We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior boutique hotel in great, downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Ranked #5 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Superior boutique hotel in great, downtown location”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a quick visit to Vienna. The hotel is within walking distance of Vienna's attractions. We enjoyed walking to the Christmas markets.

Our room on the 5th floor was perfect. There is no lunch or dinner restaurant, but the breakfasts are very good. There is no bar, which is a service I think they should add.

All staff are friendly and helpful. The front desk recommended two Austrian restaurants that were within walking distance. We enjoyed them both.

Price was very reasonable considering the high quality.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    255
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
218
782
91
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Almost all the reviews say this hotel is excellent, and it really is. We had a very comfortable and very attractive spacious [superior] room with lots of space for bags and belongings, big, openable windows [with a balcony] and a nice bathroom, all super clean. It's a very relaxing place, well situated for all the museums and for shopping. The staff are kind and efficient and the breakfast is [if not the best] pretty good.
We didn't use the sauna but went down to look and it is quite amazing, with a huge tropical fish tank and fancy loos you have to see to believe! Would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmicham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is located in one of Vienna's main shopping streets and is very close to the museum quarter. It is only a few minute's walk to the U-Bahn station and the trams so access is very easy to the city centre and all of Vienna's attractions. Our room was very spacious and beautifully appointed. We were lucky enough to have a balcony on the corner of the building overlooking Mariahilfer Strasse. Service was exceptional. Breakfast was superb. There is secure parking in the underground carpark situated immediately across the street. We booked a package which gave us a Vienna Card, coffee and cake at the Sacher Hotel and free entry to the Belvedere. We thought this was good value for money in Vienna which is an expensive city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at beginning of November. The only negative is that our stay was not a lot longer!
We loved everything about this beautiful hotel and the fact it is not one of a large chain makes it even more special. Wonderful welcoming staff, (thank you Bettina!) very helpful with all our "tourist" queries, loved our comfortable room, loved its situation in main shopping street in Vienna, breakfast good. Really nothing else to say except one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, and we would return there in a heartbeat. Shame we are so far away in New Zealand...it takes more than a heartbeat to get back to Vienna!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Everything about this hotel is a delight. From the initial greeting at reception, the rooms, breakfast and assistance that was given in any way possible, just makes this hotel rather special.
Yes, the rooms are petite but beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are fantastic. So too was the use of the coffee machine, an excellent way to start the day followed closely by a superb breakfast .
The hotel is well located, everything was within walking distance or close to a subway station, but it was a joy to get away from the bustle of the centre to the tranquility of Das Tyrol.
Would love to return....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Perfect location. Over one of Vienna's shopping streets and museum quartercross beyond the corner. Nice staff and willing to help whenever needed. Regular room slightly small. We have asked if upgrade is possible and got the studio with no additional charge. Studio room is perfect and I recommend it even if additional charge is required. excellent breakfast. We hae chosen the hotel based on Tripadvisor rating (2nd from top) and for sure Das Tyrol deserves it'shigh score.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I don't normally value "me too" reviews, but I've read the raves about this hotel and there's really nothing left to say: neighborhood, facilities, comfort, breakfast, amenities, staff - even the original art on every wall - add up to a wonderful experience. We did not get a "superior" room, but I thought ours was roomy by European standards, and totally comfortable. As we left we were given a coupon for a discount on our next stay, as if they assumed we'd be back. They understand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing