My only criticism is that they allowed smoking in the lobby area. I haven't seen this in a number of years but I guess, unfortunately, second hand smoke is still part of European culture.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norske007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    255
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
217
781
91
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for a week in July, 2013. The name says it all. Small place, comfy room (#35). The shower was good. Breakfast was included. After breakfast, there is no other food/beverage service, but plenty of nearby places. Would stay here again over a more luxury full-service hotel.

Room Tip: No complaints with #35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was the midpoint of our trip and we were ready for some luxury. This hotel delivered. We received a wonderful greeting each time we passed the front desk. The breakfasts were the best, with incredible staff. Coffee appeared each day after I asked for it on our first day there, as my request was catalogued by the server. Great pastries, eggs made by request, and champagne chilled and waiting. Fantastic location, as it is close to the attractions, but away from the touristy parts of the city. Parking was easy, as I reserved in advance and my spot in the garage across the street was open and waiting. Needed to have laundry done and, while it was quite pricey, they did a great job. It was worth it to not have to check bags on the flights and only have to deal with small roll-ons. I didn't see any kids while we were there and my 18 year old long-locked son I was traveling with felt a bit unwelcome by some of our fellow diners at breakfast, but he was well behaved and even spoke German, so I just dismiss it as their problem. Certainly, the hotel welcomed us both! I wouldn't stay anywhere else on a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolkteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rooms are comfy, the interior is unique and the location is right by the museum district, within walking distance to most sites and many fine cafes and restaurants. Service and attitude was top-notch, topped off by a first-rate breakfast buffet of meats, cheeses, yogurt, oatmeal, breads, etc...with fine coffee and made-to-order eggs. Can't say enough good things...5++ and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlyon, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a boutique hotel which offers personal service. The reception staff were fantastic, offering advise on where to eat, sightseeing and even providing change for the tram. They provided a very personal service which distinguishes this hotel from the large hotel chains.

The location is excellent with the main shopping street right out the front of the hotel, lots of cafes and the museums near by. I dont think you could beat the location.

The hotel has art work as well as sculptures throughout which makes the breakfast dining room really interesting. The general rooms are a little bit on the small side, but we had a Studio room which was a bit bigger and had a sitting area. Even though the size of the room was not huge the design / layout was very good, so that it felt much bigger.
The bathroom was absolutely spotless and it was a really nice extra to come back each night and find a chocolate.
I initially had concerns that the room may be noisy (given the busy location and that we had a 1st floor room on the main road side) however with the windows closed the room was incredibly quiet.

My partner used the sauna, steam room which he thoroughly enjoyed.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The small extra charge for the Studio room provides extra space if you appreciate a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved Das Tyrol. The people who work there make the difference because they are kind, attentive and patient. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. When we were there, Vienna was very hot but the hotel's air conditioning worked wonderfully. As others have said, the breakfast is terrific and sets the tone for the entire day. Our room faced a side street and was very quiet--our friends were in the room next to us and we never heard a sound. It's in the perfect location--you can walk to everything--Belvedere, Karleskirche, many museums, the Staatsoper, and Stephansdom without being in the middle of the hoards of tourists. We would definitely stay here again the next time I visit.

Room Tip: A room on the lower floors means that you don't have to walk as far when the tiny elevator is bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at Das Tyrol just this past june 2013. We LOVED this hotel beautifully located for walking to the main sights in Vienna and easy access to the terrific metro system The staff are terrific. The breakfast delicious and plentiful. Our room was a wonderful refuge after big days of sightseeing. We totally recommend this hotel to you. We were in a 4th floor corner room with a small balcony. Fantastic. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing