We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at beginning of November. The only negative is that our stay was not a lot longer!
We loved everything about this beautiful hotel and the fact it is not one of a large chain makes it even more special. Wonderful welcoming staff, (thank you Bettina!) very helpful with all our "tourist" queries, loved our comfortable room, loved its situation in main shopping street in Vienna, breakfast good. Really nothing else to say except one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, and we would return there in a heartbeat. Shame we are so far away in New Zealand...it takes more than a heartbeat to get back to Vienna!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    253
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
212
768
90
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Everything about this hotel is a delight. From the initial greeting at reception, the rooms, breakfast and assistance that was given in any way possible, just makes this hotel rather special.
Yes, the rooms are petite but beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are fantastic. So too was the use of the coffee machine, an excellent way to start the day followed closely by a superb breakfast .
The hotel is well located, everything was within walking distance or close to a subway station, but it was a joy to get away from the bustle of the centre to the tranquility of Das Tyrol.
Would love to return....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Perfect location. Over one of Vienna's shopping streets and museum quartercross beyond the corner. Nice staff and willing to help whenever needed. Regular room slightly small. We have asked if upgrade is possible and got the studio with no additional charge. Studio room is perfect and I recommend it even if additional charge is required. excellent breakfast. We hae chosen the hotel based on Tripadvisor rating (2nd from top) and for sure Das Tyrol deserves it'shigh score.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I don't normally value "me too" reviews, but I've read the raves about this hotel and there's really nothing left to say: neighborhood, facilities, comfort, breakfast, amenities, staff - even the original art on every wall - add up to a wonderful experience. We did not get a "superior" room, but I thought ours was roomy by European standards, and totally comfortable. As we left we were given a coupon for a discount on our next stay, as if they assumed we'd be back. They understand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just loved this small hotel, not pretentious or formal, but rather, very nice and charming in a tastefully funky way with lots of lighthearted contemporary art around. Staff were welcoming, spoke excellent English (they get a lot of American tourists there) and were more than accommodating. The rooms were great, in nice taste and most important, very functional. There was plenty of closet space, so often lacking in small European hotels, a full-length mirror and extra hooks near the door. They had two sets of bedside lights, one clearly for reading while your partner is trying to sleep. The bathroom was roomy with plenty of space for your things, nice toiletries and a good bath/shower--and Kleenex, hooray! One of the chairs was a little worn. The breakfast, which was included, was lovely with a variety of fresh choices, including eggs if you wanted them. The croissants were great (and we live in France now) and the smiling warmth of the woman who seemed in charge of breakfast made you feel nothing was too much to ask. Not cheap, though. It was probably 15 minutes of walking to Stephansdom, but there’s lots along the way and you’re on top of the museum area and close to the Naschmarkt (great on Saturdays, but go early as it’s really crowded), the Spittelberg area which has interesting shopping and the Karlsplatz, with its fine Secessionist pavilion and lovely church & museum. All in all a great location.

Room Tip: superior room was just the right size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is an outstanding hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. When we entered the hotel the person on the front desk would go to the elevator to hold the door for us. Very nice.

Breakfast was great. Fruit, cheese, meat, yogurt and juice in typical european style. In addition they were happy to prepare eggs to order. It is very noteworthy that they breakfast was able to offer gluten-free bread, a real and very much appreciated treat. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Tucked on a busy commercial street, this gem is misleading from the street. Inside all is luxe, beautiful, serene, small and well-curated. It oozes old world charm while still being modern and comfortable--with a very good location for major cites and browsing. Thanks to a recent NY Times travel story, we explored the Spittelberg neighborhood tucked on the other end of the museum quarter. The neighborhood consists of a few old lanes with arty boutiques and cute restaurants including one "1790" where the young chef cooks "his way." We liked the proximity to the Museum Quarter and Ringstrasse. The staff was lovely--warm, friendly, helpful. Also liked the room decor and all the art splashed on walls and in public spaces.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bronx2LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,300 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
2,037 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing